We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just spent three nights at this superb small hotel situated in the heart of Verona. It is situated in the centre of town with the front rooms overlooking over the Piazza Erbe ; a beautiful square full of life. The staff are delightful and so helpful . The rooms could not be cleaner . The room price is true value for money. We have already arranged to return !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 378 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Despite the excellent location and decent enough quality of the room, the whole stay was ruined by the lack of hot water in the shower for my husband. It was only 9am, not 2pm, so we expected at least for both of us to have hot water for a shower. When I went to the reception to explain, and to see if anything could be done, the first receptionist I spoke didn't understand any English, the second, an older gentleman, firstly accused me of not knowing how to work to shower. When I said that I had already had one, and it had worked fine and I understood the controls for hot and cold, he shrugged his shoulders, laughed, then rudely muttered something under his breath in Italian. So not hot shower for husband, and a very rude response from the hotel, which is the main issue really. So on this basis I can't recommend the Hotel Aurora ... unless you like cold showers.and rude receptionists ...

Room Tip: Ask for one with hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wow! Exactly what my wife and I said to each other when we opened the windows in our room and gazed out onto Piazza Erbe! Perfect location to walk to any of the sites in Verona, to include a short walk across the piazza or in almost any direction to grab a wonderful lunch or dinner. If people watching is your interest, one of the trattoria's in Piazza Erbe or Bra are the place for you. The staff at Hotel Aurora are wonderful - you may want to ensure you speak a little Italian as depending on who is working the desk you may need it. And they are more than accommodating; at 2330 I asked the desk clerk for hot water and tea and he instantly went to the kitchen and immediately provided us a tray with a pot of hot water and a selection of teas. And breakfast is very good as well - very large selection of dried cereals, fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries and yogurt. And when eating breakfast take some time to view the old photographs of Verona that hang on the breakfast room walls. Excellent value for your money.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank ChingoChinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is our second stay at hotel Aurora in Verona, and it is even better than I remembered it from ten years ago! The rooms are bright, clean & the bed is super comfortable (best pillows in Italy so far). And the shower is excellent too.
The location is ideal- so much to do & see within walking distance ( although it was nice to get a cab from the train station since our bags were feeling heavy & the driver knew exactly where to go, 8,50 euro).
Best of all- everyone here is so nice! Everyone we've talked to on staff has been super friendly & extremely helpful. Also, their breakfast is amazing! I can't say enough about this place, it's definitely been a highlight of our trip. Thanks Hotel Aurora, we'll try to come back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcherry6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've had not some not so great, and disappointing stays in European hotels, but we were very happy with Albergo Aurora. The location was great, the hotel was great, the rooms were great, and the staff was great. We had a hard time finding the hotel because of the buy Verona In Love celebration but Pino (sp?) came out to find us and directed us to the hotel. It was very nice and greatly appreciated! I really don't have any complaints. I would just suggest that staff inform guests if there will be a lot of tourists during their stay as most of the restaurants will be booked and you cannot find anything worth eating at without a reservation.

Room Tip: Ask if it is a busy travel weekend. If it is, ask the staff to make dinner reservations for you so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Almost reluctant to praise this hotel as much as it deserves as it may make it too popular and we won't get a booking if we return!
However, the Hotel Aurora does deserve massive acclaim.
Everything about the hotel was of the highest standard: from the welcome we received on arrival, value for money for a really high quality room, the view over Verona's Piazza Erbe that we had from our room, the friendliness of the staff, the location of the hotel in the centre of the highlights of Verona and more.
Also loved the blue light in the shower.
Only negative would be disability access with the hotel not being appropriate for wheelchair access as the reception is up a flight of stairs. Didn't apply to us, but worth bearing in mind.
Superb, would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Ideally situated just off the main square in Verona. Loads of bars and restaurants nearby and a short walk to most of the main sights. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 78 in Verona
2,405 reviews
0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#9 of 78 in Verona
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 78 in Verona
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 78 in Verona
1,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#5 of 78 in Verona
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazza Erbe, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Verona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range: $99 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing