We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly and excellent value.”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly and excellent value.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel gives on to Piazza Erbe, and my room had a stunning view of the bell tower (not all of them do). The room itself was well laid out in the standard boxy way, impeccably clean, comfortable, warm (in an uncharacteristic March cold snap) and quiet. The shower/toilet room was narrow but practical. Staff were efficient and friendly from first telephone contact, though e-mail correspndence, to obliging service at reception. The hotel has an intimate, family-run feel (though perhaps it would be different when busier in high season). Breakfast is a range of cold dishes, of good quality if not inspiringly presented. The only drawback of any note is that initiial access to the hotel (which has a lift for its subsequent floors) is via a staircase that would be a nuisance for someone with limited mobility. But on the whole, a very pleasant and friendly hotel, and excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainsifpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    127
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
197
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here 2 nights in December 2012. Fantastc. The staff could not have been more helpful. They remembered I had requested a travel adaptor and gave it to me before I asked. The hotel owner called the station for us at 7.30am to check train time table. Wonderful. Breakfast - huge wonderful choice. (No tea making facilities in the room - unfortunately but that's the only slightly negative thing.)

Room Tip: Day trip train to Venice was fab - only around £14 return and 1 hour and 15 mins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJillyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December - the week before Christmas. The hotel staff (one woman in particular) were delightful. The rooms were basic, but we didn't need any more. It felt as if we were staying in someone's guest room...a room that wasn't outfitted with the best furniture, sheets, etc. as the rest of the house. TV was either not there or so tiny that I don't remember it. Breakfast was adequate. WIFI worked well. But the location was super! You step out to a main square. Taxi stand is right at the hotel. If an elegant room is important to you, then find another place. If you are okay with a "budget-looking" room, then this place is great.

Room Tip: We were over the main piazza, and it was quiet. No problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeskJobDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am writing this as a warning to travelers going to Verona, which is a lovely destination. I made reservations for the Aurora on line all the way through to giving my credit card # and other info. For some reason that was not enough, so when we arrived we were told that we had no accommodations. That I had failed to do some other required item. I was very surprised as I have booked hotels online successfully for many years. So be careful in dealing with this hotel. This all turned out well as we stayed at a wonderful hotel which I've also reviewed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel could not be better located in the heart of the piazza ereb so we were surrounded by restaurants, bars, local market and were throwing distance from all the local sights. It is quiet despite this. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel. Breakfast was included which was basic but sufficient. Staff were very helpful and went above and beyond to answer questions that we had. To enter the hotel you have to go up a narrow staircase. This was no issue for us but people with small children or with mobility issues might not find this hotel right for them. The room itself was really comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We love Verona and having now stayed twice in the Hotel Aurora, off Place dell Erbe, we hope to stay there every time we visit from now on. It is a lovely, small hotel and our room had a little balcony with a fine view. We ate our ample, buffet breakfast each morning on the hotel's private terrace overlooking Place dell Erbe, shaded from the bright sunlight by large, cream umbrellas. There was a wide choice on the menu - lovely cheeses, meats, tomatoes, eggs, cereals, breads, cakes, fruit juices, coffee, tea, Prossecco etc etc. Continental fayre and plenty of it. The hotel is centrally located - you can walk everywhere as all the historic sites are within relatively easy reach. The staff and in particular, Elena, are so helpful. That is always very useful for visitors and can never be overstated.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room, then don't ask for a room facing the Place dell Erbe. However, th...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The most wonderful location and the most friendly and helpful staff you will ever encounter. There are more renovations to take place in January, and I am looking forward to an even more pleasant stay this Summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#17 of 79 in Verona
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
#32 of 79 in Verona
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#8 of 79 in Verona
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazza Erbe, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Verona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#14 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing