We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it so much, we stayed twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it so much, we stayed twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Such a great place to stay. Very central, and although it is on the Piazza, the modern double-glazed windows act as a great noise buffer. The rooms are tidy and comfortabe, and I really loved the bathrooms.

The best thing about this place, though, are the staff. They are incredibly helpful, and their English is strong enough to make communication a breeze. If you want somewhere that is in a good location, and feels like home, then I strongly recommend this Hotel Aurora.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the Piazza, which was nice. If you are not a smoker, be mindful of askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueInIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    121
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
189
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've been coming here for years and loving it for great location overlooking Piazza Erbe, honest prices and nice service. Now it's been renovated and the interiors are superb. Try for a room overlooking the piazza.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGRinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff here was exceptional! Having a 4:15 a.m. departure from the hotel after our second night there, Elena not only booked a taxi for us she also personally delivered a breakfast tray to our room before she left the previous evening! And, she assisted us with printing our boarding passes all of which left us with a great sense of well-being! We had the room with balcony overlooking the Piazza delle Erbe which is a terrific location although it can be a bit noisy so if you're staying for a while you might ask for a room not facing the piazza. The yearly Festival of Ancient Games was on that weekend so it was especially active in the piazza. The room itself was lovely and clean, free wi-fi, excellent breakfast and there's a small terrace overlooking the piazza as well where you could just relax and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved Verona and this hotel was a good base for our visit. The room was charming, bed comfortable, adequate space overall to unpack for our stay. The bath was lovely with beautiful glass mosaic shower and trim and very pleasant shower heads (rain-style and hand-held).

The people at reception were EXTREMELY helpful to us in organizing our day trips (Bolzano and Ravenna). We would not have known of the German train that served Bolzano without their suggestions. When we needed a taxi for an early morning trip to train station, it was arranged immediately.

The location was convenient for walking to must-see sights in town and also for catching a bus to the train station or to sights that are too far to walk (San Zeno church).

Our room was on second floor so we were happy to use stairs after our arrival when we brought up luggage in elevator.

The terrace was wonderful for an evening glass of wine or a spritz (which the hotel offers at a good price), for breakfast, or for a picnic lunch or dinner.

We were there 17/10 through 22/10 and would have liked to use air conditioner for air circulation at night and for white noise, but we were informed by staff that air conditioning had just recently been turned off for the season and the heat had been turned on. We encountered the same situation when we moved on to Venice. This must be the way things work in Italy and will be something we'll keep in mind when we travel in the "shoulder season" again.

Breakfasts were nicely prepared and served and there were lots of different choices each morning. Have to admit, we had a small glass of the Prosecco every day!

The only negative to this hotel is the reception area. The hotel did not make a good first impression on me. The entry from the ground floor is less than inspiring and the reception area itself is cluttered and not nearly as tidy as the immaculate rooms.


We'd be thrilled to get to come back to Hotel Aurora!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Hotel has a very central location over looking the square and daily market. We had to walk the stairs to the reception on the second floor but there was an elevator after that. We had a room on the side of the building which was very comfortable but was short of surface and draws to put things . There was plenty of hanging soace. The bathrooms were very nice and well appionted.
The breakfast was good and could be eaten inside or up a few steps on the terrace. We also used the terrace to have a picnic lunch and relax with a drink in the evening. A good place to people watch!
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a nice veiw of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgdayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

years ago by accident we end up in verona, it was the opera season. no hotels! we stay in aurora and for my spoil daughter it was a punishment and surely for me too ( normaly we stayed in 4 to 5 stars) today i was in verona and decided to visit the hotel for my surprice, it is lovely, very clean; i am looking forward to stay here again ang again.
the hotel has a lift from the second floor and no parking ( public parking is 500 mts away)
the location is perfect

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located in Piazza Erbe. There is a nice view of the square from the terrace and from our room.

Our room was clean and a reasonable size, as was the bathroom. The soaps in the bathroom were nice and the shower head provided good water pressure. Unfortunately, despite advertising air conditioning, the old unit in our room did not turn on at all, and when we asked about it, we were just told it is 'not working now'. The room became quite stuffy at night as a result, and led to difficulty sleeping. The other option was to open the window, but this was quite loud due to being right on the square.

Breakfast seemed a little unusual- there were lots of options, but they weren't necessarily things I would want for breakfast (the usual cold meats and cheeses offered in Italian hotels, but also things like creme caramel and other cakes/desserts). It wasn't too bad, but perhaps more cereal options and bread options might have been preferable.

There was wifi signal throughout the rooms, and it was a good speed.

Not bad overall, but airconditioning would have made a more comfortable stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#8 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazza Erbe, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Verona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#14 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing