We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosaics plus!”
Review of Federica Casanova

Federica Casanova
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I am specialized in the creation of artistic mosaic for interior design. I also create unique and original mosaic-jewellery. The materials used (marble, smalti, gold smalti, etc.) are always of high quality. Utilizing different techniques I create unique products of high craftsmanship. I also organize mosaic courses for tourist (duration: 2 hours or longer. For 1 to 5 people).
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I took a mosaic class with my wife with some trepidation as I am not at all artistically skilled. Federica welcomed us to her studio and quickly put us at ease. We spent quite a bit of time learning how to cut the tissera (small clay tiles for us, marble is for experts, maybe next time). This helped build my confidence for the gluing and other steps for the mosaic. Federica is a natural instructor, very calm and full of information about the mosaic process. I had a great time, even without any artistic skills, with a bit of help from Federica we both managed to create a beautiful Roman knot style mosaic -- wow! If you are looking for a rewarding and entertaining experience, give this a try with Federica. We also bought a lovely mosaic completed by Federica herself, it is amazing.

2  Thank Runmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicasanova, Direttore at Federica Casanova, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

I'm really sorry for the delay of my reply: I was sure I had already done it... Today I realized that it was not so! You have been really good students: careful, patient and passionate about the technique and about the magic world of mosaic. It's was really a pleasure for me work with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Federica Casanova
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I visited Verona and wanted to try something different and have been intrigued with Roman mosaics from visits to the Vatican and Pompeii. We found this class with Federica and decided to try it. Our morning was very enjoyable as Federica was very patient while explaining what to do and offering corrections along the way. Our project was a typical Roman pattern of intertwined knots signifying the connection between earth and God and between all of the people. We cut and glued the tiles under the careful direction of Federico and also practiced out Italian while working. We will proudly display our work when we return home and have memories of our time in Verona. Thank you Federica for your excellent instruction!!

1  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicasanova, Proprietario at Federica Casanova, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you Sherry, I'm very happy of your mosaic experience. Beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is not really an 'attraction', but it was a really interesting and unique thing to do while in Verona. Federica is a mosaic artist and in her shop she runs courses teaching how to make mosaics. I spent a really interesting afternoon learning how to cut tiles and then fitting the pieces together to make a pretty pendant, which I got to keep.
Her studio is built in the thick old stone walls of a temple and it felt like a very good place to be to learn something of the ancient art of making mosaic. And also, you have a very different souvenir of your visit to Verona.
Federica is Italian and speaks English and German. I really enjoyed the afternoon. She's very patient and doesn't mind how much mess you make; which, if you could see the state of the floor when I was finished, is a very good thing!

2  Thank MissMaggie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicasanova, Proprietario at Federica Casanova, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you Maggie: It was such a nice day and the jewel you made is really beautiful !! Federica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Google Translation

Thank MarcoColchide75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicasanova, Proprietario at Federica Casanova, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2015
Google Translation

1  Thank vangogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federicasanova, Proprietario at Federica Casanova, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federica Casanova also viewed

 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Federica Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing