We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankfully we ignored the negative reviews”
Review of Al Calmiere

Al Calmiere
Ranked #542 of 1,202 Restaurants in Verona
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thankfully we ignored the negative reviews”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had tried this restaurant. number of years ago and in spite of its beautiful location been put off returning due to poor service, this decision was seemly backed by some TA reviews.
This year following a recommendtion by a Verona regular we visited for lunch again and were rewarded for our repatronaga by a relaxed lunch with faultless sercie by our waiter Mirko who was knowledgable about the menu, made some excellent wine recommendations and for whom nothing was too much trouble.
The pasta dishes we ordered were delicious as good as any we tried during our Verona stay but we felt the meat dishes (Banzino tartare and tagliata) were only average.
We will definitely return again for an outdoor lunch undervthectrees in this peaceful Piaza.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank X1LKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    118
    68
    44
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful waiters, pity about the owner”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent atmosphere among the trees on the square. Waiters very helpful with wine and food selection. Good Italian fare. The rude owner came along and told us to take the hat off the table! His waiters apologetic but it did spoil the occasion for me.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad service and expensive”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We decided to have a light lunch at Calmiere Restaurant after our visit to San Zeno. Our first question was "Do you speak English?" and the waiter said "Yes". However, that was the only word in Engish that he knew. I don't mind that he did not speak English, since I can get by with my bad Italian. However, lying about it should have given us an indication of things to come. First of all, they charge a "Coperto" of several Euros per person which is a cover just for the fact that you are sitting at the table. Secondly, they charge a steep "Service Fee" which means that they decide what percentage tip they should get. Thirdly, the prices are very expensive compared to other similar restaurants in Verona. And finally, the waiter came around several times showing us pre prepared plates asking if we wanted a portion and would give us a dirty look when we would decline.

Overall, we paid well above average for our food, got stuck with both copertos and service fees and what we got was an uncomfortable experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fdphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We sat outside which looks out onto the Piazza and the stunning San Zeno Duomo. The service was excellent and the food delicious and well presented, particularly the Tortellini in butter. The main course vegetables are served from a trolley so you can choose what you want. Lovely wine too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Like Antico Tripoli this...”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Like Antico Tripoli this restaurant is a good choice in this San Zeno piazza. A lively place in the outdoor season.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Calmiere also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Calmiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing