We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very simple and clean, double bonus for location and view!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ostello della gioventu Villa Francescatti
Ranked #111 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Verona
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived late at night and got an 8-bed dorm to ourselves, plastic covers for the matrices, fresh linen, all fine. The bathroom smelled a little, but was otherwise clean, so I assume it's got something to do with the pipes. When we woke up we realised the beautiful setting and amazing villa we stayed in. It is run as a charity to make sure the building can slowly be restored, so the money staying there is well spent.
To comment on some on the things others have criticised:
The bedding was very clean.
The staff was very friendly.
The breakfast is very simply (two buns, butter jam and coffee), but it did the job!

It was a little adventurous getting there on the bus, but the bus driver was more than happy to tell us when to get off. The walk up the hill was well sign-posted, so that was all fine.
I would stay there again, especially since there are next to no other cheap option to stay in Verona. The city is just amazing and well worth seeing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corvicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Ostello della gioventu Villa Francescatti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The personnel is really unpleasant. The room for girls was with 8 peoples and they don't close the room for the nigth there are not key, they haven't padlock for the loggage. The bathroom are without electricity and the toilet also. The room for the boy was dormitory with 20 peoples, with 1 collectif bathroom with two showers (not closed) really dirty(please look the photo, to make an idea). The room are close between 9h and 17h and you cannot leave your staff during this time.The atmosphere was really creepy.

The breakfast was disgusting, coffee in tanks and just dry bread, even dogs are better fed. The price it's really excessive and you have to pay in cash. So, if you search a good place to stay I don't recommend this place it's better to go in an camping or something else.....or sleeping in your car :-))) really it's better.I don't understand how a place like this can be always operate legally.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Probably one of the worst hostels ive been to. the rooms were tiny - there were 8 ppl in a tiny tiny room. The showers were communal :/ and there were insects in the room and we didnt sleep well. The place smelled weird too.
Breakfast is terrible! its just bread, jam, coffee/tea to be drunk from soup bowls.
Adding insult to injury, theres a curfew - midnight - after which you cant get in. and they kick you out during the day until 5 pm.
Plus there were dogs barking throughout the night. the hostel is situated on top of a hill and makes carrying luggage a pain.

on the plus side, its situated in a beautiful garden.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chemboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Absolutely Terrible, Breakfast is terrible bed bugs are rampant. The laundry is 5 euro a load,
I wouldn't even recommend this place to people I didn't like.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Study_Abroad187871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stay here only if you want to have a cheap accommodation, 18 euro per night in dorm.
The dorms are closed between 9 and 17.00 which means that you don´t have access to your things. The location is on a hill, which means you have to have strong legs.

It´s a small breakfast included in the price.

You don´t need to book in advance, just show up after 17.00.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pirlolinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've read a few reviews of the Villa Fran. on TA and was very surprised. Anyone who has anything negative to say about the place (apart from those f*****g dogs. . .) has completely missed the point.
Apart from the fact that it is blindingly cheap (3 nights there last weekend cost me 54 Euros), the setting is superb and the Villa itself steeped in history.
Ok, so the place could do with a spot of remedial here and there (you might call it 'patina'), but as a base for touring the area it can hardly be beat.
A 2000 year old roman theatre lies just beneath the Villa, and the nearby stone steps take you up to a small castle. The view either way up the river - you're kind of at the top of a hoop - especially at new moon, is just breath-taking.
Cross the Ponte Pietra to a delightful part of the old town, bristling with bars and restaurants. Then the Duomo, Piazza Erbe, Piazza del Signore, Via Mazzone, Piazza Bra, Arena, Castel Vecchio, are all in easy reach.
For a four quid bus ticket, you can travel to the Northern tip of Lake Garda, taking in stunning views as you go.
In the evening, relax in the marbel flagged courtyard or the gardens of the Villa with some local cheese and wine.

I have visited Verona three times now, staying at the Villa twice, and I just can't get enough

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

First of all, this hotel is far from the centre (a 15 minute walk) and some uphill walking is required, in case you carry heavy luggage. Secondly, do not expect any kind of service here, very rude staff who care only to check you in, to take your money and to throw you out first thing in the morning. You cannot get to your room until 5pm and they will throw you out at 9am, no questions asked, The Breakfast is absolutely horrible, it is bread with jam and coffee drunk in big soup bowls (seriously). DO NOT eat the 8 euro dinner, go get a pizza in town instead, everybody that spent the 8 euros complained about it. Oh, do not let me forget the mentioning of the many characters that are constantly hanging around this place, obviously this hotel also serves as a monastery and it is all the time full of immigrants hanging around the entrance and all over the premises - fins another place if you have a family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dionisios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.5 mi away
Maxim Hotel
Maxim Hotel
#52 of 77 in Verona
844 reviews
3.2 mi away
Euromotel Croce Bianca
Euromotel Croce Bianca
#48 of 77 in Verona
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Maddalene
Le Maddalene
#103 of 172 in Verona
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
#27 of 425 in Verona
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B King
B&B King
#22 of 172 in Verona
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello della gioventu Villa Francescatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello della gioventu Villa Francescatti

Address: Salita Fontana del Ferro 15, 37129, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Verona
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Ostello Della Gioventu Villa Francescatti Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing