We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls are paper thin”
Review of Hotel Piccolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Walls are paper thin”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night when there was a concert at the Verona Arena so the city was very busy. This hotel is listed as 3 star and the room was fine, clean, good bathroom fixtures however the walls are paper thin (room 158) and consequently we heard all our neighbours nocturnal habits right throughout the night and morning. I feel this really detracted from an otherwise comfortable stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    323
    152
    40
    23
See reviews for
97
372
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel was ok with a few niggles, Firstly, our biggest issue was air-con or rather the lack of it, we picked this hotel because it was supposedly included and we both prefer to sleep in a cold room at night. This wasn't possible here, we contacted reception 3 times to request it to be switched on only to be told "it isn't warm enough yet" and "other guests will not want it" as they have to enable it for the whole hotel. I'm sorry but this should be up to the guests to decide individually as there is a switch also in the room to turn on/off. As a result of this not been switched on for our stay we had to sleep with the window open each night as we found it very warm even if the Italians don't feel the heat like us foreigners!
Secondly, the bathroom smelled slightly, shower plughole had obviously never been cleaned as the tray filled after only a minute of shower being switched on and was in danger of flooding. Also, the timer light/fan in bathroom would switch off after 5 minutes while you were in there despite much frantic arm waving at the sensor.
Finally, staff using the emergency exit door for access meant the constant slamming from this heavy door was extremely noisy on the ground floor.
Overall, the room itself was clean though and plenty of towels, convenient location and budget price. Would I stay again? As I'm on a budget then yes but absolutely not on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor due to noise from external door slamming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would be very grateful if you would like to write me at manager@hotelsverona.it to tell me in which room you were so that we can check and fix the problems you have had in the bathroom.
We also would like to understand which is the emergency door you are referring cause no one of our staff open or close emergency doors. Probably some other guest used to go often outside to smoke.
Finally, as everyone knows, this year in Italy spring is strangely very cold: today for example (1st June) the outside temperature is 16°.I just can tell you that at the same time you were asking for air conditioning some other guests were asking for heating...
Obviously is impossible to have both at the same time.
Thank you, I wait for your kind answer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Price was great, especially considering that a buffet breakfast was included and the hotel was very close to the heart of Verona (about 15-20 mins walk away which feel like a breeze). Breakfast was not extravagant, but very appreciated and saved us some bucks. Options layed out on the buffet included toats, croissants, cheese, cold cuts/salami, jelly, nutella-type spread, coffee (from a machine--I suppose made with powder), juices (also from a machine), boiled eggs, yogurt, some breakfast cereal and musli, a few fruits and cake.

Would definetely stay in this place again, if only for the pricing and location. Very easy to get to from the Porta Nuova train station.

Bathroom was completely handicap accessible--we are not handicap, which made the bathroom setup appear strange, but appreciated that such a set up would be made available to those in need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edictamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am not sure that there is anything really negative to write about this Hotel. If you are coming to Verona and on a particular budget (i.e. not the 'money is no object' kind of person!) then this is a perfect hotel to stay in. Located about 5 minutes or so from the station, it is perfect for basing your stay in this beautiful city and is an excelent 3 star hotel. Indeed, given that there is a bus that takes you from Verona airport to the station in about 15 minutes, it is an ideal location, in my opinion. From the hotel, it is about a 20 minute casual walk into the city. You pass a park, where you can see some of the original Veronese walls of the city and this can make a nice (and slight) detour to your journey.

The hotel itself is excellent value for money. Yes, you cannot check in to your room until the stated time...but then, the hotel kindly stores your bags for you, so you do not have to wait to explore one of Italy's most charming cities. The rooms are compact and extremely clean. Ours had one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in, as well as a superb power shower...both very much appreciated after (and before) tacking the long days walking the streets of Verona! It is also in an extreley quiet area and there is very little noise around.

Breakfast is plentiful...the usual croissants, rolls, cheese, ham, eggs etc...but is it presented well and is in a very nice room, by the entrance to the hotel. Just for information, you will need to check in at the next door hotel, Hotel Martini. But your breakfast is served in the Piccolo. There is a shuttle bus service that transports you to a local trattoria, if you so choose to go. Of course, there are plenty of places to eat in Verona itself.

Finally, a word of thanks to the hotel. We visited Verona to see a concert by Zucchero in the Arena. The tickets were delayed in sending out, so I managed to arrange to have them delivered to the hotel. Thank you Hotel Piccolo for agreeing to this and having my tickets ready for collection when I checked in.

All in all, Hotel Piccolo is excellent value for money and I would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friend and I had a holiday travelling around Italy in which we stayed in Milan, Verona, Mestre and Rome and we rated each of the hotels for fun. This came out second to top! Great value for money! The rooms were very long which was unusual but the bathroom was excellent! Everything was very clean and the breakfast was lovely (and the room smelled lovely too). There was a bit of a faff trying to find the reception as the signs arent very clear and they share a reception with their other hotel (it wasquite funny, we ended up in an indoor car park at one point). However, the staff were very helpful and gave us a map and told us all the best places to go. We even tried out the restaurant nearby that they suggested and the food was amazing. All in all, a great trip and a great location if you dont mind a nice ten minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is in easy walking distance from the train so I'd certainly recommend it for those like me who are getting around that way. The rooms are quite small but clean, quite and nice and dark at night. Breakfast was quite good with a decent range of options including a great selection of Teas. This hotel does hold onto your passport which I'm never comfortable with to start with but unfortunately they're held unsecured right at the counter. Staff were mostly pleasant and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WazzaCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#24 of 79 in Verona
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Palio
Hotel Porta Palio
#34 of 79 in Verona
625 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#21 of 79 in Verona
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#29 of 79 in Verona
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#26 of 79 in Verona
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novo Hotel Rossi
Novo Hotel Rossi
#16 of 79 in Verona
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo

Property: Hotel Piccolo
Address: Via Giulio Camuzzoni 3/b, 37138, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piccolo is a cozy 3 Stars family atmosphere located near the walls of the ancient center of Verona. Hotel Piccolo is just 5 minutes walk from the main station Porta Nuova and 15 minutes walk from the Arena of Verona, outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. Piccolo Hotel is the perfect accommodation for those who come to Verona for pleasure, as a couple or family. Free Wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Piccolo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing