We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“serenity”

Basilica di San Zeno Maggiore
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.20*
and up
Verona City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #3 of 216 things to do in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1123-35, this ornate Romanesque church features adorned bronze doors and remarkable Cloister.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

even though this church is very large, there is a sense of serenity as you walk in. the colors are warm and neutral.. white, beige, pink.. the lines are concentrating the attention on the altar shining softly in a golden glow. i loved this church the best of all churches in Verona

ps: take the Verona Card for all the attractions in verona. it is only E15 euro and covers everything you may want to see. (castle, churches, arena, romeo and juliet ..) .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lauremm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,373
    495
    75
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of my very favorite churches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Oh my...did we see a lot of domo's and basilicas in our travels through Italy. My wife and I both agree we are glad we made the trip over to this one. I'd have to say it was our favorite out of over 50. We both prefer the churches just prior to the Renaissance period 1250 to 1350 AD. If I remember right there was a fee, but the Verona card covered the cost. It was a bit out of the way but worth the trip. We had bikes, it was a fun ride from the castle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cafasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This was a beautiful church ; if only...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful church in a lovely setting and a pleasing walk from the centre of Verona old town.

The church is home to some fine
old frescos as indeed Verona's other churches are.

Would it not be a fine thing if the local churches sponsored local art students to paint modern frescos within the local churches?

Here is an opportunity to help preserve a longstanding tradition and revitalise potential art spaces.

Hope this epistle lands in receptive and caring hands. DV.

Helpful?
Thank David60UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you plan on visiting one church see this one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We visited all of the sites on our Verona card and this is both of our first choice. Pick up information about the church as you enter and take you time to savor the beauty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Churh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

While a little but of a walk away from the centre of Verona it was worth it. A very old church with some a beautiful frescoes and different architecture to many of the other churches here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyJW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Zeno Maggiore also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Basilica di San Zeno Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing