We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of Verona from this magnificent arena”
Review of Arena di Verona

Arena di Verona
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.71*
and up
Verona Arena Skip the Line Tour
More Info
$77.19*
and up
Transfer from Lake Garda to Verona Arena and Opera Ticket
More Info
$106.52*
and up
Verona and Lake Garda Day Trip from Milan
Ranked #1 of 10 Concerts & Shows in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the first century AD, this is one of the best conserved Roman amphitheatres, whose seating area is made up of 44 levels and can hold up to 22,000 spectators.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of Verona from this magnificent arena”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited the arena late afternoon and loved that we could wander around both the seating and the playing surface with little limitation, we loved the view over the Verona Christmas markets as the sun was setting and soaked up the history of this well preserved monument, we thought it worth the entry fee of 6 euro.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,281
    3,010
    1,149
    441
    332
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Worth it for 1 Euro”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

On a normal day you 6 Euros to visit and it is so not worth it, but for 1 Euro (first Sunday of the month off season) it is worth a look

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History history”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This arena is one of the better preserved in Italy so it is a must to visit if you like this type of monuments. It made us want to go back in summer to assist to the famous operas!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria, Bourgas
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“This is the symbol of Verona.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Arena is huge and magnificent - very impressive from the outside. . Atmosphere is magical - I felt back in time. It was a magical experience for me. There is amazing view from the top. You have to pay 6 euro the entrance charge to see the arena from the inside , but It is really worth to visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tania_pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not much to look at”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We entered the arena since it is one of the most listed attractions in the city. However there is not much to see. The Colosseo of Rome is much more spectacular. However I do not regret going. There is an entrance fee, which is waived if you have the Verona card. I would like to be there for an opera someday, though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aqua37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena di Verona also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Arena di Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing