We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food not good and secondary very expensive”
Review of Al Bracere

Al Bracere
Ranked #368 of 1,202 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $15 - $58
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An oratory was built in 1499 which was later converted into a church, consecrated with the title of Santa Croce. In 1808 the church was suppressed, owned by the state and later sold of to privates. It became a hay barn, then a leather warehouse and finally a deposit of metal scrap. In 1982, the church of Santa Corce di Cittadella was converted into a restaurant, combining a mystical place of peace to good kitchen, with a brazier (Bracere) in the center of the room for cooking food in the regional tradition.To date, the venue has a style all its own which prizes the ancient premises and offers its customers dishes to suit all palates. The food and the good pizzas of Enrico will entertain You in this enchanting space.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food not good and secondary very expensive”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The waitress is unpolite, she arrived without saying goodmorning and she had bad manners.
On the table there were ants, coming from pot plants.
On the pizza there were frozen-vegetables, or pickles, and the mushrooms were still dired.
The pizza was so heavy that I could'nt sleep at night.
At the end I had to pay a large bill, so I decided to write this review to warn everybody.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mafalda89852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    144
    63
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very friendly hardworking staff with a great atmosphere, and well designed décor in a converted barn. Like the tardis, small on the outside, large airy open interior. We ate at this restaurant for a full meal twice and then just for dessert on our last evening (Very grateful for allowing us to choose a dessert after a disastrous main course in another restaurant!). Great pizzas, polenta and risotto dishes. The dark chocolate biscuit dessert with mascarpone cream was so delicious! Very popular with the locals, birthday parties every time we went ! Average spend was 32-36 euros total. Everything tasted so fresh. Recommend - Yes

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and environment and reasonable price!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went to this restaurant because it was very close to our hotel, we were too tired to walk far. We had a very pleasant surprise on a sunday night. Service was alright and food was very good. For starters we ordered grilled vegetables and a caprese salad and for mains 2 macherronchini alla carbonara. We really enjoyed our meal. A bottle of the House red wine was about 9 euros, very reasonable. Would def reccomend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luzanetello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, reasonable prices, excellent service. Food is reasonable for money, nice location, good place to sit and have some wine an”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Go there and enjoy. You can look into the menu but waiter makes impression that you can get more if you can explain what you want - just talk to them, they are open for communications.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Loved this place and the food.... once upon a time a church and then a car parts shop, as I understand. Now this great little, off-the-beaten-path ristorante. Tom got pizza, which was perfect. Probably one of the best we had in our month in Italy (and yes, we ate at 'that place' in Naples). And I had - FINALLY - the spaghetti con Vongole I had been craving since stepping foot in Italy. The waiter was great AND..... it was full of locals. I always think that means the place is a great place. And when the food is good, too.......!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuthieBinLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bracere also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Bracere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing