We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairly sterile meal in a pleasant location offering fairly standard Italian pastas etc.,”

Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo
Ranked #112 of 1,235 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We opted for this restaurant as we wanted a fairly light and simple meal after eating at the 12 Apostoli the previous evening. It is a modern looking place facing on to Piazza Bra which is always pleasant. The menu was fairly predictable, with pizzas. salads etc., I opted for the chicken with a curry sauce and chips, as did my husband, and we enjoyed a glass of house wine. We felt the meal was 'okay' but that the sauce was 'synthetic'. Chips were a good size and tasty. We were given complimentary meringues for a pudding - these were rather sickly. The bill came of 60 euros which we thought was very expensive for the quality of the meal. This restaurant is popular with tourists, and a pleasant place to eat looking over the piazza, but not for those looking for top notch food in this lovely city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto G, Direttore at Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, la ringraziamo per la recensione e per la visita al nostro ristorante. Ci fa piacere abbia apprezzato, anche se non del tutto, l’esperienza. Il nostro menu è vario, oltre alla scelta tra pizza e ristorante lo chef prepara piatti dal sapore tradizionale ed altri contaminati da gusti più internazionali, per appagare il palato di tutti. Gli ingredienti sono per la maggior parte freschi, sempre di qualità controllata e la preparazione curata nel dettaglio. I nostri prezzi sono in linea con quelli di altri locali di egual livello situati nel centro di Verona e accogliamo affezionati cittadini come molti turisti, dato l’ambiente familiare e moderno al tempo stesso. Un cordiale saluto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very resonable prices (10-12 euros pizza) ,very tasty and good food,Olivo ristorante is just infront of the arena Verona. It was one of the few restaurants in Italy where use cloth napkins instead of pepper.Very nice service,and very good prices. I've ordered one pizza with prosiouto,my wife salmon with spinach,and for starter we order macharoni ( a delicius plate with fresh pasta made with egs) plus the drinks...50 euros!!.The very next day we depart from Verona ,so I took for the ride a ''pack'' with Italiana pissa...10 euro. Some people will say ..The money is not the issue,but the quality. However all of us want to have the best quality in a normal price. And ''olivo'' restorante has both.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mattlazarou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto G, Direttore at Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013
Google Translation

Buongiorno e grazie della recensione. Ci fa piacere averla avuta ospite e ancora di più siamo contenti che abbia potuto apprezzare la nostra offerta. Prestiamo molta attenzione, come da lei notato, a servizio e cura dell’ambiente. Non di meno, ovviamente, a cucina ingredienti e ricette, che selezioniamo accuratamente. Grazie per aver notato le principali qualità del nostro ristorante, che sarà felice di accoglierla nuovamente, in futuro, se ve ne sarà la possibilità! Un saluto dallo staff al completo e ancora grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great Food/Wine/Atmosphere outside on Opera Night. We looked at all the restaurants round the Arena and decided on the Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo, (food & wine looked good, service looked great and clientele looked mainly local and known to staff). We were not wrong! Food etc was great as were staff, we had a great night watching the crowds waiting to go to the opera so we went the next night when the opera was not on, quieter but still a great night.

Thank David363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto G, Direttore at Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks a lot for the amazing review. We are happy to know that you appreciate the competence and kindness of our staff but above all that we have met your expectations about food and wine, especially because you decided to come back again. We hope to see you in the future to offer you many other great nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been there several times. Today we went for lunch with a friend we wanted to impress with the atmosphere of Piazza Bra. We ate outside and were served well in a timely fashion. Bread was warm (but, I'm afraid cooked fom frozen dough). Food was good and interesting, more "fusion" than in the past. Not exactly Italian cuisine, which is fine with us. Wine was excellent and weighted on the final bill. Not an inexpensive place where to eat. One dish+dessert per person x 3+ wine + mineral water=100€. We agree with a previous reviewer that Parmesan cheese from the dispenser looks like coming from a cheap pre-grated supermarket package. I recommend that the price of bread should not be added to the bill. This is an unfortunate Italian habit that disappoints foreign tourists. Roberto be courageous and tourists will be happier. You can even publicize this on the menu: price clean without coperto! In conclusion: we like this place and will continue to go there!

Thank caterina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto G, Direttore at Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks for the review, written by a kind costumer like you. We are glad that you appreciated the different taste of our cuisine: we are a meeting point for locals and tourists, so we try to create an international atmosphere based on, especially, something different to eat and to live. Allow me a brief comment regarding your observation that we charge for the bread. This is not the case. We simply follow an Italian tradition whereby customers are charged for the “coperto”, which means the entire set-up of the table including unlimited bread, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. This is an old Italian tradition from the times where the “coperto” distinguished real restaurants from simple taverns. Like in the US it is a tradition to tip 10%-15% the waiter, in Italy we have this peculiar tradition. Travelling means also discovering and embracing local peculiarities, even some irrational ones! By the way, thanks to the “coperto” we are able to keep lower prices on many of our menu items. I also would like to take the opportunity to spend some words about the cheese: we don’t offer a forgery at all, but we freshly grate every morning a Parmigiano Reggiano DOP that it is an Italian speciality. As for the dispenser, I know it might look quite modern and unusual: but it protects the grated cheese from sun light and humidity which affect the taste and quality of the grated cheese . In conclusion: we are happy to have guests who take the time to make such extensive and thoughtful comments like you and we hope to see you really soon.

Cordially,
Roberto (Director of the Pizzeria Olivo)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location. I had the spaghetti with mussels and clams which was really tasty. Husband had the paella which he said was ok but not amazing. Would come back as it's cheap and friendly.

Thank Leander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto G, Direttore at Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks for your review and we are happy you chose us during your visit to Verona. The quality and freshness of all products that we offer is really important for us. We are really sorry for paella but we invite our customers tell to our staff if something doesn’t work, so that we can correct things right away. In fact, on our menu we printed our promise to change any dish which you don’t like with no extra charge. We invite you to come back and look us up again next time you visit our city and take us on our promise.

Greetings,
Roberto (Director of the Pizzeria Olivo)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing