We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stay here”
Review of Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Gorgeous hotel in 16 century building just off piazza erbe right in centre of old town. Beautiful room with all mod cons but in an atmosphere of antiquity. There are a series of comfy little lounges, one with friendly parrots in, and an ancient private courtyard. If you order a cocktail they bring you the equivalent of high tea with it. Staff are lovely. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 241 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

From the moment we stepped into the hotel foyer we realised this was going to be an enjoyable stay - the staff were so friendly and helpful and were genuinely pleased to be of service.

There was a slight mix-up with the name on our booking, so it looked at first as though we might not have a reservation (!) but it was all handled with such charm and grace and quickly resolved that we weren't at all stressed out after what had been a pretty arduous journey.

Our room was quirkily decorated, as per the rest of the hotel, and felt like a snug, cosy and fun place to stay. All the usual accoutrements of a five star hotel, like toiletries, robes and slippers etc - generously replaced throughout our stay.

The desk staff could not have been more helpful in providing information on where to eat - their recommendations proved to be spot-on.

Took afternoon tea a couple of times (a good cup of tea can be hard to find out in the Piazza delle Erbe!) and it was accompanied with really delicious little savoury bites and biscuits - all freshly prepared. It was a nice break during sightseeing and I don't recall it costing too much, either. It was all rather civilised :)

Breakfasts were a lovely way to start the day - lots to choose from and there was decent coffee: something that's surprisingly not a given in Italian hotels. The service was never starchy or intrusive, but there was always someone at hand when you needed them - the epitome of professionalism.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Gabbia d'Oro to those looking for a centrally located hotel with great charm and hospitality. We intend to return to Verona some day and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kitmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel has the best possible location. The decor is a bit crazy and over the top, but very charming. It has true character and its nice with a fi e star hotel that is not part of a large hotelgroup. First we were chocked by all decor elements but soon started to appreciate this little fairytale world. We stayed i a very nice suite with 2 little balconies and had a grwat time

Room Tip: Get a suite!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hard not to rave about this exquisite hotel. Terrific value, right next to the most important square, charming reception staff who recommended a perfect restaurant ( La Taverna di Via Stella), excellent breakfast.

Faults - almost none, perhaps the hotel was over warm but opening bedroom windows resolved the issue.

Worth leaving Venice for and that says everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gerryepUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Verona is a quaint town great for shopping and site seeing. Go have a cocktail at the towering restaurant on top of the hill by Torre dei Lamberti. The Duomo and Piazza delle Erbe are must sees on my list when i'm there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent two nights in September. Every aspect was wonderful, particularly the staff and location. Bit pricy but worth it. Really had fun staying there. Terrific breakfast. Location right in center of the action.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We make a trip to Verona (beautiful city) just to stay in the Hotel Gabbia d'Oro.The service is outstanding, Everyone is so helpful and always has a smile. We have stayed in several different rooms and each one is different but we loved them all. The hotel has a quaint unique quality. Public rooms are also very beautifully decorated and each one is a joy to spend time in.
Breakfast has lots to choose from, some unusual items and delicious cakes. Also, a beautiful area to spend time in. Rooms all had comfortable beds, very quiet and very clean. Location is convenient to all -- opera, restaurants, sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigFanSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#4 of 77 in Verona
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#19 of 77 in Verona
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Relais The Gentleman of Verona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
0.0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#11 of 77 in Verona
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbia d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Address: Corso Porta Borsari 4A, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#11 Business Hotel in Verona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range: $237 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gabbia d'Oro 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gabbia d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gabbia d Oro
Gabbia d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing