We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”
Review of Hotel Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Monaco
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in June 2014. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP's. The staff were brilliant, very helpful and polite, especially Paulo in the restaurant who had the most fantastic sense of humour and was also very good at his job. In fact all the restaurant staff were excellent. Paulo could not do enough for us and even though the restaurant is closed on Sundays, because they had a large group staying in the hotel and wanting dinner they included us and we were give the most beautiful meal. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the buffet breakfast was excellent and the reception staff were all very helpful and informative. On arrival at the hotel we were given a room with a double bed but within five minutes the reception staff changed the room and gave us a twin. The bedding in our room was changed each day and for a three star hotel this was above and beyond what we expected. As the hotel is on the outskirts of the city the number 61 bus takes about 10 minutes to take you into the city centre. There are no buses running on Sundays and a taxi ride will cost about 13 euros each way. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. WELL DONE Hotel Monaco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClapHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Monaco, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for choosing us!
For us it is very important to know that our work is appreciated by our customers.
We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Verona.

Thank you very very much from all of us.

Vittorio Abrignani
Uff.Marketing - CLAPHOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    60
    58
    24
    17
See reviews for
28
40
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

very comfortable. very clean and very comfortable. breakfast also very good. wifi need additional fee is not so convenient. by taxi from train station to the hotel cost us 13 euros. bus takes 10 minutes.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Fengxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClapHotelsGroup, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Monaco, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We hope to welcome you again soon during your trip to Verona!

Vittorio Abrignani
Marketing Dept
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my wife in October, mainly due to its close proximity to the annual marble fair.

The hotel itself is incredibly basic, so if you are simply looking for a place to lay your head after a day of touristing around, then it's fine. Anything else and you will be massively disappointed.

The rooms are small and composed of old furniture, with a tiny and aged TV. Wifi is available at a cost, but almost impossible to connect to in the rooms, so you have to go downstairs (where the router is apparently located). The bathrooms are also very basic, and although basic amenities such as soap and shampoo are provided, the toilets are flimsy (the seat doesn't stay up if you want to pee standing), and the shower door is one of those folding plastic ones, which is just poor.

Another weird thing is that when checking in, your passport is required by the front desk and they keep it overnight. I found this very odd. Also, the key to the rooms are old school, with a massive brass knockers attached, and it is custom to leave them at the reception when departing.

The breakfast buffet is also rather shabby, with a few mueslis and sandwiches available, but nothing really great.

Overall a very disappointing place, especially considering the price. I would have expected somewhere like this, located rather far from the center of Verona, to cost about €50 a night, rather than €200+.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagisterDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Verona hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went for a conference at Conference centre roughly a km from the hotel. Walking distance and No.61 bus takes you to the centre as well as the town centre. Town centre itself is about 45 minutes walk from hotel. Taxis are not expensive and has provides a good service.
The hotel itself is okay. It has an older look. Basic facilities but all are clean. The breakfast is standard. The receptionists were very helpful and can communicate well in English.
My room was small. The window was boarded up with a shutter, could not open. The aircon was working well. The bathroom was clean.
So a budget accommodation.
There is a supermarket not so far from here, no food items though. There is also a McDonalds near by.
I choose to have Italian delicacy from the town and boy there was a lot of fantastic choice. The weather was supreme and we could sit out facing a super backdrop of the main square of Verona. If you haven't visited, would strongly advice.
Easily connected by train to Milan and Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbharathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

quite clean, but very loud.Also far from the center but close to the Fair. They said they had a 24hour service but the guy that was on the reception at night could not speak english and was quite rude

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympiaSamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our bike broke down just outside Verona and we were booked into this hotel as it was .5km from the garage, the hotel is basic but clean and the staff were very helpful especially Eliza (hope I have spelt that right) who helped us with the language barrier as we no Italian, she spoke very good English and German.

Caught the bus not far away from the hotel and had a very enjoyable day in Verona.

Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonMcCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is in an industrial zone, but not far from the main road to the arena. You would need a car to get to the tourist area. This was a small utilitarian room with no frills. The breakfast seemed very nice to me in the restaurant and was quite adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#47 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Verona
B&B Hotel Verona
#43 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#34 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Fiera
Hotel Fiera
#52 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gelmini
Hotel Gelmini
#60 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Il Mondo Di Ross
#173 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco

Property: Hotel Monaco
Address: Via Evangelista Torricelli 4, 37135, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco is a colorful and comfortable 3 stars hotel located in the nearby of Verona Sud motorway exhit, 2.5km from the Exhibition Area and 10'by car from city center. Al client's disposal: 73 rooms, restaurant "Monaco", bar, free outdoor parking place, garage (for a fee), wifi free in the rooms, wifi for a fee in the lobbies, 1 meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing