We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente hotel e localização!”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice and luxurious 3-stars hotel located a 30 second walk from Piazza Bra and the famous Verona arena, where we could watch the opera Aida. It is also close to Julieta's house, Castello Vecchio and all the other main sites of Verona. Except for breakfast, which could be a bit more assorted, and for the lack of a box in the bathroom, which made it wet every time we took a shower, the hotel was fabulous. My two friends and I would surely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hotel Europa not only lives up to what they advertise on the WEB, they are in an incredible location. Just one block away from Piazza Bra and the Verona Arena they are convenient to the center of town (which is a pedestrian area). It was a peaceful quiet surrounding with the tourist shopping area just seconds away in one direction and the locals shopping and supermarket seconds away in the other. In addition to the great location, the rooms were the cleanest in all of the locations we traveled. The bathrooms were cleaned and polished and the towels were as soft as a baby's bottom. The staff were all very pleasant but the maid service was especially nice. It seems like they went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms were very spacious and they have these incredible blinds that block out 100% of the light in the room so if you choose to sleep in, you won't be disturbed by the sun rise. The breakfast provided was also very well done. The staff made every accommodation to provide a variety of coffee's and teas in addition to the routine breakfast items. Overall, I would return to this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone who desires a clean, comfortable stay with the most pleasant hotel staff imaginable.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we could tell were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsaAmazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The location of this hotel is amazing so close to Arena but in my opinion that is the only thing going for it! The rooms were unfriendly and cold (not temperature) although the aircon was good. There was no shower only bath with a hose I have not seen that in years. The lighting in the rooms was very poor unless you had main light on you could hardly see. In the morning the breakfast was probably one of the worst I've had. They gave us no map and not too friendly either. Not rude either. Also hairdryer in my room didn't work and no bin in bedroom only a tiny one in bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ooc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We loved this hotel. It was luxurious as families-on-a-budget hotels in Italy go. Staff was welcoming and helpful, room was very clean and nicely furnished, bathroom had a hairdryer (not common, in our experience), wonderful location, and wonderful breakfast in a beautifully furnished dining room. Thanks for the great recommendation, Rick Steves. :) We will stay again next time we go.

Room Tip: Ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I really liked this friendly hotel in Verona where we stayed just two night visiting Verona with our young kids. It's perfectly clean, the front desk staff was very friendly, breakfast was a nice buffet with lots of choices also for the kids. And I'm a huge fan of valet parking so it was really practical to be able to leave the car in the hands of the hotel staff, and they would park it and get it out for us when we needed it.

You won't actually need the car in Verona, as it's hellish to drive around, and the hotel has such an excellent location that you never need the car anyway! It's just next to Piazza Bra and even the kids could walk everywhere. Verona is very walking friendly.

As usual in Italy (except for the Dolomites) there was no family room where we could stay all four of us. So I don't give full vote for the room part. But we got two adjoining rooms for a very reasonable low season price.

The young woman at the front desk was very helpful in giving us information that we needed in fast touring the city with two kids. And the food in Verona is really fantastic so make sure you ask for advice in the hotel where to go, and avoid to eat in Piazza Bra except for a pre dinner drink!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was our 2nd time back to Verona and wouldn't hesitate to make this our 2nd home while in Verona!! It was even better this time because the staff remembered us from 2 yrs prior (impressive!!). We stayed here 1 week, took cruise out of Venice the next (easy train ride), and gladly returned the following week with them because of the wonderful experience!
The free breakfast was more than adequate (fresh pastries and fruit, croissants, Italian cold cuts, cheese, juices, cereals, yogurts, granola). Nadia made the best cafe and cappuccinos to our specifications every time and started the day with a big smile! The staff always replenished the items that were low (especially since we're from Calif. and were dragging ourselves in each day).
Renato at the front desk was helpful in getting us settled, was attentive and made us feel like family! Fiore (front desk) helped us find some great osterias nearby, as well tips in getting around. We found everyone at the front desk to go above and beyond in assisting us and making our stay 5 stars!
The hotel and rooms are immaculate and well maintained. It's important to note ALL air cond. is turned OFF in Italy (as well as many other places in Europe) typically from mid-end of Sept. thru spring. The energy costs in Italy are very high and it's required by the govt. for ALL hotels. The newer windows in this hotel are hefty, quieter than most, and can be opened a crack or adjusted to open completely (like a door), which made it nice since we had warmer weather for part of our trip.
Location is fantastic! About 1 blk from Piazza Bra and few blks from Roman theater, so not so crowded and noisy as center of town, but short walk to all shops, Romeo e Julietta monuments, cafes, pasticcerias, restaurants and Piazza Erbe. So easy to get around in this town too! The river's an easy walk and it's a 5 min. city bus ride to and from the Verona train station (1.1 Euro pp). Lake Garda (largest lake in Italy) is a short train ride with many year round activities. You can use this hotel as your hub and hop the local or fast trains to go to many other day trip destinations nearby (s.a., Padua and much more).
We booked a Pagus Valpolicella Wine Tour with Alessandro (a splurge for us, but so worth it). Oh wow! The highlight of our entire trip! He picked us up at hotel, drove us through the countryside, mountains (what views!), small towns, toured a few local wineries with incredibly generous tastings, plus added a few surprises! We'll not ever forget it! His English was perfect and he made us feel like it was all about us for the day!
We never had a bad meal in Verona! Highly recommend within short walk our fav: Osteria Il Ciottollo (across from Museo Castelvecchia - great prices, quality and portions!! Must try Verona's unique Aperol Spritz here). Also, Osteria Casa Vino near the hotel, and Osteria Sgarzarie (mostly locals) off street by same name near Piazza Erbe).
We'll definitely be back and will cherish these memories!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n2travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Booked for its location and parking for the car. Prices a complete rip-off... very bad value for money.
Reception staff unhelpful and disinterested at best; at worst downright rude.
Bedroom adequate, but aircon not working and serious noise outside if you open the window.
Breakfast adequate only if you arrive early, but staff fail to top up depleted ingredients so first up gets fed, unless you persist. Breakfast and car parking very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driver_in_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#36 of 77 in Verona
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#17 of 77 in Verona
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torcolo
Hotel Torcolo
#26 of 77 in Verona
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#6 of 77 in Verona
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Roma 8, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: $93 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing