We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Nearby Hotels
$175
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Martini(Verona)(Great Value!)
$127
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colomba d'Oro(Verona)
$185
$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$310
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$178
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$221
$210
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leon D'Oro(Verona)(Great Value!)
$187
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
196
97
17
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
97
17
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh windowssmall hotelgreat locationsteam roomjuliet balconysmall poolwould definitely stay here againboutique hotelmajor attractionsbooked this hotelair conditionexcellent hotelquiet streetstayed nightslovely roomfew stepsroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 318 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Exceptionally clean hotel, modernised well-equipped rooms and bathrooms. Not the type of place for dinner or drinks but great breakfasts and we had the occasional drink from the bar on our way out in the evening which did the job - the bar has 4 seats so they do not encourage you to use the hotel for that purpose, although you can use their beautiful reception as a lounge. The place was very handy for walking everywhere and a good place to lay your head after eating and drinking in one of the many wonderful restaurants in Verona. They do have an underground pool which looked very nice but we had no time to use.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fingertipsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Top quality boutique hotel in a perfect location in downtown Verona. It's 5 minutes from the Arena (amazing musical spectaculars there - well worth seeing), within 10 minutes of anywhere, and a 20 minute fixed-fare taxi ride from the airport.

Just 30 seconds off of the beaten track which means it's not plagued by noisy cobbled street traffic.

Breakfast served in the elegant dining room, with faultless service. Good selection of cereals, fruits, breads, cheese, meat and some cooked items, and of course proper espresso-driven coffee available on request.

Room average size (but not unexpectedly for a downtown location), but with fine furnishings. Very clean, as was the bathroom, and with good quality linens and towels. Excellent shower.

Efficient and unobtrusive airconditioning, which actually can keep the room cool, unlike many hotels.

Free wifi included - as it should be in any top quality hotel.

Really cannot fault this hotel and will be returning without question.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Fell in love with this hotel on trip advisor and was worried it might not live up to its reviews. Thank god it was exactly as I imagined it. I have to stress on it's superb location first! It's close to everything you would want to see in Verona just a short walk from the arena and Juliet's balcony. The rooms are not so spacious but when you see how cozy the hotel is you will instantly forget about that. Toilets are large and modern with very nice walk in showers. Breakfast was normal and staff were great and helpful... Some wear and tear evident on the walls but nothing a quick paint job won't fix in the future. Worth every penny and will come back for sure. Made my stay in Verona wonderful...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnalogueJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located: tucked away in a quiet street, within a 5 minute walk of all the places you want to see when visiting Verona.
Hotel Antica Porta Leona is charming and beautiful. The entrance hall is very stylish and the breakfast room lovely. There is a spa but we did not try it.
We stayed in a double room, which was small but very beautiful. The bathroom was modern with a large walk-in shower and perfectly refurbished.
We were staying for our honeymoon and received a complimentary bottle of wine with a congratulations note, which was a very nice touch.
The staff were very helpful! One evening, as we were heading out for dinner before going to the opera in the arena, we forgot our opera tickets at the reception desk... When we arrived at the restaurant, the owner told us the hotel had phoned to say we'd forgotten the tickets and the valet was on his way to bring them over - so great service.
We'd definitely stay there again and recommend Hotel Antica Porta Leona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Well-travelled-NW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Hotel is very nice very centrally located. The arena is only a 5 to 10 minute walk and all the major shops and restaurants are nearby.

Great Hotel, friendly staff and very good breakfast buffet. They also make an excellent cappuccino.

If you plan to go to Verona this is the place to stay especially if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: When you book ask the hotel what size bed they have especially if you are a couple and are used to the US Queen or King size beds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews