We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and right from the beginning knew we were in very good hands. The check-in was a breeze - the girls at the reception had everything ready for us, including the parking permit for our car and a map with locations for parking. We were able to quickly find a parking spot in a square just behind the hotel.
We had booked a triple room but were upgraded to a 3rd floor apartment. Just like the hotel, the apartment was modern and extremely clean. The hardwood floor looked very new and the shower was amazing. We had a balcony with access from both rooms.
Breakfast was good and plentiful for a continental breakfast.
Friendly and efficient staff. This hotel is very well run. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIEN_0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

WOW!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! We're so happy to read your feedback about our beautiful suite with balcony (for three people). We like it so much so, when it's available, with pleasure we offer the upgrade. We are glad you've appreciated it.
When you're going to come back to Verona, contact us and for sure we'll give you our best offer for that room :-)
Thank you again!!!

Elisa and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stay here for the location, literally a minute's walk from the Arena. Some friendly staff, good-sized bedroom, bathroom particularly nice, decent enough breakfast. Not top notch, but if you want a comfortable place right in the heart of everything Verona has to offer, it's worth a try. The city is magical in any case, so you're unlikely to be spending too much time in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for having spent your time to write a feedback about our hotel. We appreciate your words about our service and room. Hoping to welcome you again in the heart of Verona, we thank you again!

Elisa and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

loved the location, friendly staff, impeccable service, excellent breakfast and clean room. The only negative was the small elevator but I'm told that this is changing in November. That is Italy for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jananne1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice words! You're right: the elevator is not so big; in the historic centers it's not so easy to make changes in the buildings.. they have to be approved. But in Autumn we're going to modify it: enlarge it and modernize it. So.. you've to come back to Verona after our works in November to check the new elevator :-)
Thank you again and see you soon.. as we hope!

Elisa and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a week at Giulietta e Romeo - our eighth time to stay at the hotel in the last ten years. We go to Verona for opera but the main reason we enjoy returning to the hotel each year is the friendliness of the staff who are always willing to help. The buffet breakfast is very good. The bedrooms are air-conditioned and comfortable. The hotel is within a minute's walk of the Arena, Via Mazzini (shopping) and Piazza Bra (restaurants). All in all, an ideal place for us to stay when we come to Verona. Derek S

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

.. and everytime it's a pleasure for us to welcome you!! Thank you for the nice words!!!!
SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!! :-)
A bear hug from all the staff!!

Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When our taxi drew up outside the hotel a member of the reception staff came out immediately to welcome us and take our luggage inside. This degree of care did not waiver during our stay, staff booked restaurants for us, checked train times and were always smiling and efficient. This comment applies to all the staff, whatever their role. The hotel is clearly well managed and the staff certainly give the impression of being a happy team. In retrospect we should have asked for a superior double room and not a standard double, it was a little small. However, the standard of finish and the cleanliness could not be faulted. The ensuite bathroom was well-equipped and of a good size.

Room Tip: The standard double room was a little small, although we are told that this is usually the case in I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

THANK YOU!!!! All our staff is so happy to read your feedback. We try to do our best to help the guests planning their stay here and making their holiday unforgettable... so we are glad to hear that you've appreciated it. You're right: the hotel is well managed and all of us love this job.. you've felt it ;-)
We hope you decide to stay with us again.. everytime you stay in Verona there is something new to see and discover! For sure we're going to accommodate you in a superior room :-)
Thanks again!

Elisa and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just a 100 yards from the Arena di Verona, the Piazza Bra and the main shopping area, yet down a small quiet street. The location could not be better. The staff members were all friendly and helpful.

We had an upgraded room (304) which was modern, with excellent air conditioning, large safe, minibar and a great bathroom with large walk in shower and a jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast was excellent with a good range of options for continental breakfast with a few hot options. Coffee was excellent and we had the best croissants on our Italian trip. Much as I love Italy I get frustrated that croissants always have either a vanilla flavouring, a sticky sweet coating or have some apricot jam or almond paste inside. While some of those were available, this was the only hotel on our trip that had proper plain croissants. A small thing maybe but shows an attention to detail and awareness of different customer tastes. The breakfast area was large and had inside and outside options.

So why didn't I give the hotel 5? A couple of reasons. Firstly, for an upgraded room it was pretty small: smaller than our room in Venice and the one in Lake Garda (the latter being an upgrade to junior suite). Good enough size for 2 or 3 nights, but I'd want more space for a week.

The other reason may be a matter of presentation and how things were said, but it made a difference to my perception of the hotel. All 3 hotels on this trip were part of a custom made holiday booked through citalia. On arrival at this hotel we received a friendly welcome but were told that unfortunately Citalia do not offer the facility to select upgraded rooms but the hotel had one available which was larger, more modern, with a jacuzzi bath and was ready immediately at only 10 euros per night. We decided to accept this room and pay the extra but I was left with a distinct feeling of having been 'upsold' - not what I was expecting on a holiday which we had specified carefully and paid for in advance. And as stated above, the room was quite small. I was also left wondering whether that room was already allocated to us but they were trying to get more money from us. This uneasy feeling was reinforced a little when we checked out. When I handed over my credit card I was told that they preferred cash. Not what I expect for a hotel. Granted it only covered the 3 nights room supplement and something from the minibar, but not appropriate.

Am I being a bit harsh by raising this nigglebwhen everything else about the hotel was great? I don't think so. Contrast the other 2 hotels we booked via Citalia. The one in Venice offers a free room upgrade for Citalia customers, so that makes us feel like valued customers. The one in Lake Garda gave us the option at time of booking to make a considered room selection. However, this hotel were effectively saying, "you've not got the best room with Citalia, so pay us more now if you want one". Which hotel would leave you feeling the most or least positive?

Other than that, the hotel was great and I would stay there again. If the room was larger and the room upgrade was provided free or at time of booking, then I would have given it 5.

Room Tip: We can't comment from experience but noticed that room 100 was on the ground floor and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for having written your feedback about the hotel. Your comment is very clear and we are glad to read the appreciaton in our service. We are a little bit surprised to read the comment about the upgrade. We thought you liked the room, which was a superior room with shower and bath tub jacuzzi. The difference between this room and the standard one is not the size but the bath tub. For that room we usually apply € 30,00 extra per night and thought that € 10,00 per night extra was our best offer and you'd have appreciated it. We thought wrong. Our Citalia guests are important, this is the reason because we informed you about the discounted upgrade.
We hope you decide to stay with us again. For sure we're going to upgrade you for free!!
Thank you again for all the nice words.

Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a pleasant stay in Verona at this nice hotel.
The location was perfect: We went to the opera at Arena di Verona which is located just down the street, there are plenty of restaurants and cafés nearby, and the central pedestrian shopping street is just around the corner.
The hotel staff was friendly, and they took care of the parking of our car in a very convenient way at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were fairly small, which was in line with our expectations, but they were cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa_receptionist, Receptionist at Giulietta e Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for the feedback and the nice words about our service and location. For sure for your next stay here we're going to suggest you superior rooms, which are larger than the standard ones. Thank you again from all the staff!!!

Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 78 in Verona
2,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 78 in Verona
1,883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 78 in Verona
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#5 of 78 in Verona
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#7 of 78 in Verona
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giulietta e Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giulietta e Romeo Hotel

Address: Vicolo Tre Marchetti 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Verona
#2 Business Hotel in Verona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range: $83 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giulietta e Romeo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated just 50 meters from the Arena. It's situated in the historic centre, where our guests can enter without restrictions: we have an internal garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Giulietta e Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giulietta e Romeo
Giulietta e Romeo Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing