We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with lots of charm”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hotel with lots of charm”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very pleasant front office team here. Room we stayed in was very spacious with a good bathroom , I think we may have been upgraded! Entry to the hotel is through an old wooden door with the hotel proper on the left and breakfast room on the right. Breakfast fairly basic Continental type. There are no lifts but seems like all the rooms are on only the first floor. Location was perhaps a little bit too far from the train station. All in all we had a pleasant stay here for one night.

Room Tip: A room away from front street may be better although not a noisy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    230
    56
    13
    6
See reviews for
67
308
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Scalzi in September and I had booked a double room with twin beds about 6 months before. Although I reconfirmed the booking, we arrived to find we had a room with a double bed overlooking the noisy street and were told that they were full and we could not change rooms. It had been a hot day and that evening when I couldn't get the air-conditioning to work, was told that the owner had "turned it off and you have to open the windows". It would have been impossible to sleep with all the road noise so I asked for the air conditioning to be turned back on. The very polite night manager was loathe to disturb the owner at that late hour (9pm), however at my insistence he did. The air conditioning was eventually turned back on. We found the staff to be very pleasant, however breakfast was very disappointing. A choice of two cereals (Coco Pops and Corn Flakes), yoghurt, some pieces of fruit, very sweet cakes, some bread and stewed coffee in a urn. The hotel is an easy walk from the Arena and Piazza Bra where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. I loved Verona but I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darls54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelscalzi, Owner at Hotel Scalzi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Sirs,
we are CLEARLY not ready yet to host such hard-to-please customers as you are.
After all, we are only rated with 2 stars and we cannot offer each and every comfort and amenity.
Thank you anyway for choosing us in the first place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Officially a two start hotel but with five start service! Travelled with friends for four nights early October and were allocated Rooms 2 & 4, meaning we had access to a private terrace to sit out - they were also quiet being situated towards the back of the hotel. Wine, beer and water can also be purchased from the reception at reasonable rates. The rooms were spotlessly clean with immaculate bathrooms. Very nice breakfasts with a selection of cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, yoghurts and cakes etc. Tea, coffee and juices with excellent cappuccinos on request from the lovely staff. Excellently located, just five or ten minutes walk from the train station and the same from the Arena and the beautiful shopping area. Only four euros return on the bus to Bardolino and Lake Garda. Some lovely restaurants close by – we enjoyed the bar on the corner for late afternoon drinks and nibbles and had a superb meal at La Cantina del 15, just five minutes walk away opposite the castle entrance on Corso Castelvecchio. The staff at the Hotel could not have been more helpful. We also had a look at the courtyard rooms which are lovely and worth considering paying the extra for a romantic break. We booked directly with the hotel and received a substantial discount on the room price compared to the usual internet booking sites. Highly recommended for a stay in beautiful Verona! Thanks Sophy for the loan of the upmarket umbrella!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front might be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RufusUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed a nice stay in one of the suites across a little court yard. Access to the room is from the ground level and they are toward the back of the hotel.
It was very comfortable and had an authentic Italian feel.
It is just a couple of streets away from the crowds which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two level studio rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and I would definitely recommend it provding you get a quiet room. Lots of character, good location 10 minutes walk from the Arena, supermarket nearby for water, fruit etc, within walking distance to train station, staff extremely helpful and friendly, lovely rooms and nice bathrooms. Only downside was that our room (a huge room complete with entry foyer, a loft containing 2 single beds and large, clean, modern bathroom) fronted the busy street with an incredible amount of vehicle noise day and night (buses, mopeds and cars). Even with the shutters and doors closed it was still noisy. However my mother had a small single room in another part of the hotel and she had no noise problems and I see many other reviews say its quiet.Breakfast was adequate, though they ran out of things constantly. We paid about AUD$200 per night, reasonable in my opinion.

Room Tip: Request a room which doesn't front the road (via Scalzi)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very central, quiet clean hotel. The room we had was pretty small with ensuite shower room and unable to get out onto terrace. At 135 euros a night not the cheapest (may have been inflated as it was during the time Eros Ramazzotti was playing at the arena, who we were seeing). It is a nice hotel but communal areas OK but not brilliant.
From different reviews, there are different sized rooms, so best to check. Breakfast OK, pretty basic standard fare.
Great location though. Within walking distance to the centre and about 10 minutes from the train station.
Associated car parking but separate from the hotel - only three spaces so need to reserve in advance.

Room Tip: Check what rooms have access to terrace if you want outdoor space. We only needed to sleep and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the single room for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is walking distance from the railway station, and also the centre of Verona where all the activity takes place. However, it was very quiet and a delightful retreat from the hussle bussle around the arena. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast is in a small enclosed garden, and there is plenty of selection, with staff on hand to offer fresh coffee. I really enjoyed my stay in Hotel Sclazi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#8 of 79 in Verona
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Property: Hotel Scalzi
Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scalzi is located in the historic Avesani Palace in the center of Verona. The strategic location between Piazza Bra with the Arena, Castelvecchio and the Porta Nuova Railway Station, outside the restricted traffic area makes it a great choice for you stay in the city of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing