We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Scalzi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Siena(Verona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Giberti(Verona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanmicheli(Verona)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arena(Verona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveler rating
320
251
67
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
251
67
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationchess setwooden doormezzanine floorold palacepiazza braan easy walkno liftbreakfast roomhuge roombreakfast is servedgelateriashort walklovely hotelsmall hotelhistoric buildingbusy road
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 659 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel and I would definitely recommend it provding you get a quiet room. Lots of character, good location 10 minutes walk from the Arena, supermarket nearby for water, fruit etc, within walking distance to train station, staff extremely helpful and friendly, lovely rooms and nice bathrooms. Only downside was that our room (a huge room complete with entry foyer, a loft containing 2 single beds and large, clean, modern bathroom) fronted the busy street with an incredible amount of vehicle noise day and night (buses, mopeds and cars). Even with the shutters and doors closed it was still noisy. However my mother had a small single room in another part of the hotel and she had no noise problems and I see many other reviews say its quiet.Breakfast was adequate, though they ran out of things constantly. We paid about AUD$200 per night, reasonable in my opinion.

Room Tip: Request a room which doesn't front the road (via Scalzi)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very central, quiet clean hotel. The room we had was pretty small with ensuite shower room and unable to get out onto terrace. At 135 euros a night not the cheapest (may have been inflated as it was during the time Eros Ramazzotti was playing at the arena, who we were seeing). It is a nice hotel but communal areas OK but not brilliant.
From different reviews, there are different sized rooms, so best to check. Breakfast OK, pretty basic standard fare.
Great location though. Within walking distance to the centre and about 10 minutes from the train station.
Associated car parking but separate from the hotel - only three spaces so need to reserve in advance.

Room Tip: Check what rooms have access to terrace if you want outdoor space. We only needed to sleep and were not in Verona for a long time on this trip, so didn't make much difference to us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the single room for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is walking distance from the railway station, and also the centre of Verona where all the activity takes place. However, it was very quiet and a delightful retreat from the hussle bussle around the arena. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast is in a small enclosed garden, and there is plenty of selection, with staff on hand to offer fresh coffee. I really enjoyed my stay in Hotel Sclazi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to every thing in Verona. The rooms are on the smaller size but very clean and the baths are good. Staff very helpful and spoke very good English. This is a perfect spot for budget conscious travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in a superior double which had a lounge as well as the double room. Small fridge was good to have but took 5 hours to become cold. The place was very clean and all the staff were friendly with a range of languages spoken. The room opened on to the court room, which was lovely as we could sit out there during the day and evening and catch some sun. Breakfast was also served in the court yard. Location was a comfortable walk from the bus and train station, as well as being close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottieLass88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews