We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service and Location”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel Scalzi and its owners Patrizia and Marco run a very clean and efficient hotel that is located close to the old castle of Verona. The advantage of its location should not be underestimated as you are able to obtain with the hotel adequate parking of your vehicle with the added plus of not needing to go into the prohibited city area where no vehicles are even permitted. You are within walking distance of where ever you need to go. More than this, the breakfasts provided are copious, buffet style. If at all possible book with Hotel Scalzi directly to obtain the best rates. If at all possible ask for one of their rooms off the courtyard for the ultimate experience of a serene and quiet environment. The owners mean to please and the care they take with their property and with their guests becomes immediately self-evident. We were fortunate to have room S-2 off the courtyard. A totally renovated and spacious unit.

Room Tip: Book early to obtain one of their units off their enchanting courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealMaria52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    218
    56
    11
    5
See reviews for
62
291
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was around a 5-10 minute walk of the arena and circa a 15-20 minute walk to get around to the Corso Porta Borsari area which had some lovely boutique shops and hotels. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was continental and all self service. There is no lift in this hotel although all rooms are on the first floor. We had a standard room which was fine for a few days stay, storage was limited and we faced the main road. Hotel despite being on a main road was reasonably quiet and not too much traffic.

Room Tip: I only glimpsed some of the other rooms which all seemed to be of a similar size. I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samoruk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband, myself and adult daughter stayed for 3 nights as we were visiting Verona to go to the opera. The hotel is very well positioned, being 10 minutes walk from the station (where the airport shuttle stops) and 10 minutes from the Arena in the Piazza Bra. This is a family run hotel in a city and so guests should expect a certain individuality and a different level of facilities from those in a large chain. However, our room - a triple - was large, quiet, with comfy beds and excellent air-conditioning. The staff - mostly family members - were friendly and helpful. The selection at breakfast was somewhat limited but there was certainly sufficient and, a bonus as far as we were concerned, was served outside in a shady courtyard. We had booked through a hotel booking website. The owner told us to contact them direct for a better price if we ever returned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeBets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel to explore Verona. About 10 mins walk from the centre, very clean and with comfy beds. The staff are very friendly indeed - they were only too happy to move us to a room at the back of the hotel (it does face onto a relatively busy road). Good breakfast with nice pastries and cakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

There's nothing especially great or unique about this hotel. It is very clean, perfectly comfortable, and certainly our room was of good quality and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The courtyard where you have breakfast could do with a revamp or just a lick of paint. Breakfast was a little disappointing, lacking a varied selection.
The benefit is that it is within walking distance of both the main train station and the arena, so in that sense it is ideal and a good place to stay. It's good just not excellent.
Verona is of course a wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vespa150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in May and really enjoyed it. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the station and is 10 minutes to the arena. The outside of the building did not look promising but the inside had been done tastefully and is a family run hotel. The reception was welcoming and very helpful. The age of the building means it has no lift but help was offered. There is a mezzanine floor with seating for reading. Our room number 10 upstairs was modern and clean, but in an old setting with high ceiling and beams. The bathroom was modern. Wifi is free. Breakfast was continental and very adequate.
\we would certainly stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alansue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife & I chose this hotel for a two-night stay because of the proximity to the station and the city's delights. Being 10 - 15 minutes walk from the Arena means quieter by night. We were given a split-level studio room behind the eating area / courtyard. Consequently, there was no street noise at all. The extra space afforded by the lounge area was most welcome to spread out and the bathroom was larger than average. Breakfast was adequate (we're not big breakfast eaters). The staff were always helpful, with dinner recommendations and such. Two nights was probably enough for Verona, maybe three or four with Opera.

Room Tip: The studio rooms in the rear might be bigger, quieter and no stairs (except to the bedroom) but migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
2,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
1,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Property: Hotel Scalzi
Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt, the hotel dedicates attention to the businessman as well as to tourists who want to spend their time in a family atmosphere. The hotel is located in the city centre, 650 metres from the Arena and close to the train station. The charming and lovely rooms have independent air conditioning, television, direct line outside and long-distance calls. Buffet breakfast is served in a graceful mezzanine floor. It's also possible to book places in our private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing