We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value and Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Great Customer Service”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Armando for 3 nights in early October 2013 and were pleasantly suprised by the value for money and service levels it offered so close to the centre of Verona. The Arena was literally 5 minutes walk away, however the hotel is in a quiet area, so we experienced no noise at all during the night, despite a couple of sell out concerts in the Arena while we were there. Breakfast buffet excellent in quantity and quality, reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, providing luggage storage, ice for the room, a towel for wet shoes (yes it did rain while we were there!), and above and beyond service when they gave us one of the hotel umberellas to keep as ours had been lost (special thanks to Alexandra!). Rooms clean, modern and comfortable with bath robes and slippers, towels changed daily and crisp bed linen. Would recommend highly.
Tip: We walked from Porto Nouvo station (25 mins) after catching airport bus into town - busy road however with some footpaths missing so would recommend a taxi if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Our room faced the small street outside which meant we could open a window without any air con noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    287
    45
    6
    2
See reviews for
84
304
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed four nights very happily here. The hotel is situated just outside the historic centre in a quiet area. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the room we had was very comfortable - breakfast too was good.

We would certainly stay here again but go for a room away from the courtyard as I like to have the window open at night and found the ventilation equipment a bit noisy.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice. It was very far removed from the other hotels we stayed in Italy, in that the room was very modern and functional...no character. It was expensive enough although the location was very good, near to all the sights. The shower was strange with wooden floorboards instead of a shower tray....hard to describe. Reception staff were polite. Breakfast was ok. Would stay again if I was in the area but would probably see what else was available first as the price was a little expensive for what it was. No real faults though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrelsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_bold, Direttore generale at BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to our hotel we are glad you enjoyed our
services and our position relative to the historical center of Verona and in
a possible next visit to Verona would choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is simple but perfectly adequate for a short stay in Verona. It is relatively expensive for nights when the big operas are on the Arena but at other times it would be good value. For example, we paid 177 euros for 2 of our 3 nights and 96 euros on the other night when there was no opera on. This is expensive for a hotel of this standard but prices at other hotels were quite prohibitive so it was a good compromise.
The hotel is set alone in a residential street. It is quiet and there was never a problem wandering around the back streets even late at night. The big plus is that it is only 10 min walk from the Arena and the central area.
Our room was smallish but quite adequate and the free wifi is very welcome. There is some 'plumbing' noise from other rooms but there is no street noise to contend with. The bathroom has only a sliding door from the bedroom and has only a shower but again this is perfectly adequate with towels changed daily and a good range of toiletries. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the reception staff very helpful. They kept our bags for us on departure day and offered refreshments when we returned later to set off for the airport.
Breakfast was adequate but with only a boil-it-yourself egg as a hot option and coffee from a machine- quite nice actually!
The Armando is a ideal hotel for a short stay in The lovely city of Verona. If we returned we would come out of the peak opera season when prices would more accurately reflect the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwilliam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks on behalf of my staff for the great review, we are pleased to have
found everything to your liking and that you appreciated our small
attentions to make our guests' stay more memorable.
In the hope of still having you as our guest, we remain at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is in a super location in Verona. It is extremely central, yet it is in a quiet street and is not noisy. I was able to walk to the hotel from the train station with my luggage and it took me about 25 mins. I stayed in a single room. The plus sides were it was very clean, had a fridge, tv, air con, etc. The room looked a bit worn in places, and the only full length mirror was on the inside of the wardrobe which would have been fine but it was very awkward to open it and stand in front of it at the same time!! The hotel provides free toiletries such as face cloths and toothpaste in case you have forgotten them or run out of them, and I thought this was a good touch. There was also some commentary in the hotel guide about provide help particularly for women travellers on their own, which I didn't really need, but I found welcome. There is free wi fi which had a good connection. The only thing I did not like about my room was that it really did feel small and a bit like a cell - for that reason it wasn't somewhere I actually wanted to hang around in. However, for 89 Euros a night in the middle of August I really could not complain, and Verona is so beautiful, who wants to hang out in their hotel room very much?!. Breakfast is good - cereals, toast, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, yoghurts, coffee, tea, etc. The front desk are helpful and cheerful. In all, I would recommend this hotel if this is the price range you are looking for as I don't think you will find better, and I would stay at the Armando again. If you want something that feels a bit luxurious, though, then this hotel isn't for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
First of all, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad
you enjoyed our breakfast, our location, our professionalism and that claims
to be able to recommend our hotel to other travelers. We hope to have you in
your next visit to Verona as our guest, and in the meantime follow us on our
site and wen on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Armando for the third time at the end of August 2013 as we were booked into Aida at the Arena. Unfortunately heavy rain led to the cancellation of the performance, so we were given replacement tickets for next year!....when we shall undoubtedly stay at Hotel Armando again.The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk away from the Arena and the main parts of the city. Best to take a taxi to and from the Porto Nuova station...we felt it was just too far to walk - especially in the heat!
The hotel is very nicely presented...quiet...good air-con...comfy beds and pillows....excellent shower...there's a fridge in the room.... and the staff are very helpful...plus the breakfast has noticeably improved from our previous visits.
Altogether a very good hotel...it's pricey in the opera season - but so is every other Verona hotel!!
Ron&Julia
Ross-on-Wye

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Mr & Mrs Ross thank you for choosing our hotel again, this makes us really
happy and satisfied with our work. Sorry about the weather but unfortunately
we can not order it but we are happy that next year when you comes again to
our wonderful festivals to attend the Arena, our hotel will be your first
choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is a 25 minute walk from the train station but less than 10 minutes to the Roman arena. it has a very modern and new interior. My single room was very petite in size but the bed was somewhat larger than most in Europe and comfortable. There were a few hairs left behind in the bathroom (yuck!) but otherwise place was new and clean. Breakfast was fine, about normal for continental Europe. Although my room was next to the elevator, it was perfectly quiet and dark at night so I was able to sleep much better than most European cities. The staff were friendly and even offered me a glass of water when I returned to pick up my bags in the afternoon. If not for the hair and the bit out of the way location (which probably also contributed to the quiet) I would give it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and for your valuable advice are always
welcome and help us to improve even more. We remain at your disposal and in
the meantime follow us on our internet channels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#28 of 79 in Verona
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando
Address: Via Dietro Pallone 1, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Verona
#10 Business Hotel in Verona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished, the hotel provides a peaceful environment in which to rest after a busy day, offering its clients a family atmosphere and modern services, including wireless Internet connection throughout the building, Internet point and bar.The hotel also has rooms accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armando Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing