We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the arena”
Review of Hotel Mastino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mastino
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to see the opera. We took our teenage daughters. At first I was concerned as I didn't know it was next to mcdonalds but this wasn't a problem . We had a free upgrade to a superior room which was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortjan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mastino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Other reviewers have commented on the street noise- our room was right above McDonalds and we didn't hear a thing. Also, complaints about staff attitudes - all queries and issues were dealt with in a friendly, professional and prompt manner. Of course, individual staff can differ but so can guests attitudes!
The hotel was very nicely maintained and rooms and public areas were clean and inviting.
You can't beat the location- a short taxi ride or a brisk walk from the station, supermarket, Arena and lots of restaurants within 5 minutes.
A wide range of food available at breakfast. Staff kept food well stocked.
We had a few personal observations about breakfast which we have communicated directly.
We are older but independent travellers and this hotel ticks all the boxes.stay here when you visit this lovely city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

this otel is very close to arena just 5 minutes walk. and from this point you can start visiting the city. the staff is perfect. the rooms are ok. only thing you must be carefull about the locatıon of the room. when you will make the reservation you better ask for a room with back side view. because the hotel is on a road with heavy traffic and it is very noisy even at night. they have a car parking close to the hotel. daily cost is 18 euro.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nur b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May. Small room but tasteful, exceptionally clean - each day - and spotless en suite. 2nd Floor above MacDonalds didn't worry us - early in the season - but could be a noise problem in evening in high season. Close and convenient for all sights - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryOLeary_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

A friend and I stayed at this lovely hotel in May 14. The location was fabulous, hotel modern and spotlessly clean with very friendly happy staff!

Transfer by shuttle bus from Verona airport to Porta Nuova train station (€6 pp each way - ticket machine at airport, pay on bus on return) followed by a five minute walk down one main street.

The hotel is right on the edge of the pedestrian zone of Verona which is ideal for sight seeing all over Verona.

We were placed in the apartments across the road which made it feel like we were really experiencing Italy with the knowledge that the safety net of a hotel was at hand (less than 100 yards away).

The breakfast was lovely - plenty of choice from savoury bacon, sausage, ham, cheeses to fruit,croissants and even cake!

Reception staff wonderfully helpful and polite and very good with their English. They recommended a couple of excellent typically Italian restaurants too!

We had a slight issue one morning with the toilet water pressure dropping so it didn't flush, reported it by the room phone, a member of staff arrived within 15 minutes to assess and it was fixed by the time we returned.

We took the train to Lake Garda - Desanzano and another day trip to Milan by train.

Desanzano cost around €25 for the both of us return and is 20 minutes away. Wander down the road and take a boat to any of the docks on the lower part of the lake.

We arrived at the station around 10am to go to Milan only to discover the next train was not until 12pm, I would recommend getting there earlier if you wish to make more of your time in Milan. These tickets cost €68 for us both returning at 6.30pm.

If you wish to climb the bell tower in Verona, bear in mind it was only open at 5.45pm - not sure if this is a seasonal thing as we went in May which is a little pre-season.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 21firefly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed at the Mastino for three nights, It's a good basic 3*** hotel in an ideal position to visit the sights of Verona. Room was comfortable, clean but pretty basic. My room had a temperature control on the wall, but it didn't do anything, so would imagine if the weather was hot the room would be extremely stuffy. Bathroom was clean with a good shower. As mentioned elsewhere Wi-Fi is free but you have to keep logging on all the time which becomes very frustrating. Average selection for breakfast, selection of cold meats, cheese etc. Very small bar, holds about 3 people. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a back room, no view but quieter, colleagues who had rooms overlooking the fr...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHappyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel from Friday 16th - Sunday 18th May.

The Hotel itself is ideally loacted within Verona as its within walking distance to all the main attractions. Our room was modern, spacious, and tastefully decorated, as was the bathroom - but most importanly it was very clean - we honestly couldn't fault it. A good variety of food served at breakfast and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

We would love to return to Verona and when we do, we'll definitely be booking Hotel Mastino.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#17 of 77 in Verona
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 77 in Verona
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marco Polo
Hotel Marco Polo
#44 of 77 in Verona
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mastino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mastino

Address: Corso Porta Nuova 16, 37122, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range: $110 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mastino 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Verona, just few steps far from the Arena, reachable by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mastino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mastino Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing