We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short break”
Review of Hotel Mastino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mastino
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came on a short break to hear and see the opera and the Mastino is probably the nearest hotel to the arena and the central piazza. Our welcome was friendly and efficient and we were led to an apartment just across the street, in fact a quieter side street. The room was clean and the beds firm but comfortable. Breakfast was a good continental one. As a three-star hotel the Mastino is fine, certainly better than other three-star hotels we have stayed in in Italy.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank whosaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the main part of the hotel, and enjoyed our stay. Parking was a hassle, but I'm not sure there are any other options so close to the old city. We enjoyed walking through the historic area after dark, and really enjoyed the location. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Our room faced the street, and it took a while to figure out the air conditioner so we could shut the windows. All in all, a good location and very helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our reservervation was for the one bedroom appartment in the extention of the hotel. On arrival, a very unfriendly and in an unpolite manner, the male receptionist, informed us that the appartment iwas located a 10 minutes ride away.Transfer complimentary! If we wanted cleaning during our stay, at an extra charge! Not mentioned on the confirmation! I would call this misleading people. The appartment was spacious and perfect for our needs. Comfortable bv all means. Bathroom spacious and newly refurbished.
On departure they missed our transfer and we nearly missed our train.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 75,010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was greeted by a very beligerent staff member at the front desk - finally a more experienced lady took over and gave us our room assignment. Parking was a few blocks away and not the easiest place to walk in and out of.

We had to wait for a porter to help us take our bags to our room. The young lady was extremely nice and helped to make up for the very beligerent woman at the front desk.

The hotel is in 2 parts and our room was in the annex that was 3 blocks away - requiring the guest to cross the busy main street. Breakfast was in the main part. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. The location was good - walking into the historic district was a nice walk. We felt safe even after dark. Off a busy street, our room was quiet.

Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main part of the hotel. Lugging bags from the main hotel to the annex is a nuisan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LWtravels20590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel has a very good location near major attractions, rooms are average, and the staff was downright rude, as noted by other reviewers. It ruined the whole stay. I advise anyone looking to stay here to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers, the best part of the hotel is its location. That's all. Rooms and hallways look dated.

I stayed in the annex which was relatively quiet. Walked to the VinItaly shuttle bus in 2 min. There's a small minibar in the room.

Wifi costs extra. So bring your wallet.

My double room was €133 during VinItaly, which was a rip off. I stayed in Trento the next day, my room was much nicer and cost half as much.

Tips:
* there's a nice supermercado behind the hotel, so stock up on fresh fruit, water and vino.
* there's a small dry cleaner on the way to the Poste. The latter of which sells Euros at a decent exchange rate.
* my hands down fav restaurant in Verona is "La Catina del 15", about 5 min by foot. Reservation suggested for dinner.
* there's a decent gym Health City about 6 min by foot, costs €16 per day, which is fairly reasonable if you want to shed a few pounds from eating delicious Italian foods.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a9zn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fantastic location just a couple of minutes away from Piazza Bra and the Arena and only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station (which suited our needs as we were travelling to Milan the next day) means that for the price this cant be beaten.

The staff were very friendly, the room and bathroom was very clean and neither of us were awoken by any noises from the street or hotel. Breakfast was standard, not the best we have had but not the worst and if you are planning a short break in the city this would meet your needs.

Did have to pay for wifi though, but at 3 euro for 24 hours this wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FulciFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marco Polo
Hotel Marco Polo
#44 of 77 in Verona
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#11 of 77 in Verona
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mastino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mastino

Address: Corso Porta Nuova 16, 37122, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range: $91 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mastino 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Verona, just few steps far from the Arena, reachable by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mastino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mastino Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing