We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, and so friendly”
Review of Hotel Torcolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torcolo
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location, and so friendly”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We wanted a hotel close to the centre of Verona, and came upon the Hotel Torcolo, which had generally good reviews and was relatively inexpensive. This turned out to be the perfect choice for us, about 50 metres from Piazza Bra and the arena. Before we even arrived, the Hotel turned up trumps, as the booking site we used showed no double rooms available, so we booked a treble room, and asked for a double bed. An immediate email response asked if we wanted a double room, and assured us that although we would arrive late there would be someone there to greet us. This turned out to be very true, and for the whole of our four day stay they could not do enough for us, telling us about a free concert on the Sunday as we e preparing to go out for the day. This was an added bonus to our stay, and added to our enjoyment.
Everyone on the staff was very friendly and the receptionist even came out to the taxi to say goodbye when we left.
One piece of advice for visitors during the Verona festival is to ask for an upper room or one at the back, as they serve meals outside in the courtyard after the opera performances, until around 3am. Having said this, we had a front room on the first floor, and the "white noise" of the air conditioning was enough to drown the noise of the diners. In response to one review regarding a lack of air conditioning, we were there during record high temperatures in Verona, and the room temperature was kept very cool and comfortable.
Would we return? If we go back to Verona, definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    200
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
242
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights. Very clean, nice rooms. Great location near the arena. Very nice breakfast. When I asked about the ac, I was told that it would be turned on later in the evening, however, it was never turned on and the room was stifling during the night. The next day, I came back to the room to freshen up after a hot morning of sightseeing and the room was unbearable. I inquired again about ac and was told it would be turned on 'later'. It was finally turned on that evening. My room was on the same floor as the kitchen where the staff was bustling about prior to 7am as they prepared breakfast. Impossible to sleep late. This was the most expensive place I stayed during my recent two weeks in Italy, and by far the worst place to get a good night's sleep. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so precious...the two older ladies that work the desk in the mornings are sooooooo cute! The rest of the staff is super helpful as well. The hotel is clean, the air conditioning works great! The location could not be any better for being in the heart of Verona....I visited for the opera and was able to walk to the amphitheater in a slow 3 minute stroll! Will definitely stay again if visiting Verona!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I made this reservation after reading reviews on TA. A good choice! I was traveling solo and was very pleased with the comfort of my room. The AC works great (it was very very hot while I was in Verona), breakfast on the front terrace was charming. I shared my table with a little bird who kept looking for crumbs. The decor is simple, the bathroom a bit dated, but clean. Caterina, working the front desk during the day, is simply wonderful! She helped me plan my day and make arrangements for an opera ticket. She even lent me a book to read up on the story of the opera so I could enjoy it more. The service from all of the staff was very good. Perfect location, near Piazza Bra and the Arena, but just far enough away to be quiet. This is not a fancy hotel, but you will be content and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereToNext5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

small hotel right in the center of verona and so close to the arena ! owned and run by a classy italian lady , sylvia ! such a nice place ! old furniture but fully equipped with evey amenity needed !bfast is served on the terrace outside !if u expect flashy modernity forget it ! enjoy it just like i did !the restaurant on the ground floor is gorgeous and well known by opera singers ! so u might be lucky enough to meet the international world known opera stars !
the frenchy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t2803h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I with another couple stayed at Hotel Torcolo in beautiful Verona, Italy for three days. An old friend who travels yearly to Italy recommended it and she was absolutely right!

Ambience: Hotel Torcolo is a family owned hotel located just two short blocks from the famous Verona Arena and adjacent to the Piazza Bra. This is an older but well maintained hotel with an excellent Italian restaurant and bar just steps away. Torcolo also has its own small restaurant with good food as well. The hotels has stairs and a small elevator. No real view, but that didn't matter because the views are only steps away outside.Hotel is centrally located to all the sites and the on-off bus near the front city gates.

Rooms were of decent size for Europe. Beds were comfortable. Baths decently appointed and Internet was available, albeit a bit temperamental from time to time. We did get good Internet outside on the dining patio which was fine.

Service: Exceptional from the owner Aria to the front desk staff. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Our first day was somewhat stressful due to bad weather getting into town but the desk clerk fixed us all up with a complimentary glass of wine. They immediately made friends for life. Now THAT's a class act. Bravo! Staff was also very helpful to provide information and directions to attractions including the Opening Night at Opera. Mama Mia!

Tip: I highly suggest this gem of a hotel if you are traveling to Verona, our favorite city in Italia.
Alurra, Multo grazie Aria Condizionata e tutti!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRon1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We found this hotel to be perfect for us. It is central to the city, with very nice rooms, bathrooms, class, and breakfasts. High value also. We are a family of 3, Mom and 2 college students. This location allowed us to go in all directions for sigh seeing, plus it is so near the Colosseum and also walkable to/from the train station. Perfect value and wonderful staff and owner. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a view out over the front of the hotel, and liked it. No street noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#27 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#49 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#25 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torcolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torcolo

Property: Hotel Torcolo
Address: Vicolo Listone 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Torcolo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torcolo, traditional family hotel, is located in the historic center of Verona, a few steps from the "Arena" the Roman amphitheater, home to summer opera festival and from the balcony of Juliet .The hotel has a lift and 24 hour Front Desk and GarageAll our rooms are: non smoking, with private facilities en suite with shower and hair-dryer; all rooms are with TV with CNN and BBC news, direct telephone, air conditioning /heating, fridge with safe and Wi-fi connection.The owners, Silvia and Diana, and the staff Caterina and Riccardo will be happy to welcome and provide you with all the information you may need to sightsee the town.Feel free to ask them to book restaurant, opera tickets, visit in a museum or provide you information and timetable of trains and buses to reach the neighborhoods.In this gracious Hotel in Verona, you will be greeted by the friendly and professional service to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Torcolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torcolo Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing