We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay turned out GREAT after a rocky start”
Review of La Grotta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Grotta Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our group of three couples had reservations for one night at La Grotta, as we made our way from Venice to Lake Como. We had reserved in April for the stay in late September and no credit card was required to reserve. Prior to leaving the US, I emailed the hotel to re-confirm our reservation two or three times and each time there was an automated reply stating that someone from the hotel would contact me soon. No one ever did contact me. Meanwhile, another person on Trip Advisor posted that he also was getting no response to his request to reconfirm. Panic was beginning to take over as the night of our stay was a very busy one in Verona, with a trade fair and an opera on ice. In other words, it would be very difficult, if not impossible, to find three rooms for our group.

While in Venice I contacted the hotel via telephone and spoke to Sylvia who was very pleasant and very helpful. She reassured me that she had three rooms for us, although they would be at a second property which was about 3 km away from the main property. She said the second property was newer and more modern than La Grotta. I was relieved we had rooms, but was still a little concerned.

By the time we arrived at the hotel, Sylvia was able to accommodate us in the property we had originally booked and we were VERY pleased with the stay.The rooms were spacious, modern, very comfortable and quiet. The modern bathroom was the largest of all in our 9 hotels during our trip. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of cereals, breads, yogurt, eggs and a great cup of cappuccino. There was a strawberry cheese breakfast torte that I talked about for days! We chose to sit outside on the patio although the inside area was very nice as well.

We drove into Verona for dinner at the Torcolo Hotel Restaurant and to explore the old town, parking in a large garage near the city center. Leaving Verona on our way to Lake Como, we stopped at Desenzano en Garda and took a ferry to spend some time in Sirmione, a lovely seaside town.

Sylvia and her brother Nicola were very helpful in giving directions to drive to town and directions to Desenzano. They both speak very good English and Sylvia's calm, patient manner in reassuring me prior to our stay via telephone was much appreciated. She instilled confidence when I was feeling a bit concerned.

I would recommend La Grotta if you prefer to stay outside the city center or if no accommodations in the city are available. The hotel provides good value for modern, comfortable rooms. The service rating was affected by the lack of response to emails but balanced by the excellent service afterwards.

Room Tip: The three rooms we had were spacious and quiet and each was located facing a different direction. No...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for La Grotta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 418 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a very basic hotel. Nothing fancy here. The room was very clean. Great value. It is a little ways out of the city. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good. It is very convenient to Lake Garda. Free internet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDR_ORION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stay at La Grotta for one night. Very friendly staff, nice room with free mini bar that had water and software drinks. The hotel is not in the city center but a quick bus drive or taxi. The breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariposa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

In April I booked a room for a night in late September and received an email reservation confirmation. The hotel does not have online booking. The rate of Euro 80 I was quoted was very reasonable because there is a large convention in Verona at the time of our arrival. The hotel did not want a credit card number to hold the reservation, which was surprising. At the beginning of September I sent the hotel over 6 emails and a fax requesting that they reconfirm my reservation by email. They have not replied at all. I can only conclude that someone at the hotel made a mistake and that the hotel is refusing to honor my reservation.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The la grotta hotel is a nice decorated hotel, if you don't have a car it will be quite difficult since center is pretty far away, however if you have a car, the value for money is great.
Classic hotel for one nighters who proceed to Lake garda.
Breakfast was average

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oranimamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thought the hotel was very good. Reception, rooms, wifi, breakfast etc were all excellent. Nice outside spaces for breakfast and having an evening drink. Rooms were nicely furnished, including minibar and the bathrooms large and very clean. Parking was plentiful. The only downside is the distance from town. It is a 15-16 euro cab ride so if you are doing that three or four times a day it can get very expensive. No complaints but I would try and find a more centrally located hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rharrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is not a typical bland large-chain hotel. It is modern, well-equipped and comfortable, and it has a bit more character than most.

Pros:
- Easy to reach from the motorway
- Modern, stylishly-decorated room
- Friendly staff
- Nice outdoor areas to relax
- Free soft drinks from the minibar!

Neutral:
- Breakfast was fine, but nothing special

Cons:
- Wi-fi seemed a bit flakey during our stay
- No obvious way to get into central Verona on public transport
- Not a lot of dining options nearby
- Small-ish room
- Slight lack of attention in the room preparation (there was a hand-towel on the headboard of the bed when we arrived)

The cons are all minor and I would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to people with their own cars/bikes.

p.s. I think we unwittingly got caught (on automatic camera) driving in central Verona's limited traffic zone (ZTL) so I fear we are going to be getting a fine in the post from the Italian police - do your research before you drive in/around any Italian town!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr1sG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
6.0 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#20 of 77 in Verona
493 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#22 of 77 in Verona
625 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#27 of 77 in Verona
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#30 of 77 in Verona
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#45 of 77 in Verona
1,431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta Hotel

Address: Strada Bresciana 16, 37139, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: $94 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Grotta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Grotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing