We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for what we needed!”
Review of La Grotta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Grotta Hotel
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I can only confirm : excellent price/quality. We wanted to go to the Arena but without spending a fortune. This place was in a great position, not far from the motorway, not far from the centre. Very well kept, very professional and friendly staff, clean, very good breakfast, good parking. More than your money's worth!

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong, all though some also had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    128
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
228
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

In Verona for one night at the opera and chose La Grotta as it offered great value compared with much more expensive hotels where we have stayed before. And we weren't disappointed - it's a gem! Delightful staff - the receptionist spoke excellent English and was unfailingly helpful. The hotel looks as if it has only just been redecorated (in wonderfully flamboyant style as only the Italians know how). The bathroom was equipped with everything you might expect from a 4-star establishment - La Grotta is rated 3-star - and breakfast was excellent. Oh, and the mini bar in our room was stocked with water and soft drinks free of charge. If you fancy breakfast al fresco, there's a lovely sunny patio adjoining the dining room. The hotel is about a ten-minute drive from the historic centre of Verona but the bus service is very good and a number 33 bus will take you to the city centre from a stop about 400 metres from the hotel. If you are going to the opera - which finishes well after midnight, a taxi back is about 14 euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Two nights with two rooms (teenagers included). Super nice staff and nice rooms and bathrooms. Easy parking and quick, easy access to Verona, Venice and Milan. Breakfast was very nice. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and were happy with every aspect of this hotel. It was close enough to town. Very clean and nicely decorated. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLP2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Though the weather partially ruined the trip, but the stay at this nice hotel was a gem.
Checked-in earlier than scheduled, the staff informed that the room was already done.
Very nice sized double room (few drinks in the mini-bar offered for free), clean and with a neat balcony, which we couldn't use due to the pounding rain...
Excellent breakfast with a wide choice of fresh cakes.
Staff was friendly and helpful when engaged.
Worth every euro spent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enomis2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalban (Switzerland)
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed four nights at La Grotta when visiting Northern Italy and were delighted by this choice. It is located at the West of Verona, some 6-7 kilometers away from the famous Arena, along one of the main access roads to the old town. Speed is however limited in the hotel area and the traffic noise was low, including at night.

The hotel is rather small. As underscored by a number of reviewers, it has been recently renovated and makes use of solar energy. Decoration is pleasant, modern and includes nice pictures of Audrey Hepburn and Marilyn Monroe. Breakfast was included in the room rate. Food was excellent and generous. Staff was nice, helpful and provided personalized service. Our room was absolutely clean and well equipped, including a minibar with free non-alcoholic drinks, free and functioning wifi (I encountered no connection difficulty in opposite to previous reviewers), quiet air conditioning and plenty of amenities and towels in the rather large bathroom. Free and safe parking was available in front of the hotel.

We used La Grotta as a starting point for exploring Verona. There are several well-indicated, large and apparently safe underground parkings within the city. The hourly parking rate was €2 (May 2013). Taxi from hotel to downtown was around €15. We also went to Venice by train, which proved faster and probably cheaper than using our own car. The travel took a little over an hour with the fast, comfortable and reasonably inexpensive Frecciabianca ("white arrow"): € 46 per person, for both ways. First class is € 69 p.p. We parked the car at the Verona Porta Nuova railway station at the daily rate of €7. At the railway station, vending machines provide detailed and clear instructions for buying tickets not only in Italian but also in English, French and German. We also drove to Mantua, a pleasant and quiet town some 45 km away from Verona and visited there several gorgeous palaces. Mantua is worth a day visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

although a little out of town (10 minutes to the center) but this hotel is very comfortable, the bathroom and its room is very clean, the their employees were very helpful, they have a very wide parking page....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
6.1 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#20 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Elefante
Park Hotel Elefante
#36 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novo Hotel Rossi
Novo Hotel Rossi
#14 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#26 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta Hotel

Property: La Grotta Hotel
Address: Strada Bresciana 16, 37139, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Grotta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Grotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing