We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor and very clean. Superb coffee and nice breakfast.”
Review of La Grotta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Grotta Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff are very friendly and eager to help. The room was very hot on arrival and we enquired about the air conditioning. As is usual in Europe at the change of season, you either get heat or cooling, not both. Unfortunately the A/C system was set to heat only so the room was uncomfortably hot. With the windows open (very noisy) we eventually got a bearable room temperature ( and a few bugs). This is not a criticism of this particular Hotel because I know this is standard for Europe, but it is ridiculous! You should be able to heat or cool your room as desired based on the temperature, not a date on the calendar!!!!
The guy on the desk was apologetic and understanding. An alternative room he showed us was very small so we elected to stay put.
Another possible consideration at the moment could be noise. They are extending at the moment and right next door is a construction site. It was quiet on the weekend when we stayed, but worth considering.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small. All in all a very nice place to stay though.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TestBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for La Grotta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 418 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel is about 5 minutes away from the downtown area, so if you want a hotel that you can just walk out of your room and be in the heart of things, it might not be for you. We thought it was better to avoid the steep parking rates the in town hotels charge but still be close. This was perfect. The staff was very helpful, the hotel was modern and clean, breakfast was great, and we were very impressed. You MUST drive a few kilometers and have dinner at La Bossana. Ask the front desk for directions. They recommended it to us, and it was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank markwW8809MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a great hotel!! We arrived at night and the desk receptionist was very kind. Our room was beautiful and the mini bar was free (not much, it had 3 sodas and 3 bottles of water). The breakfast was superb!! Simply the best included breakfast i ever had while traveling through Europe.

The only "bad" thing about the hotel is that it's a bit far away from downtown, but that can be solved by a taxi or using the bus which has a bus stop like 200 meters away.

It really is a bargain for 80 Euros. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I spent two nights in the hotel La Grotta on Oct 2011. The room is great, very clean, spacious, with the safebox and with a good furniture; wi-fi is included and the mini bar too (Coke, Water, Sprite)! The breakfast is great too, with everything you can imagine. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only "negative" thing is that the hotel is 5km outside the city centre so you need to take the car to go there but all the other very positive things in addition to a great quality/price ratio (60€/night for a double room single occupancy all inclued) count more than this last one so...5 stars for La Grotta!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trioev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is very good. It's better than any other hotel of this category in Milan or Rome. I must mention that it's the best hotel we've stayed in Italy.
Firstly, the hotel is in a good state. It seems to me that it's new, modern and comfortable. The room and its bathroom are quite big and nice. Travelling around the world has proved us the necessity of having a comfortable bed in the room. So, the bed was absolutely perfect!
Secondly, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The two men who change each other are especially good. We liked them very much. One of them even made us an omelette in the morning. But the next day the woman who was servicing breakfast refused to cook it. So, the breakfast wasn't perfect but it was quite good, very good for Italy. Choice of baking, cottage cheese, different fruits and muesli. The staff make coffee or cappuccino if you want. But it would be better if they'll be offering hot dishes too, at least an omelette or pancakes.
In addition, I recommend you to stay there if you're travelling by car. It takes 5 minutes to get to Verona. Ask the staff about free car park in Verona. It's situated in 7-minutes drive from the hotel - very convenient. And it takes only 10 minutes to get to the city centre from the parking. The hotel has its own free car park.
In conclusion, I'm sure that we'll choose this nice hotel next time. We loved it and would like to thank the staff for their help and attention. We have tremendous impression of our staying in La Grotta Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is just the best hotel we have stayed in to date.

Beautiful decor, great rooms, excellent service plus complimentary mini bar, wifi, parking and the best breakfast ever.

all for a bargain price of only €80.00. OUTSTANDING !

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

What a lovely little hotel. Great position 5km from the city centre and an easy drive. The hotel has good parking on the premises.
We loved this place and it made our holiday. The breakfast was continental style and superbly fresh. Coffe was a bit weak but they would have used the expresso thingy If I´d asked. The room worked perfectly and we slept well. Housekeeping was excellent and unobtrusive.
The best thing was that nothing was too much trouble. The gentleman on duty was so helful. I can only think he was the owner, but not sure. We´ll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inglespareja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
6.0 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#20 of 77 in Verona
494 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#22 of 77 in Verona
626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#27 of 77 in Verona
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#30 of 77 in Verona
674 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#45 of 77 in Verona
1,432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grotta Hotel

Address: Strada Bresciana 16, 37139, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: $94 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Grotta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Grotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing