We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montresor Hotel Palace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Colomba d'Oro(Verona)
$218
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$173
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$412
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$288
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$202
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$202
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
255
449
120
28
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
449
120
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelnumber busroom was largemini barlake gardapowerful showermins walk awayquality hotelpiazza brahotel is locatedthe hotel offerspleasant walkminutes by carparking garagetrain stationpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 864 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to arrive when our taxi driver told us our hotel was very famous. From there, things were just disappointing. Our top floor room was clean, but we had a view of cluttered balconies and not much else. The bathroom was moldy and had much water damage, and neither the sink nor the shower drained well, leaving you standing in a (teeny tiny) slimy shower. It was hard to feel clean! Also, the bed was rock hard... Picture a yoga mat on the sidewalk. The pillows were the thinnest I've ever used, no thicker than three inches fluffed up. Put your head on it and you may as well used your socks instead of the pillow.

After a terrible night tossing and turning, at 8am we are awoken by what sounds like sledge hammers breaking apart furniture in the room beside us. Then we realized it was actually coming from above us. For over an hour, it sounded like four men dropping fridges directly above us.

We phone the front desk and the noise went away.

The staff were appoligetic explaining the AC unit was being fixed, but something wasn't right about that. Regardless, we were offered a bottle of wine, which we declined, and instead were comped our visitors tax (€6).

I can't say for certain that the neighborhood was bad, but I would not want to walk the neighborhood at night. There were more than one oddball walking around during the day.

I would not stay here again, I would reccomend staying closer to the coliseum.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontresorHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montresor Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

we understand your stay was under your expections and we apologize for that.

As the reception manager explained to you at check out, we had big problems with the air contidioned system and we had to repair it as soon as we could. That caused the noise that you heard and that, after your call in the reception, stopped. Offering a bottle of wine, even though it would have been not enough, was a way to say we were sorry.

Then, regarding your complain about the view from your room, unfortunately you can not see the ocean from your window, because the hotel is in a quite residential area and what we have around are buildings. This is why you do not see pics with exciting views from the rooms.
As far as concerning problems in the bathroom, you did not report any trouble when you were spending your two nights in the hotel. We believe we could face the problem and may be solving if we knew before. You also complain about the mattress and the pillows and we are sorry but even in this case, if one pillow is not enough, you could ask a second, a third a fourth pillow, but if reception does not know about, how could they let you feel better?.
As far as concerning the bed we respect your opinion as all the others which are a bit more positive than yours.

You are talking about the neighborhood that was scaring you in a certain way. We can assure you that, statistically, Verona is a quite not dangerous town and we did not experience any trouble during, at least, the last ten years. Then, obviously you can be scared of everything or not.

Last but not least, we have enjoied in a certain way your review, even though it is our opinion you dedicated more time in writing a very funny review than enjoing your time in our town, which is beautiful and where there is no "Colosseum". In fact in Verona the name of the Roman amphitheater is Arena, just for your files.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located close to Corso Milano you can take one bus , line 11 from the train station and it stops right in front of the
hotel. The room and bathroom are big and the third bed (it was a room for 3 adults) is the same as the other two. So
no complaints on this regard.
Free wifi works fine in the hotel.
There is a mini fridge and hair dryer and the AC works smoothly. You can ask for a map or ask the receptionist who
will politely mark the spots to see at Verona. From the hotel you walk to the Basilica of San Zeno (6 euro to enter
the 4 churches), from there you walk to castelvechio and the bridge and from there Verona and the center of the town.
I found half a day enough to do the city. From the hotel nearby at Corso Milano you can take two buses from different
companies to Lake Garda and enjoy Sermione. The cheaper one takes you to Sermione for 2.90 and the other from ATV
are slightly more expensive but take you to different spots.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noimporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Montresor Place Hotel. The staff were polite, very helpful eith good english language skills. They helped us with booking trips and guidance about the area and how to get to places. Rooms were clean and comfortable with big bed. Breakfast was really good but it did cost 10 EUR. 20 mins walk to city centre. Very nice, relaxing stay. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel theme is outdated - looks like something out of a Soviet Union era. Rooms were spacious enough though for a family of 4 for a single night stay. Breakfast was tasteless and very little selection. Wi-Fi works fine.

Room Tip: As a one night stay it is fine.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawry-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Business hotel at about twenty minutes walk to centre. public transport outside hotel.very helpful and friendly front desk staff.spacious and spotless rooms.added bonus,free two ways transport to opera. will help to enquire in advance.shame that nobody seemed to tip the driver on our minibus.Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews