We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of San Marco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Marco Hotel
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

During my visit to Italy, the Best one experience at San Marco Verona. It is good value to Money as economical and comfortable. Little far from central however quiet and comfortable place to stay. Staff at Reception and Resturant for Breakfast was very much friendly. Large Buffet Breakfast however routine is boring. Room as well enough large and nicely furnished. Very happy to stay there and would like to repeat next time as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mian_Imran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    321
    163
    49
    24
See reviews for
86
407
19
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Florian, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Surprizingly one of the best 4 star hotels we've ever stayed at. I don't understand the negative reviews, we found nothing to criticize. Location far better than in the center, secure under
ground parking, quiet residential location, friendly staff, excellent food, large, clean and nicely furnished rooms.
Quite frankly, I don't know how they make a profit, with all you get for the price. The spa, gym and pool are included. Our bedsheets were changed daily as well as the towels. Dining is on clean tablecloth at every meal with linen napkins. Breakfast and dinner are each 3 hours long. First quality ingredients always. I looked for the shortcuts, there weren't any. The breakfast staff will make cappuccino for you for the asking. Wine, bottled water and soft drinks were included with our meal package, and they were generous with refills at no charge. 3 course dinner menu plus salad and vegetable buffet. You get a choice from 5 catagories. Our dinner on Sunday was Filet Mignon. Monday (New Years Eve) included Soave Brut as well as Valpolicella Superiore. Everything was cooked to order, not reheated, so be patient, every course takes time, but worth the wait. Kudos!
Will stay here on the next visit to Guardasee, since it's only 15 km to the south shore.
Number 11 bus stops outside the hotel entrance, 10 meters to your left. It's free with the Verona City Card. Catch other buses are around the corner on the main thoroughfare.

Room Tip: Standard room here is better than deluxe room in most 4 star hotels. We faced the garden side, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best hotels when it comes to friendly helpful staff- the reception staff were always cheery, the restaurant well, we barely made it in time for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised with how helpful the staff were- offering fresh scrambled eggs.

Our only gripe would be the location. It says central but in reality is 2km from Pz Bre

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazHanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanmarcoverona, Proprietario at San Marco Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really can not manage all the mini-web-sites of resellers and I do not know if somewheare they declare we are centrally located. We are 2 km far from Piazza Brà (Arena) and many time in my answer I declare it. We are in the Maps Age, so I believe it is not so difficult to understand where the hotel is located, just check it before booking and please advise where (giving web address...) you find misleading informations, we will provide to close our participation. We have contracts with wholesellers and many times small resellers (not advising us) create descriptions on criteria we do not agree. The consideration about how many metres from a general point of interest divide locations in centrally located or not is personal, but it is important to declare correct distance.
Kind Regards
Maurizio Ghelli Santuliana, hotel manager, musician and luthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Pros - Its a clean hotel, not bad area, 30min walk into the main area (may not be good in the summer), buffet breakfast is Ok (same every day, scrambled eggs, cold meats, tea/coffee, cakes etc..)

Cons - Staff are Ok, they don't give you good directions for example when we asked where the bus to town was, we were told turn right out of the hotel and its there - what they meant is, turn right then after a few meters its on the left on the opposite side of the road (nice to be told) as we kept walking after we turned right looking for the bus!!!

WARNING - The Swimming pool & Spa are only available from the morning until 2pm for hotel paying guests, after 2pm you have to pay 15euros per person so for my family of four 60euros per day ... not cheap !!!! This is the time you would most likely to use the spa, after a hard day walking and sightseeing ......No-one told us this before booking.

Don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy1993RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanmarcoverona, Proprietario at San Marco Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. As the general comment is good, I will answer on the question about Spa services. We have to stay on a market getting cheaper and cheaper in which competitors are offering prices sometimes room only (no breakfast included) to be reached when you click and find accomodation on line. We have many inclusive services like free breakfast (every day the same, I can not understand the problem there is a good choice.....) free internet connection, free use of the outdoor pool (the only one in the town) and free access to indoor pool and fitness. SPA services have a very hard energetic cost, competitors cannot generally offer the service or they also ask for a supplement. On the hotel official web site (have a look) the supplement is clarely marked and we also have offers including SPA services. We can not manage all the resellers web site information but I am sure nowhere is writed "free SPA services". On your confirmation you had "bed and breakfast". If you book directly we will tell you the included services and supplements, I asked to famous on line booking companies to sell a package with SPA services and the answer was "we only sell basic services, supplements on spot". I really can not understand why, after choosing the hotel on the web, people do not contact hotels directly and possibly book directly; we pay hard commissions (15% min up to 40%!!!!) and if you book directly and ask for the services you are interested, many times you will have them in a package more interesting both for you and for us.....Let me say, to close, the bus stop to the center is 54 human steps far from the door and many times my staff go out of the door, when possible, to indicat it, under the only 3 trees out of the door!
Maurizio Ghelli Santuliana, hotel manager musician and luthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the San Marco after reading various reviews on Trip Advisor. We wanted to stay within walking distance of the City and have the luxury of a pool to swim in. As I was travelling with my grown up kids (20 & 18) we needed two rooms so also were on a bit of a tight budget. In view of our requirements the San Marco was very good for us. We had rented a car as we wanted tot travel to Venice for the day and whilst the underground car park was 9 Euros a day we were able to park it on the front hard standing of the hotel for no charge. There is also a newly imposed Verona tax of 2 Euros per person per day.

The bedrooms were of a good size and pretty well appointed. The fact that there were no English channels on the TV was a bit boring but that meant we read books instead. The internet connection was boosted on every floor and this meant an excellent signal at no charge - perfect. On arrival we all wanted an extra pillow and this was delivered quickly and without fuss. The beds whilst large were a bit on the firm side. The bathrooms were a little tired in appearance but the shower was excellent with body jets included.

We used the pool 2 or 3 times which was very pleasant. There are sunloungers and tables by the pool but watch out for the mossies and the 2 Euro pool towel charge! We didn't use the Spa as there was an additional charge of 15 Euros per person.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was substantial and varied although the only hot item was the scrambled eggs which were not brilliantly cooked. The walk into town is a bit of a slog (probably half an hour) although it is worth doing at least once as it helps you get your bearings. The hotel is a little dated and some of the interior design is interesting to say the least but it is good value and provides a good base for exploring the City.

If you are here for as long as we were it might be worth considering bicycles (they have publicly provided bikes in Verona which are very good value and can be picked up and left at different places) or finding out more about the bus times - we did neither and ended up walking a very long way! On our day trip to Venice we followed advice to park at the Long stay Marco Polo airport car park and whilst the car park itself was brilliantly situated and a good price (6.50 Euros) the public Vaporetti to Venice was 127 Euros return for 4 of us which I thought was very expensive! Maybe consider driving to the Car Park near the rail terminus.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobvCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The San Marco hotel took us in at the last min through tourist information in Verona as our apartment was not fit to stay in.

The staff were a delight and very accomodating for ourselves and two teenage children. Clean bedrooms and bathrooms with excellent cleaning staff who were particulary helpful with the children who were in a separate room!

A tasty substantial breakfast in a light airy room. The lounges were comfortable, and we were free to sit here and play games and read without any requirements from staff to buy food or drinks constantly.

Frequent local bus service into Verona right outside the door.
Thanks to everyone at the hotel who saved our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretspps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a beautiful surprise 3 day break for my birthday, I did not know where we were going until 1Hour before the plane left. We arrived at the hotel at around 10.30. We used the hotels underground car park which was very secure. The porter informed us that the restaurant was closed (understandably as it was now 11.pm) but offered to order a takeaway Pizza for us which arrived 10minutes later. He supplied us with drinks hot and cold and was extremely courteous and helpful. The following day we caught the bus outside the hotel (1euro 20 )into Verona and walked around this beautiful city. In the evening we caught the shuttle bus into Veona to the Opera at the Arena, it was magical. We had a wonderful time and I would (and already have) reccomend this hotel to friends and family.Very Clean and lovely beds.

Room Tip: Room 301 was a lovely quite large room. Very clean lovely beds. Not near the lifts and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.4 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#29 of 79 in Verona
790 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Verona - Fiera
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#27 of 79 in Verona
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#24 of 79 in Verona
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel Elefante
Park Hotel Elefante
#35 of 79 in Verona
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel

Property: San Marco Hotel
Address: Via Baldassare Longhena 42, 37138, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Verona
#17 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4-story Hotel with framed glass front, built as an extension to a small old villa, located near city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your San Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing