We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position but...”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent position but...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is in a very good position, the breakfast is excellent as was the breakfast waiter. However , the receptionist whilst efficient was curt and not that friendly. We were an hour earlier than check in time, no drink or anything offered. Strong push to use their €24 per night parking despite free parking advertised on web. Dinner was poor and the superior room, whilst spacious, was functional rather than cossetting. But quiet. I would go again and hope it was an off day. Cafe next door v good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    534
    78
    9
    4
See reviews for
268
919
106
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stenhousemuir, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights from 7th June and had a great time. We pre booked an airport pick up from the hotel for €40 which was worth every penny, the friendly driver was there waiting for us and after 15 minutes in a beautiful Mercedes we wear at the hotel. Check in was very friendly and we got the bonus of an upgrade to room 306 (Maria Callas suite) which was spectacular and atmospheric. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in and the bathrobes and slippers were great to sit in after a shower or sitting with a drink before going to bed.

The public areas were all in keeping with what is a classic old city hotel and felt just right even with some modern touches. Free Prosecco and snacks were available each day between 1 and 5 PM and were in the library lounge which was full of great books about the area.

Breakfast was continental style and was one of the best versions of this I've seen and included Prosecco just in case you didn't get enough the night before!!

The weather was fabulous when we were there and it was brilliant to come back to our air conditioned suite to calm down for a wee while before heading back out. Location of the hotel was absolutely perfect, no more than 10 minutes walk to anywhere in the historic centre.

I'm sure we will be back to Verona and one of the main reasons would be to stay at this hotel again, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Would definitely ask for room 306 again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great central location, easy walking distance to everything - brief cab ride from train station (10 to 12 euros) - but the hotel itself is the star. Hard to imagine anyone not liking this elegant hotel. The staff was wonderful. Relax a bit with happy 'hour' every day in a beautiful library with free spirits from 1p-5p. The rooms are lovely - if you can get one on the first floor, you'll have access to a courtyard. This one's a sure thing. We already want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Verona, this hotel answered all my needs! The room was well appointed, very clean and quiet. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Dinner in the hotel's dining room was excellent, this night also featured a pre-opera buffet which was perfect for me. The included breakfast was very sumptuous with eggs, meats, cheeses and fresh fruits and vegetables, fresh breads and rolls. Coffee superb and the service impeccable!
No doubt about staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here recently for three nights. The hotel is ideally situated, right in the historic centre of Verona. The public rooms are elegantly furnished and my bedroom was well appointed (although the squeezee bottle of shower gel attached to the bathroom wall seemed out-of-place in a hotel of this kind...). The staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was very much as expected - a range of cereals, cold meats and cheese, pastries, etc., although the range of hot food was disappointing (also as expected). The pre-opera buffet dinner was very good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anorakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is housed in an elegant 15th century building in the heart of historical Verona;the Accademia looks onto the Via Mazzini,the pedestrian shopping street in the heart of Verona.The public rooms are tastefully decorated antique pieces and tapestries giving a luxurious feel to the hotelThe hotel bedrooms are large and very well appointed,with the beds being large and very comfortable.The bathroom was enormous and again well equipped.Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in all bedrooms.The absolutely superb and varied breakfast is also worth mentioning.All the staff were wonderful and always smiling,even waiting up for me to return from the Opera in the early hours of the morning.The main selling point of the hotel is its prime position in the heart of historic Verona,close to the shops and all the historic sites.It is just a few steps away from juliets house with its famous balcony,and also the famous roman arena,venue for the famous open air opera festival in the summer months.A truly wonderful hotel for a short break or special occassion in romantic Verona.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room overlooking the via mazzini,as this street is closed to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Slight aura of faded glories about the hotel. Far from shabby but needs sparking up. The single room was fairly basic with a view on to a rather decrepit area although it did have 2 televisions!! It was also a long way from the lift with 2 flights of stairs so let the porter take your luggage ( I said I didn't need one). Having said that, it is very comfortable, there is an enormous selection at breakfast, drink and cakes available all day and staff were very pleasant. The main thing this hotel has going for it is the location, bang in the centre, everywhere is within walking distance which is great when you need to get back from the opera which finished at 1.00am

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#15 of 79 in Verona
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Property: Accademia Hotel
Address: Via Scala 12, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia si trova nel centro storico della citta di Verona, tra la Piazza Bra con l'Arena, che nel periodo estivo diventa capitale della lirica e la Piazza delle Erbe con la casa ed il balcone di Giulietta, famosa in tutto il mondo per l'opera di Shakespeare. Facilmente raggiungibili anche tutte le mete del divertimento posizionate nel vicino Lago di Garda.L'albergo e dotato di 94 camere, 6 sale riunioni, american bar e servizio di video sorveglianza interna. Il confort, l'atmosfera, l'efficienza del servizio accolgono nel modo migliore il cliente d'affari ed il turista piu esigente. Pur essendo l'albergo situato nel cuore della citta in zona a traffico limitato, l'accesso ai veicoli dei nostri ospiti ed a quelli degli accompagnatori e consentito senza alcuna limitazione di orario, attraverso semplice comunicazione del numero di targa della vettura al nostro personale di Ricevimento al momento dell'arrivo. Il nostro garage privato si trova a cento metri dall'hotel.The Accademia Hotel is in the center of Verona. Well placed on the via Mazzini, the hotel is in the heart of the exclusive shopping area of Verona, conveniently positioned between the Bra Square and the Arena. Nearby is the Erbe Square and Giulietta's House with its legendary balcony. The hotel has 94 bedrooms, 6 conference rooms, American bar, and internal video surveillance service. Our management takes pride in the comfort, atmosphere and efficiency of service offered to all guests, whether in Verona for business or pleasure. Although the hotel is situated in the heart of town inside the limited traffic area, access to vehicles of our guests and to those of accompanying persons is allowed without any limitation of time, through simple communication of the car plate number to our Reception staff on arrival. Our private garage is located a hundred meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing