We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Before the opera treat yourself to an excellent restaurant close by”

Ristorante Mariacallas
Ranked #315 of 1,169 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $39 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Before the opera treat yourself to an excellent restaurant close by”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant whilst looking for an out of the way place before the opera. Given the touristy nature of the Arena surroundings we were not expecting too much but were very happily surprised.The service was excellent and the fresh ravioli followed by a perfectly cooked orata outstanding. We would not hestitate to highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    59
    24
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming, Excellent Food, not a gamble”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Absolutely a wonderful experience. Half way between Piazza Bra and San Fermo church. On a quiet side street. Don't be concerned that you don't see anyone eating inside. Everyone is seated in the back courtyard garden area, and it is CHARMING! Elegant entrance to get there. It is gaining a reputation by the locals, and the price is reasonable for the quality and the experience. The eating in the outdoor garden was beautiful. The wait staff was attentive as was the maitre de. The grilled octopus on a bed of chopped radicchio was excellent and a surprisingly generous portion for a primi. The velvety beef was finely sliced beef (again radicchio) with a velvety sauce on top and a ring around the plate of roasted potato wedges. It was magnificent. A picture of it is in another review. I would definitely return, and don't understand the negative reviews. It is worth it over the few outrageously expensive restaurants. This one is not too expensive and is a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank playtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely People”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel manager, it is a short walk walk from Piazza Bra. We were given a warm welcome, this is a high class restaurant with many and varied authentic chef cooked dishes. Recommended for all those gourmets out there who enjoy fine dining.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbap47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Graet place, not easy to find”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

There are two streets, side by side, with virtually the same name - coming from Piazza Bra, the restaurant is in the second one. Restaurant is very popular so better to book. Especially good for fish dishes, with a varied menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suechefUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
264 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Cozy and wonderful”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went to dinner to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant was warm and cozy. It was quiet, only 2 other tables. We had 4 fabulous courses and good wine. They brought complimentary homemade biscotti at the end. Also our cappuchino at the end of the meal had grazie written in foam. Nice touches. The service was attentive. It isn't cheap but it isn't excessively expensive either (much more expensive and less value restaurants in Verona and Venice). A great find.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Mariacallas also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Mariacallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing