We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romance and elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opera Relais de Charme
Ranked #2 of 417 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“romance and elegance”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

wow, what can I say. The beauty of this hotel cannot be summed up in words, it is necessary to stay and see for yourself. My husband and daughter were equally impressed. Although there was no restaurant in the hotel, the staff made up for this by preparing a beautiful tray of food for our family to feast on in the morning, and might I add, we had our very own coffee machine!
The cleanliness and luxury of this hotel will set the benchmark for future hotel stays!

Room Tip: I don't think you could choose a bad room, very impressive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    107
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
234
268
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I spent 4 nights here and enjoyed my stay a lot. The apartment felt clean, comfortable and stylish. It was about a 20 minute walk from the train station which wasn't bad and the central location made it close to most tourist places in Verona. Even though it was in the heart of the city, it was quiet in the evenings for a very restful sleep. The breakfast was a bunch of prepackaged items left in the room, so while it is not the most tastey of fare, it is convenient to snack on any time you get hungry for a snack. There is an espresso machine and a small kitchette but the one recommendation I would make to the hotel is to include a small microwave oven. The free wifi (always appreciated) worked great. I had booked this room early in January and got a great deal on the price so it turned out to be an excellent value and I would certainly consider staying here again if I return to Verona.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyLou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here in a 2 bed apartment for 1 night. The location is great, right in the centre of historic Verona, although if you are using their directions to drive to the hotel, forget it! There are no roadsigns on any street junctions heading into the city so you just get lost. Park at the carpark 9very easy to find) and make your way on foot to hotel..only about 10mins away. The apartment was spacious and comfortable, modern design. Wifi wasn't working in the morning, and we couldn't refill the coffee machine as it has a lock on the water section. Staff only turned up at 9am which I think is way too late. No staff on duty overnight and no way I could see to call anyone. Breakfast is OK.. but all packeted stuff so i'd say go out and get fresh food down the road.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are probably similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemanieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had planned a secret holiday to propose. I chose the Opera Relais de Charme as our accommodation. It was the perfect choice!
Staff very friendly and helpful on arrival and checkout. The room was superb, beds the most comfortable we have experienced in Italy.
The location could not be better, right in the heart of it all close to great restaurants, bars and shopping.
This is a great alternative to the normal hotel solution.
If we go back to Verona - we will stay here again, Loved it !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dicko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Even though for only one night, the Opera Relais was magnifico!...for travelers needing lodging next to the airport, this is it...and still less than 15 minutes to the city center. The hotel is family owned and operated, which as a seasoned traveler, I feel is the most friendly kind and therefore provided exceptional service from the first 'arrivaderci' to our goodbye 'ciao'. Rooms were very clean, new and modern in style. Next time to Verona, definitely going to back to the Opera!.

Room Tip: upper floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwbMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My family of 5 chose Opera Relais for a 1 night stay due to its modern look and feel.

We took a taxi from the train station to the boutique apartment in the middle of the old town.
The first sign of alarm bells was that there was no one at the front desk, hence no one to lets us into the building....so there we were at 9am in the morning standing in the middle of the street with no idea of how to enter the building or no idea who we could contact. Luckily some other guests were leaving and let us in. The receptionist soon arrived (although a small sign on the front door advising that she would be back in 5 minutes would have been helpful).

We checked in and the Turandot apartment was comfortable, clean, spacious & in a great location.Since it was our only day in Verona we decided to explore the city. When we arrived back at 5pm again there was no one at the front desk - we just assumed that they would be back again as there was no message on the front desk notifying otherwise.

The morning of our checkout we were up early due to an early morning train - we went to the front desk to ask them to order a taxi for us and no one was there...and again there was no message advising when the staff member would be available! We went up and down the street trying to find a taxi but none were to be found. Major alarm bells were ringing as we had no idea how to get 5 people to the train station with 5 suitcases in time for our train! We noticed on the front desk there was a phone number to call in case of emergency - we phoned it - the person who answered could not speak english and disconnected the call!

In summary these were our issues:
1. on checkin it was not explained to us that the staff member on reception would be unavailable at certain times throughout our stay
2. we were not advised that there would be no one on the front desk on our checkout...ie explaining the checkout procedure or to settle any bill or to assist us with a taxi or any other questions we may have
3. when we phoned the emergency phone number (from our international mobile phone) the person could not speak english and was therefore no help to us whether we had an emergency or not
4. we should have been advised that ordering a taxi without someone at the hotel would be DIFFICULT in the morning
5. at no time did the staff advise us of the hours of the front desk

We contacted Opera Relais on numerous occasions trying to resolve our issues and almost one month later we received an email stating that there was nothing they could do as the invoice had already been accounted for. No explanation was offered for any of the above points and unfortunately this exceptionally poor service (when paying 280Euro/nt) left us with such a bad taste that we would not recommend this boutique hotel to either our friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Opera Realis de Charme is simply an amazing hotel. My wife and I stayed at Verona for 3 nights and 4 days and enjoyed every moment at the Opera.

The hotel is just very new, modern, and elegant. It offers elegant apartments including one and two rooms and we stayed in a two-room apartment. The apartment was very new, clean, and spacious. The bathroom was just beautiful and included all facilities you need in a bathroom. We've got two TV's; a big one in the living room area and a small one in the bed room. We've also go a full-equipped kitchen which we used to cook and prepare breakfast (this helps you to save some money). The hotel also offers free internet connection. The price was also good for three nights.

The location is simply amazing. At the very heart of the city center where shopping facilities are everywhere. And it is just 1 minute walking from the Arena.

The receptionist was too nice and helpful and she gave us a map of Verona and tried to "explicitly" tell us what is worth visiting at the city. The check-out time was 10:30 but she allowed us to check out at 12. The service was also great. A lady was taking care of the apartment everyday. Even we had some dishes to clean and she did it all!

The negatives might be slow internet connection, slow elevator, and some noise coming out from the air conditioning. I can't complain about these but these are the things that I would share with others to be aware of. I can't think of anything else other than this.

To sum up, the Opera offers amazing, modern, stylish, and elegant apartments with all facilities that you may need to make your life easy. The location is at the very heart of the city. It is clean and the price is convenient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#8 of 79 in Verona
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#5 of 79 in Verona
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Relais de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Relais de Charme

Property: Opera Relais de Charme
Address: Via Valerio Catullo 01, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opera Relais de Charme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from Verona Arena, the Opera Relais De Charme is a luxurious property in the city's historical centre. It offers uniquely themed, self-catering accommodation with free Wi-Fi. With designer furniture and ultra-modern interiors, the studios and apartments at the Opera Relais De Charme are inspired by famous operas. Each comes with a kitchenette, a satellite LCD TV and air conditioning. Sweet breakfast ingredients are provided directly in the apartment, including croissants and juices. Staff is always available to help with arranging restaurants, trips and tickets. The property overlooks Viale Mazzini, a popular shopping street. Juliet's Balcony, made famous by Shakespeare's play, is 400 metres away, and Verona Station is 1.8 Km from the Opera Relais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Relais de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing