We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bravo! bravo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opera Relais de Charme
Ranked #3 of 431 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Even though for only one night, the Opera Relais was magnifico!...for travelers needing lodging next to the airport, this is it...and still less than 15 minutes to the city center. The hotel is family owned and operated, which as a seasoned traveler, I feel is the most friendly kind and therefore provided exceptional service from the first 'arrivaderci' to our goodbye 'ciao'. Rooms were very clean, new and modern in style. Next time to Verona, definitely going to back to the Opera!.

Room Tip: upper floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwbMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 767 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

My family of 5 chose Opera Relais for a 1 night stay due to its modern look and feel.

We took a taxi from the train station to the boutique apartment in the middle of the old town.
The first sign of alarm bells was that there was no one at the front desk, hence no one to lets us into the building....so there we were at 9am in the morning standing in the middle of the street with no idea of how to enter the building or no idea who we could contact. Luckily some other guests were leaving and let us in. The receptionist soon arrived (although a small sign on the front door advising that she would be back in 5 minutes would have been helpful).

We checked in and the Turandot apartment was comfortable, clean, spacious & in a great location.Since it was our only day in Verona we decided to explore the city. When we arrived back at 5pm again there was no one at the front desk - we just assumed that they would be back again as there was no message on the front desk notifying otherwise.

The morning of our checkout we were up early due to an early morning train - we went to the front desk to ask them to order a taxi for us and no one was there...and again there was no message advising when the staff member would be available! We went up and down the street trying to find a taxi but none were to be found. Major alarm bells were ringing as we had no idea how to get 5 people to the train station with 5 suitcases in time for our train! We noticed on the front desk there was a phone number to call in case of emergency - we phoned it - the person who answered could not speak english and disconnected the call!

In summary these were our issues:
1. on checkin it was not explained to us that the staff member on reception would be unavailable at certain times throughout our stay
2. we were not advised that there would be no one on the front desk on our checkout...ie explaining the checkout procedure or to settle any bill or to assist us with a taxi or any other questions we may have
3. when we phoned the emergency phone number (from our international mobile phone) the person could not speak english and was therefore no help to us whether we had an emergency or not
4. we should have been advised that ordering a taxi without someone at the hotel would be DIFFICULT in the morning
5. at no time did the staff advise us of the hours of the front desk

We contacted Opera Relais on numerous occasions trying to resolve our issues and almost one month later we received an email stating that there was nothing they could do as the invoice had already been accounted for. No explanation was offered for any of the above points and unfortunately this exceptionally poor service (when paying 280Euro/nt) left us with such a bad taste that we would not recommend this boutique hotel to either our friends or family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Opera Realis de Charme is simply an amazing hotel. My wife and I stayed at Verona for 3 nights and 4 days and enjoyed every moment at the Opera.

The hotel is just very new, modern, and elegant. It offers elegant apartments including one and two rooms and we stayed in a two-room apartment. The apartment was very new, clean, and spacious. The bathroom was just beautiful and included all facilities you need in a bathroom. We've got two TV's; a big one in the living room area and a small one in the bed room. We've also go a full-equipped kitchen which we used to cook and prepare breakfast (this helps you to save some money). The hotel also offers free internet connection. The price was also good for three nights.

The location is simply amazing. At the very heart of the city center where shopping facilities are everywhere. And it is just 1 minute walking from the Arena.

The receptionist was too nice and helpful and she gave us a map of Verona and tried to "explicitly" tell us what is worth visiting at the city. The check-out time was 10:30 but she allowed us to check out at 12. The service was also great. A lady was taking care of the apartment everyday. Even we had some dishes to clean and she did it all!

The negatives might be slow internet connection, slow elevator, and some noise coming out from the air conditioning. I can't complain about these but these are the things that I would share with others to be aware of. I can't think of anything else other than this.

To sum up, the Opera offers amazing, modern, stylish, and elegant apartments with all facilities that you may need to make your life easy. The location is at the very heart of the city. It is clean and the price is convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Wow! It all happened so fast! There I was on Friday evening, sat with my wife and daughter watching the film, ‘Letters to Juliet’, after which they said, “We’d love to go to Verona and see all the places in the film.” And so it was, when the film finished, I used the Internet to find a bargain deal.

Expedia, to the rescue! For just £275, including an upgrade to a ‘Superior luxury two room apartment’, they found us a three night, four day package, flying with BA and staying at the Opera Relais de Charme in the very centre of Verona. The flight times were excellent, giving us four full days away – and so, we did our research as you do, and as all the reviews were amazing, we booked and packed. Sunday morning saw us in Verona by 10.30am, and we rushed to the apartment to see if it lived up to the promises below:

Double bed and sofa bed, Premium bedding, Egyptian-cotton sheets, Down comforter. Balcony, City view, In-room safe, Individually decorated. Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary), LCD television. Digital television service, Complimentary bottled water, Kitchenette, Stovetop, Refrigerator, Espresso maker, Coffee/tea maker. Cookware, dishware, and utensils. Private bathroom, Bidet, Makeup/shaving mirror, Bathrobes, Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries, Soundproofed rooms, Air conditioning, Climate control, Housekeeping - 3 days per week.

It did! Everything was there - and more! We had two flat screen TV’s and towels too! And everything was clean - and cleaned daily. The apartment was very tastefully decorated and a pleasure to stay in. Indeed, it seemed a pity to go out, but go out we did, to sample the delights of Verona and find all the places used in the film, and to eat at some delightful restaurants.

Everything is so near and central to the Opera Relais de Charme and public transport is cheap and easy to use. On the Monday we went to Lake Garda and on Tuesday, to Milan. It was then that we realised that we had not seen the villa used in the film and did not know where it was!

Help was at hand – the very friendly and helpful receptionist at the Opera Relais de Charme tracked it down for us and arranged a private viewing with the owner on Wednesday. We went by bus to Villa Arvedi, but the owner was so friendly and helpful that he drove us back to Verona in his car! It turned out that he had an acting role in the film, although they dubbed his voice with a more English accent and moved his villa to Tuscany!

After we returned to Verona, there was still time to explore further and the arena, dating from AD30, is amazing. What a wonderful four days we had – a huge than you to Expedia, BA and Opera Relais de Charme for making it possible – you will certainly not be disappointed if you stay here. In case you have not seen the film, this is what I thought of it:

‘Letters to Juliet’ is a delightfully light hearted love story with an unexpected twist - the couple in love at the start (Sophie and Gael) gradually drift apart, falling out of love with the passage of time, and as Sophie helps Claire to find her true Lorenzo, she gradually, and almost unconsciously, falls for the unlikeliest of characters, Charlie - certainly not love at first sight!

With the film set in beautiful Verona and Tuscany, the idea of writing letters to Juliet to find ones true love is engaging, and intriguingly used to span fifty years. A whole sequence of amusing missed opportunities for Sophie and Charlie present themselves during the film, but there are poignantly heart rendering scenes towards the end when Claire meets her Lorenzo and advises Charlie not to make the same mistake that she had, fifty years before.

Without doubt, the beautiful settings used in this film will make you want to go there and find love true love for yourself! Thanks to Expedia, we did!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OldWindyMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The duty manager told us this hotel opened in June 2011. You can almost still smell the paint! Once having succesfully navigated Verona's myriad of one-way streets, we eventually found this gem. It wasn't easy, as the hotel is located above shops and the signage is very small. Because of traffic restrictions we had to park our car about one km away. But this was a minor inconvenience. Our room was on the third floor. There is an elevator but it is very slow. As soon as you enter the hotel corridor, bright lights come on and opera music plays, adding to the overall ambience. Our room was bright, spacious and faultless.. T

he hotel's location is perfect - 50 metres from the main shopping strip, and about 200 metres from the colliseum. We were initially booked to stay 2 nights but because we fell in love with Verona and this hotel, we extended the stay to five nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I can`t imagine a better location if you want to soak up the atmosphere in the historical centre of Verona! The Arena is about three minutes walk away, Via Mazzini which is great for shopping is literally round the corner, and other popular attractions such as Juliet`s house, the cathedral and a number f stunning churches are all within easy walking distance. The apartments are very modern and stylish decorated and remarkably quiet considering the prime location. The staff are very helpful and friendly although most of them are not very proficient in English. The only negative point is that the apartments are not cleaned during your stay and for the rates that are charged, I found this very surprising.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denisebrettschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Hataru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#10 of 77 in Verona
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#7 of 77 in Verona
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Relais de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Relais de Charme

Address: Via Valerio Catullo 01, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 431 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range: $100 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opera Relais de Charme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from Verona Arena, the Opera Relais De Charme is a luxurious property in the city's historical centre. It offers uniquely themed, self-catering accommodation with free Wi-Fi. With designer furniture and ultra-modern interiors, the studios and apartments at the Opera Relais De Charme are inspired by famous operas. Each comes with a kitchenette, a satellite LCD TV and air conditioning. Sweet breakfast ingredients are provided directly in the apartment, including croissants and juices. Staff is always available to help with arranging restaurants, trips and tickets. The property overlooks Viale Mazzini, a popular shopping street. Juliet's Balcony, made famous by Shakespeare's play, is 400 metres away, and Verona Station is 1.8 Km from the Opera Relais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Relais de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing