We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sightseeing whilst in Verona”
Review of Veronaround Tours

Veronaround Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VERONAROUND is a smart and simple way to enjoy the surroundings of Verona, designed for individual tourists and small groups.Discover wineries and gastronomy specialties with professional guides!
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent sightseeing whilst in Verona”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

During our stay in Verona we used Veronaround Tours on two occasions. From the time we first started making email enquiries with Daniel until we had actually completed the tours, the service was exemplary and very professional. We were very pleased that we had used Veronaround Tours to help make our Verona experience a memorable one.
Our first tour was of Verona itself. We were picked up from our B&B and departed for the panoramic tour of Verona by minibus. We had magnificent views over Verona from the Castel San Pietro. From there we experienced a range of other sights including Verona's underground tunnels. After the minibus tour we strolled the medieval streets and alleys of old Verona, visited the main squares and walked in the footsteps of Romeo and Juliet. The tour lasted over three and a half hours. Daniel was a superb guide, very knowledgeable and informative about the city
Our second tour was a full day one. Daniel drove us across Villafranca to see the castle and we visited the little town of Borghetto, the watermills district along River Mincio. Daniel took us to a small restaurant, Busocaldo, famous for its homemade pasta dishes. The owners and cooks showed us the kitchen and how the traditional tortellini and ravioli were made. After that we were treated to a superb pasta meal of the freshly made tortellini and ravioli and wine tasting. You must try the tiramisu here - the best that we had in our four weeks in Italy! After the tasting/lunch we continued our tour to Sirmione on Lake Garda where we strolled in the little town centre, saw the castle, the old alleys and enjoyed a beautiful view of the peninsula by boat. This was a great day.
Overall, Daniel and Veronaround come with our highest recommendation. Everything was organised well and there was nothing more that we could have asked for. Thanks Daniel!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank BobAustralia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Tours!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My Husband and I recently went on the Verona walking tour one day and a boat tour on Lake Garda coupled with a winery tour the next day. They were both excellent excursions. In the Verona tour, we learned so much of the history that you never really read about and we were able to see the city as an incredibly rich and historical place to visit. Our guide, Daniel, was very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting at every step. He also made great recommendations for where to shop and eat while in Verona. The next day, we had a short visit in the picturesque town of Sirmione (thanks to our driver Sabrina) and then went on a boat tour of Lake Garda where we were able to see beautiful scenery. The wine tour was in the Custoza area at the Monte Del Fra estate. It is a family owned business and the tour was excellent. We were able to sample some high quality wines and olive oils that the estate produces. All in all we had a wonderful two days thanks to Daniel and Sabrina of Veronaround Tours!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_and_Christine_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day in Verona”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a day with Daniel from Veronaround Tours. We toured the Lake Garda area with wine tasting and then took a second tour to taste Amarone wine and a panoramic tour of the city of Verona. Daniel picked us up at the Verona train station and returned us there at the end of the day. We had an absolutely FABULOUS day! Daniel is extremely knowledgable and accommodating to the needs of his clients. I HIGHLY recommend contacting the folks at Veronaround Tours should you desire a tour in Verona, Italy!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good intentions....but so much potential”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Daniele is a great person and very accommodating. The company is relatively new. It could use some fine tweeking. We had chosen Veronaround Tours for their diverse tours that combined the city with food and wine. We were very disappointed. I think the length of the wine tours are too long, and they don't combine enough stops to sight see and take pictures, especially the Valpolicella wine tour. We were bored. The Soave Wine tour was great and we truly loved the winery, there was so much history. However, the main castle in town was closed that day. A big disappointment. Daniele should have told us this when booking as the castle is closed on the same day every week. We would have been more than happy to change our tours around to other days. There isn't enough substance to the tours, it basically takes you from point a to b with nothing in-between. We had booked other tours with this company but cancelled them after two tours that really didn't meet our expectations.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank italianprincess_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONAROUND, Proprietario at Veronaround Tours, responded to this review, February 2, 2016
Dear Deanna, although it was 4 years ago, I perfectly remember every single episode.
I was not suprised that your daughters got bored...you chose two wine tours for a 9 and a 12 years old girls, what did you expect? Furthermore, none of the tours you booked was "long" (3,5 hours), and as described in our programs we always provide a couple of stops in scenic places like hill-tops, vineyards, natural terraces, old countryside churches...to give the possibility of taking photos and get the best of the sorrounding landscape. To be honest, what we do is the exact opposite of what you describe when you say "it basically takes you from point a to b with nothing in-between"...I don't know how you could write something like that.
In general there's no problem to stop a couple of times more, or to visit more places (the castle you mention was not even included in that tour...), but these are things to be considered before taking a GROUP tour maybe...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lots of delicious fun”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went on the Valpolicella tour on a Sunday morning in September, sharing the ride with a friendly pair from the UK and NZ. Sabrina gave interesting commentary as she drove us through the lovely countryside surrounding Verona, and we stopped at a church built with the remains of a Roman temple. The highlight of the tour (of course the other highlight was the countryside itself!) was a visit to the Fratelli Vogadori winery, where Gaetano, one of the fratelli (brothers), introduced us to five of his red wines. I bought a bottle of Ripasso, and my only regret is that I didn't also purchase a bottle of the Amarone! We raved over the experience so much that our Verona hotel is going to recommend it to their guests.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veronaround Tours also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Veronaround Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing