We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Prices”
Review of Marechiaro

Marechiaro
Ranked #224 of 1,202 Restaurants in Verona
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Prices”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This was just across the road from the Gallery Rooms where we were stopping. because its tucked away and not down town we weren't going to bother but we ate here the other night as we has walked too far that day. Great Pizza and very reasonable prices so well worth a visit if you are near

Helpful?
Thank petermac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    89
    35
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just like Mama makes...”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice on our 3 night stay in Verona. It was ideally located for us as we were staying in the Hotel Marco Polo a few doors down.

The restaurant is located about a 5 minute walk from the arena.

The restaurant had a large mix of people in it, locals and tourists.

The food was amazing and fantastic value - a pizza, pasta, bottle of water and 500ml red wine was €25. Every meal we had there was delicious.

The staff are very friendly but are not in a rush to serve you so just go with the flow and enjoy the relaxed pace of life in there.

Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent quality pizza from a family-run restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restaurant is located very close to the hotel we stayed in in Verona (Hotel Marco Polo) so we came here on the first night and loved it. The pizza is cooked in a traditional brick oven and it is fantastic.

The restaurant is run by a local family and was very busy considering the area is quite quiet and it's not in the centre of Verona, I think it's frequented by locals. Still, we were served quickly and didn't have to wait long for service.

We would often stop by for a coffee at the end of the night as well as there's a nice seating area outside the restaurant. I think it closes around 11PM.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The pizza is fantastic and the desserts are even better!!! The staff are friendly and make you feel welcome. There are many other pizzerias in the centre of Verona but this is the best one I've found.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotsdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“A place for locals - go for it!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Tucked away in a narrow alley, but close to the Roman arena, this restaurant has a local and a bit nostalgic feel. Enjoy it, or don't go there if bric-a-brac disturbs you. The woman who runs it has limited (though enough) English and a great smile. The interior design looks like it is from the 1960s (and it probably is).

The menu offers heaps of pizza variations, red and white (without tomato paste), open and calzone (folded), simple and sophisticated, just as you prefer. Order a few different ones and share. The bar - Italian style - tempts you with the typical incredible number of different bottles and with wine on draught. Now that is something we don't have in Sweden - and it is much better than you might expect after your experiences with "house wine" at your local restaurant at home. This is Italy after all!

Kids play, businessmen talk amicably in a corner, things go at a slow pace. Don't get mad at the waitress who first completes her chat with some local customer before she takes your order. Relax, and observe, and enjoy! Good things take their time.

And it is worth waiting. The wooden pizza oven, in the middle of the restaurant produces some of the crispest, most tasty pizzas we have had in Italy.

This is not a place for striped suits (though they are most probably welcome). The Marechiaro is a nice experience of genuine food and everyday life. And it won't break the bank.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marechiaro also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Marechiaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing