We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveler rating
150
348
293
85
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
348
293
85
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busrestaurants close to the hotelbusiness travelcity centrefrequent busestraffic lightsextra pillowsbit datedbus servicebreakfast spreadcost eurosbooked this hotelpiazza del erbeverona cardbreakfast includedpublic areasbig bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 922 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Nothing! Dirty rooms, poor air conditioning in rooms, rude personnel (they tell you one thing over the phone, and at the end the do another) and very low value for money (extremely expensive, at its 4 kms from the city center). By the way, there is no way this is a 4 star hotel. Also, when we made a complaint in the frontdesk, they almost laughed at us. I would NEVER recommend this "hotel".

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDANGELO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

For a 4* hotel the Maxim is a little tired but we found it to be good value having paid £150 for a triple room for 2 nights. We booked in April through RoomsNet.com, who we have used several times. We did email the hotel direct as they seemed to have a special offer on their website but we are still waiting on a reply!!!! The rooms were clean and the location was fine, only 10 minutes on the bus into the Arena. My husband used the shuttle bus to the opera and thought it was good value at 9 euros return (my daughter and I paid 10 euros for a taxi back to the hotel from the Arena). The previous review mentioned that the bus service was non-existent after 8pm but we did not find this to be the case. My 13 year old daughter and I got a bus into Verona at 7.30pm in the evening and a taxi back but only because we were on our own as my husband was at the opera. The next evening all 3 of us went to and from Verona on the bus, getting one back to the hotel after 11pm.

We have only a few minor gripes about the hotel but they did not spoil our overall enjoyment:-

1) A safe deposit box in the room would have been welcome
2) The guy on reception made us feel as if we were an inconvenience. He answered the telephone while in the middle of checking us in and left us standing for ages while he carried on with his conversation. When he did eventually come off the telephone there was no apology for keeping us waiting. The girls on reception were friendly and helpful with one of them coming to our assistance when she noticed we were being ignored by her colleague.
3) The restaurant did not seem to be big enough for the number of guests, we had to queue on both mornings for a table at breakfast. On the subject of the breakfast we were a little disappointed but I think this was because we were expecting more based on previous reviews - it was fine but nothing special.

We had just come from staying 10 nights in a 2* hotel in Malcesine (Garni Ischia). We paid a slightly higher nightly rate but in our opinion it was better value for money than the 4* Maxim. Verona is a beautiful city and if we go back we would try to find a hotel with a more central location although having said that we would not hesitate to stay in the Maxim again if need be.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

This hotel is located at least 10/15 minute bus journey from Verona (Arena) centre and the bus service in the evening non existent so a taxi is a must after 8pm. There are no restaurants or cafes nearby so nothing to do in the vicinity of the hotel. Taxi cost varied between Euro 13 / 15. Rooms in the hotal are comfortable, however breakfast was pretty dreadful with lots of unhappy guests at the standard and quality of the food. There was a total lack of organisation in the dining room and we had to queue a couple of mornings to get in to have breakfast even through there were lots of large tables with just 1 or 2 persons sitting at them.

If you decide to stay in this hotel would recommend that you do NOT use Expedia as their charges were exhorbitant, whereas a friend booked thru a hotel booking website and the rate was Euro 495 for 5 nights, and Expedia charged me pounds sterling £752 for a similar room 6 nights. However, we both made our bookings in February, over 4 months in advance!! The Expedia website claims to provide excellent rates and competitive pricing. Not so in this instance.
They replied to me that ......"We always strive to provide the best rates to our customers. The price charged for your stay was the best we were able to offer at the time of booking. Unfortunately we are not able to comment on why exactly the company was able to offer a more competitive rate. Very interesting so be warned!!! "

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrigidLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Nice clean room. A bit out of town. Shuttle bus to opera was 9 euros but it was only 9 euros by taxi. Breakfast on Sunday did not account for the large number of guests who had got back after 2.00am from the opera and needed a late breakfast. There was a huge queue.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Janeyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Booked this hotel for our 1 night stop in Verona. We were pleasantly suprised as it was quite cheap. We walked back from the Arena to the hotel which took us approx. 45 minutes, so a little out of the way. Great breakfast and helpful stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappilyMarried08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews