We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pescheria i Masenini Trattoria

Pescheria i Masenini Trattoria
Ranked #140 of 1,158 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $76
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Outside of the main touristic routes, Piazzetta Pescheria is one of the most favored places in Verona. During the ancient times, this "Piazzetta" or little square was used as a "Pescheria" or fish market. Hence, we have the name Piazetta Pescheria. Today it is one of the most intimate squares in the city as it sits along River Adige. In September 2009, the “Pescheria i Masenini” opened its doors, offering a traditional menu based on fish.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a family lunch. The staff were so friendly and had even had the kitchen practice making a zuppa inglese for my grandmother who's birthday it was.

The menu is one of the best I have seen and overall atmosphere topped it off.

I would encourage anyone to try this out if you are in Verona and like fish!

Helpful?
Thank LarryKernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    113
    25
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely setting, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant is in a tranquil car-free square, home of the former fish market, and we ate here al fresco on a balmy September night. The table was beautifully set out, the bread rolls were warm and fresh, the food was excellent and very well presented, and the service was attentive and friendly in Italian and English. The restaurant specialises in fish, though meat dishes are on offer. However, it is quite pricey - though in our experience not extravagantly so for a restaurant of this quality in a tourist mecca.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“shame about dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

delicious seafood al fresco in another beautiful corner of Verona.

an amuse bouche of cantabrian anchovies kicked off the evening, followed by a simple and splendid starter of the roasted octopus with peppers which segued into a magnificent roasted turbot with potatoes and olives.

the chocolate mousse dessert was a waste of time and ruined the special taste of the main, long on the palate which i should have savoured for the rest of the evening.

i didn't see the bill so i cannot comment on the value, i can say that the seafood is as good as you will find in Spain or even the UK (calm down) which has the best seafood in the world (if you can find it!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vaz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
368 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FISH RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really suggest this restaurant if you are in search of really good and fresh fish.It is located in a small square where you can't park so it is really quiet.Nicely decorated you'll be surprised by the kindness of the owner and the lovely young waiter who speaks many languages....english german spanish and of course italian.We were a group of friends and each of us had a different dish,all special.If you like raw fish have the fresh red Sicilian prawns with scampi,so tasty! we also had their special frittura mista,lots of small calamari ,fishes and prawns quickly friend light and cruncy ,tasty fresh fish just cooked in foil with olive oil and herbs was superb same as their pasta dishes with mussels,clams or fish.
Try the mandarine sorbet is refreshing and cleans your palate.And guess what?? This is the only BYO of Verona ,and probably of most of italy.They have a good selection of wines but they are happy to serve your own with no charge.
Book because quite busy always.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special, except the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Entering this restaurant you expect that it should be excellent: it opens only for dinner at 19:40, has a short menu, specializes in fish, has high prices and glass sliding doors to the kitchen. BUT when you start eating the expectations ruin:
1. They charge you 3 Euro "coperto" for person for which you expect at least a small appetizer from Chef, but they bring preserved(!) sardines from can as an appetizer . Preserved sardines from supermarket in fish restaurant!
2. The food is cooked without fantasy - we ordered scallops - and they just baked them in breading, that absolutely killed the taste and made the dish too simple for 25 Euro.
3. Another dish was mixed fried frutti di mare (I've tasted it many times in much cheaper and simplier restaurants and they always be OK)- here they fried it in a so thick breading that you cannot even understand if this is a prawn or a piece of carrot, or smth else. And these sea fruits were placed in a plate on a piece of paper - that's all serving. I can understand this kind of serving in a snack bar, but not in an expensive restaurant.
4. We also ordered 2 soups - cream soup with prawns and moussel soup - they were delivered in 5 minutes as they were made from half-finished products.
5. The service is just normal but not more - we asked to be seated on a balcony, but they said that they open balcony only at weekends (may be it is too hard to go upstairs for the waiters). The waiters could not also recommend something special to eat, just explained the positions in menu.
So, 100 Euro for two for a very simple dinner of 2 dishes and a bottle of cheap Valpolicella - is too much for such quality and presentation of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescheria i Masenini Trattoria also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Pescheria i Masenini Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing