We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Well, we must have been staying at a different Grand Hotel Verona to some other people here. Recently stayed for 2 nights during a lightning tour of Italy (so lots of hotels to compare with) and were absolutely delighted. For the same price as a much lower grade hotel in Venice, we had a delightful room with a very elegant balcony where room service was delivered promptly. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, although the balcony did overlook a busy street. But once the doors were closed, there was no outside noise. Easy walking distance from both the station and all the main attractions. Check in was swift and simple, even though we were slightly early.
As for the breakfast, we thought it was outstanding! Far and away the best spread during our tour - including the facility to 'take away' your coffee ... what a nice touch.
In fact, it was the little touches that made our stay so enjoyable, you just have to see and appreciate them! (Like the discount card for various local restaurants and the free bicycles). We will definitely be returning and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyGT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear LadyGT,
thank you very much for your feedback .. it's a pleasure for me to read the things you wrote (I was hoping for a review like yours!)
Please keep in touch and contact me personally for your future stay in Verona.
Have a nice end of summer
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Too small and uncomfortable bedrooms and baths. Very poor breakfast. Bad service. Not worth for the price. The service was really bad. Took us around 20 mins to check out. Veryyyyy slow service. Just 2 employees and took them around 10 mins to attend just one. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Mrs. Sandra and Mr. Leonardo,
I was waiting for your review and my question is : what was your problem in Verona? I am asking this because I cannot understand all your wickedness against the staff, the service, the structure, the rate you paid....
You did not appreciate anything at all and this is strange because many other reviews are marvellous!

You booked at a discounted price a standard room and you chose that price and that kind of room.

Very poor breakfast : different kind of bread, 10 kinds of jam (and NUTELLA), 4 kind of cheese, soppressa, row and baked ham, porchetta, bresaola, salame, rosted turkey, scrumbled eggs, bacon, boiled eggs, salad, grilled tomatoes, peppers, roasted potatoes, wuerstel, 4 kind of cereals, milk (skimmed/whole/rice/soy), fresh homemade coffee/cappuccino/tea (as many cups as you want), yogurt (in many flavours), apple juice, orange juice, grapefruit juice, ace juice, peaches and plums in syrup, coconut, apples, bananas, kiwi, apricots or cherries or strawberries (it depends from the season), cakes, chocolate croissant, croissant with cream or jam, wholemeal croissant, muffins, biscuits, products for celiacs, products for infants (homogenized, milk powder, biscuits) ... are you sure you had breakfast at Grand Hotel Verona?!

At your departure you found 2 employees with 2 pc at the check-out time but sorry anyway if you had to wait few minutes. You can well understand that if some clients are making detailed questions (as you did regarding the explanation of the pre-authorization), this means that the service could become a little bit slow.

I stay at your disposal
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited this hotel for the first three days of our Honeymoon, before travelling onto Lake Garda. All I can say, is wow! The location of the hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to explore the delightful city of Verona. Situated on the Corso Porta Nuova, the main route into the city, and close to the Piazza Bra, you cannot want for a better place to stay. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, the room was outstanding. Admittingly it was our second room, as the first room we were allocated had a huge puddle on the floor, where a pipe had leaked. This was immediatly spotted by the porter carrying our bags, reported immediatly by him and he escorted us to our new room - all this before we had even seen the issue! It is this kind of service that we appreciated during our stay.
We did not eat in the resturant in the evening as we ate out, however the breakfast was top quality, with a wide selection to choose from. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Annie,
I am pleased to read that your honeymoon started in the right way.. thank you for the WOW :-)
Thanks also to my collegue that behaved in the way I wish.
Hope to welcome you again for your future anniversaries

Grand Hotel
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Well, like i always say, you get what you pay for, beautiful hotel.
Only grumble, first morning came down for breakfast, coissants were burnt, asked if there were more coming, reply was that the first batch were ok and this is what we have!
This was not the reaction i expected in this standard of hotel, however i let it go, i didnt go hungry. However next morning coissants and danish were marginaly better, may be they need new chef or oven.
WiFi is ok but dont forget to get a password for every device !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globehoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Globehoppin,
I read your feedback and all I can think is : "such a silly thing to burn the croissant.. in a 4 star hotel this is unacceptable!" ... SORRY
I've already spoken to my collegue at the breakfast room and hope this won't happen again.
Hope to welcome you again in Verona in the future
Best Regards
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a very interesting time in Verona. There is so much to see and do. The hotel staff were very helpful and supplied us with a Card and a list of fine restaurants to try at a 10% discount. They were very helpful with instructions on how to get around the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonJoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated on wide boulevard equal distance between rail station and town centre so not crowded but easy to get to and from. Centre was 5 mins walk / 10 minutes amble from hotel.
Decoration was first class with nice bar area and outside courtyard together with pleasant and helpful staff. Room (double) was small but well equipped. Hotel sells tickets for open top bus tours (2 routes) which are well worth taking. Hotel had excellent breakfast but like many Italian hotels does not have restaurant for evening meals but with so much choice in Verona this is not a problem

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from the rail and bus station and from the Piazza Bra. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, a little small, but more than adequate for a short stay. Staff were courteous and helpful and were happy to give advice on visiting local places of interest. Breakfast was the standard mix of cold cuts , fruit , pastries and some hot dishes but plenty of choice and enough to keep you going till the evening. I would highly recommend the Grand for a short stay in what is a stunning city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lichtie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 78 in Verona
1,882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 78 in Verona
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#7 of 78 in Verona
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#34 of 78 in Verona
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: $126 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel of Verona offers different ways for your stay, nothing is left to chance, each room has private services with baths or showers, heating during winter months and air conditioning for the summer months all autonomous and regulated by yourselves directly from your rooms. The technology for a good stay is in your flat screen TV, voice mails available for you and internet access so that you are connected to the world. 57 ways of sleeping and 5 luxury variations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing