We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, pleasant location”
Review of Hotel Porta Palio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta Palio
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Porta Palio for 3 nights on a short vacation. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel; it’s clean, comfortable and not too far from Verona city centre (15-20 minute walk). The rooms are nice, and come with a fridge (complimentary bottled water), tv and toiletries. Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate, but there’s complimentary tea/coffee offered in the reception downstairs which is a nice touch! They also have a computer in the reception area for guests to use (free of charge) if you don’t have a wifi device. The staff are pleasant, conversing in English and Italian, ad provided us with free maps of the city centre.

In terms of getting there – we used public transport the whole time and it was fine. If arriving from the train station (Porta Nuova), turn right out of the station doors, cross over the road (across a small river/stream) onto Viale Luciano dal cero. It’s a relatively pleasant 15 minute walk then straight up to the hotel (which will be on your left). From the train station you can also do day trips (we went to Lake Garda, which is stunning – just get one of the ‘blue busses’ from the train station (costs about 10 euros each).

For the city centre from the hotel, you can approach it in 2 ways. Either turn left out of the hotel, walk up Viale Galliano colonnello and turn right at corso Milano (you can then walk directly in along the river, which has stunning views). Alternatively, turn right out of the hotel and turn left onto stradone porta palio (walking straight up and to the right will take you to Piazza bra, which is the centre of the city). Thus, everything is very close, and there’s no real need to hire a car etc, the walks are beautiful, taking about 20 minutes to reach the city centre, and are the best way to see Verona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 652 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

The room was very dirty and full of bugs. One of us stood bare footed on the floor, and got a bite from a bug!! The man in charge didn't take any responsability, and also didn't want to change the room. All these whlie shouting at us! It was so bad that we were forced to leave at night, and seek for another hotel!!! (and we didn't get our payment back!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

The gentlemen in question were crooks intend to benefit financially at the expense of the hotel. Their intention was to lend him money, inventing absurd inefficiencies, and then threaten (in the presence of many witnesses) to write a very negative review on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry, but our company has nothing to hide, our positive reviews speak for themselves and we are not willing to threaten us from these dishonest people.
We have already reported the matter to the competent authorities.
Our hotels accomodate thousands of satisfied guests every year, and something like that has never happened. Unfortunately this global economic crisis is pushing dishonest people to invent new methods to take advantage of those who work honestly and is subject, like us, to the possibility of being judged publicly.
The problem is known, but has not yet found a solution.
What is important is that we do not give in to threats!
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The staff is very knowledgable. Hotel is easily accessable with free underground parking and walking takes about 15 mins to train/bus station and to center of beautiful Verona. I truly liked the lovely artistic map if provided, free WIFI, spotless rooms, fresh breakfast and dinners. This hotel has a relaxing outdoor patio garden and delightful menu from the hotel's Risto & Pizza Lido restaurant. Shuttle service to Opera and between their other hotels, Hotel Martini, and Hotel Piccolo is convienient.

Highly recommend for good value, quite location, clean rooms and attentive Management/Staff.

Room Tip: Top room has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Reception very helpful, wifi always connected,rooms clean and nice. location close to bus stop but we always used taxis.Train station is 7 mins away by taxi. Breakfast ok. Good value for money. centre is 9 mins by taxi far.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel staff were quite friend, except from the lady serving breakfast, she was a bit hostile.
The room was nice and clean, nice view also, but for the first night for some reason the AC was not on ( it was not possible to turn it on from inside the room also) and it was very hot.
Breakfast had a good variety of fresh breads, cereals etc.
The only down side is that it's not exactly near the city center, but it's possible to walk in 20-30 minutes so that's ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilvi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for your positive review.
I just want to say that the Hotel is just 2 km (1,24 miles) from the Arena (that is the heart of the city centre). I know that 15/20 minutes is enough to walk 2 km. Along the route to the city centre also you can admire beautiful monuments as San Zeno Basil and Castelvecchio with its wonderful bridge.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

staff very unwillinging to want to help - the woman serving in dining room is not very greeting and reception staff give an impression that they dont want to help. price was the reason for booking this hotel but after 4 nights of been woke at 8am by the cleaners making exceptional noise you would be better patying a little more. however the hotel is very clean, close to train station, provides adequate breakfast to set you up. verona is amazing city which i would recommend visiting

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for the positive judgement about some very important issues like cleanliness, position and breakfast: we appreciate alot your approval.
About the little misunderstanding you have had with the lady of the breakfast (and consequently with the receptionist) it was due to the fact that no one of the two ladies (I've seen the scene) has understood why, although there were plenty of tables clean and ready for use, you wanted to sit in a table not yet cleared. I apologize for the misunderstanding but when there is a lot of work and you're very focused some details may escape.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great place to stay albeit a little far from the city centre. Bus cost €1.50 to the Centre but you can Walk it in 25 mins. Staff very friendly and helpful.breakfast, great. Cleanliness, good. Staff helped with parking, and also with directions to the city centre. Area had a very busy main road but was easy to cross in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munichlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#28 of 77 in Verona
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 77 in Verona
653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#45 of 77 in Verona
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Verona
B&B Hotel Verona
#47 of 77 in Verona
487 reviews
1.8 mi away
Euromotel Croce Bianca
Euromotel Croce Bianca
#48 of 77 in Verona
413 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#18 of 77 in Verona
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Palio

Address: Viale Colonnello Galliano 21 | 37138 Verona, 37138, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta Palio 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Porta Palio is a modern 3 star hotel located close to the ancient walls of the city center of Verona. Its location makes it extremely easy to get to from the Airport Valerio Catullo (with the Aerobus service - runs every 40 minutes - cost 6.00 Euros), from Verona Porta Nuova railway station and the motorway (exit Verona Nord A22 Brenner ). Hotel Porta Palio is located only 15 minutes walk from the 'Arena di Verona', outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. Free internet Wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Palio Hotel
Porta Palio Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing