We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Only Way to Experience Italy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sogara

The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Swimming Pool Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Villa
Swimming Pool
Bedroom
Living Room
Dining Room
Swimming Pool
Upper Loggia
Library
Library
Living Room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Vineyards
Courtyard
Patio
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Verona, Province of Verona, Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
KBCASK
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Only Way to Experience Italy”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Sogara has many things. It has breathtaking beauty (the pictures online do not do it justice). It has a fascinating history. It has wonderful hosts (warm, entertaining and informative hosts). And it has the usual things you would expect from a pool to an elevator, to a huge kitchen and several great spots to have a meal with lots of people. Our only complaint is that we were not able to share it with more people. Our party was a family of four and we only used a small bit of the villa. We had hoped to share our time with some nearby relatives, but our plans did not materialize. You will need a car as there is little that you can get to by walking - but you will spend a day or two doing nothing but lazing by the pool and exploring all the rooms and antiques. Day trips to Verona and Lake Garda are all easily accomplished. Sirmione is a must - as is going for a swim in the lake and renting a boat to see some of the sights from the water. There are plenty of places to rent a boat and the rental transaction takes about 30 seconds - hand over some Euros and your license and hop on the boat. No paperwork! Malcesine is also worth the drive - it takes an hour or so, but the drive through the mountains and through small towns is unforgettable. Tommaso and Ela live in the apartment next door. They are available for anything you need and are a phenomenal resource. If you want privacy, they disappear. But when you come and go through the big iron gate, they will check in to see how things are going. You will soon find that you look forward to seeing them and want to share time with them and learn more about their family history, the villa and the surrounding area. Tommaso and Ela also prepared one of the best meals of our trip - we dined outdoors next to 2000 year old columns and enjoyed a 5 course gourmet meal. Tommaso's 12 year old niece joined us and helped take care of the couple's baby daughter, Sofia. It was an experience we will not soon forget. If you like dogs, they'll let Stella run around with you a bit, too. That made my daughters happy. If you don't like dogs, Stella will be no where to be seen... Tommaso is an email fanatic - he and I corresponded quite a bit before our arrival. If you have questions, he has answers. And if he has a recommendation for a particular restaurant, take his recommendation! We have rented many homes, but Villa Sogara certainly stands out as one or our luckiest finds!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clwtrmom
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Setting out of a fairytale, with gracious hosts and amazing food!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed June/July 2015.

We arrived by train in Verona from the Amalfi Coast. We were two families traveling together with a total of 5 boys. Tommaso arranged to have transportation pick us up at the train station and bring us to Villa Sogara.

Because it was evening, we really weren't able to see too much around us. However, the inside of the villa did not disappoint. It was huge and filled with original but lovely furniture. Tommaso gave us a tour and explained some of it's history. You could definitely feel the pride he had for this place.

Before we arrived, Tommaso had told me that a meal could be prepared for us so that we wouldn't have to worry about cooking. I thought it was a great idea because I knew we would be very tired from traveling and with 5 boys, starving. What he didn't tell me is that his wife Ela, was such an amazing cook. Truly her food was absolutely delicious and we ate Al Fresco style outside. What a wonderful way to start our week long visit in Verona. We still talk about how wonderful her meal was. I hope she will one day start up her food blog and post her recipes!!

In addition to that, Tommaso did shopping for us and had some basic staples (fruit, eggs, juice, milk, bread, prosciutto, cheese etc) ready at the Villa so we could easily prepare breakfast the next day and then go do a more thorough grocery shopping later. Speaking of the next day, we were able to see the grounds and the outside of the Villa. Indeed the villa was just as beautiful as the pictures we had seen on the internet and the grounds even more so.

Any questions we had, directions, help we needed etc - Tommaso and Ela were there to assist us and always with a smile. And their beautiful daughter, Sofia was a joy to be around. Having them near (they live in the apartment connected to the villa) was comforting and convenient.

While we were there, we traveled to many places in, around and away from the area, but it was always good to come back home to Villa Sogara. Verona itself is a beautiful city. If you have a chance to take in an Opera at the Arena di Verona, don't miss it. It's a fabulous experience. Though touristy, we even enjoyed going to see the house of Juliet. You're there, why not go? Also, wonderful just to walk around the city and enjoy life sitting in the square.

In closing, I really recommend that you consider staying at Villa Sogara. You will not be disappointed. Again Tommaso and his family are wonderful and will do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Make sure you ask Ela to cook for you!!

Tommaso, we can't thank you enough for everything. Our stay at Villa Sogara contributed greatly to a wonderful vacation in Italy.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, it was all wonderful
Liked least: It was hot, but not their fault! We happened to come during an unusual heat wave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“Everywhere you look is a photograph waiting to be taken!”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I arrived at Villa Sogara to find that the photos on the website while accurate cannot begin to capture the romantic beauty of the villa itself and the surrounding gardens and vineyards. Beautiful, interesting and serene, it was the perfect setting for our sketch booking workshop, cooking classes, lounging around the pool, and easy trips into Verona. Tommaso and Emma are warm and their pride in sharing this legacy is palpable. Eleven of us were quite comfortable in large, high ceilinged bedrooms, each with its own charm, and yes, to modern amenities and bathrooms! There was a unanimous "Let's come back next year!"

Date of stay: August 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it, including the warm dessert Emma surprised us with one afternoon!
Liked least: Minor and only complaint: the kitchen knives could be sharper
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect slice of heaven”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Every year I take a group of adult students to Italy for a sketching workshop and this year we stayed at Villa Sogara. It was a dream of a place: beautiful rooms, modern conveniences (like elevator and air conditioning and a swimming pool!) blended wonderfully with old world beauty (antique furniture, art, books, courtyard). The host, Tomaso and his wife, Ella, are wonderful too. Available, flexible, kind, thoughtful. Just a slice of heaven!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
75annabel...
Lymington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Dream Stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most wonderful place. Tomasso and Ella were perfect hosts and so welcoming. The house with all its history is stunning and tranquil. I stayed here with 11 other friends and we had a really happy few days, swimming in the good sized pool, eating the most delicious food cooked by Ella in the loggia and basking in sunshine within the idyllic grounds of the villa. This place is an absolute must!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie246...
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the beautiful Villa Sogara where we were met by the owner Tommaso. He is very knowledgeable and proud of the history of the villa and shared this with us as he showed us around.
You get a sense of this history as you walk around the rooms, all furnished with antiques and pictures that his family have collected over many generations.
Once unpacked, we headed to the pool where we sat on the loungers and soaked up the afternoon sun. The pool is a good size and perfectly situated to get the most out of the sunshine and views across the vineyards.
That evening we gathered under the shade of the trees and drank in the heady smell of the Gardenia and Jasmine that is growing in the garden.
Ella and Tommaso had catered for us for 2 out of the 3 evenings that we stayed, we were treated to 4 or 5 courses of the most spectacular food that Ella had lovingly cooked for us and to some wine from Tommaso's own vineyards.
Villa Sogara is a unique property and is set in the most spectacular scenery and if you are looking for somewhere to stay that offers a real sense of Italian history and style then this is definitely the place for you. But what will really make your holiday something to truly remember are the owners Tommaso and Ella for whom nothing is too much trouble. They had purchased our shopping for us (we had previously emailed a list to them), organised transfers and taxis throughout our stay, and booked a table in a restaurant opposite the Arena for the night we had gone into Verona to the opera.
I would highly recommend Villa Sogara as a place to stay especially if you are a large group (we were a group of 12).
Verona itself is stunning I highly recommend a walk along the river and stopping for a gelato. The Opera was something definitely worth doing but suggest taking a seat cushion and a bottle of water.
We were only in Italy for 4 days but definitely intend to return and hope to stay at the Villa Sogara again.

Date of stay: June 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuliacan...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best of everything”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We recently had the opportunity to once again vacation at the splendid Villa Sogara located among the hillside vineyards just east of Verona.  Welcomed back as if we were family by Tomasso and Ela, eight of us spent the week absorbed in Italian culture both in their spacious villa and on outings that our hosts not only arranged but accompanied us. We never would have discovered some of the treasures of the area without their guidance. Language problems were not an issue with fluently bilingual hosts to accompany us on the outings to wineries and even a pasta ‘factory’.  The full use of the kitchen made for relaxing meals in the dining room.  We loved the interactive cooking class provided by Ela, where we were taught to make many unique and delicious creations followed by a meal together.
While Villa Sogara is located on a secluded private estate, it is very central to many of the local ‘must see’ attractions.  We enjoyed quick easy drives to spend the day in Verona, beautiful Lake Garda and the spectacular waterside towns, as well as other historical sites.  The drive along the lake was one of the most picturesque routes that we have ever experienced in many years of travelling in Europe.
If you are a group planning a trip to Italy, we highly recommend that you consider Villa Sogara. It will provide an experience to which you will undoubtedly want to return again and again. 

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts took care of everything we needed. The villa is in a quiet, lovely area but is an easy drive to wherever we wanted to go.
Liked least: We liked everything!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing