We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous week at a beautiful, historic villa...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sogara

The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Swimming Pool Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Villa
Swimming Pool
Bedroom
Living Room
Dining Room
Swimming Pool
Upper Loggia
Library
Library
Living Room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Vineyards
Courtyard
Patio
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Verona, Province of Verona, Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Peggy0323
Newberry, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous week at a beautiful, historic villa surrounded by lush vineyards.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Sogara exceeded our expectations from the moment we drove through the iron gates. The villa is steeped in history and Tommaso and Ela were wonderful hosts who tended to all of our needs and more. Our extended family of 12 enjoyed the outdoor dining area and pool after long days of touring the region. The location is ideal for exploring Venice, Verona, Lake Garda and surrounding medieval villages. The villa is magnificently furnished with antiques and Persian carpets. The air conditioning and washer/dryer were much appreciated as was the well-furnished kitchen. We can't say enough good things about our stay at Villa Sogara!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and overall charm of the property
Liked least: We cannot think of anything we didn't like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfcasella...
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in the Veneto”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife Lorraine and I rented Villa Sogara for our family of ten, our children and their children. The villa, the pool, the vineyards and the surrounding area could not have been improved on. Tommaso and family were more than accommodating, friendly and full of suggestions. One day we took the train from Verona to Venice, where we spent a night. Tommaso gave us ideas where to park, time to leave, making our trip stress free.
The villa is magnificent, comfortable, immaculate and spacious. We were there with four children, a little one just over a year and she had a great time, in the pool and on the grounds. Tommaso lives on the property so he is always available for assistance.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location, close to great restaurants.
Liked least: There were no leasts
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthering, Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness and a historic property that is nicely maintained and authentically furnished
Liked least: bathrooms not en suite....though this was only a minor 'con'. bathrooms were right across from the bedrooms, partly to be shared..
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giuliacan...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A stay at Villa Sogara is a truly unique experience. It is as if one were living at a time in the past in elegant surroundings but with all the modern conveniences. One of the pleasures of our stay was wandering through the villa and enjoying the treasures held in each room.Our hosts Tommaso and Ela were most interested in answering our questions about the history of the villa. As well, they offered suggestions for restaurants, wine and olive oil tastings that were exceptional. In fact, they were available to help with anything we needed. We had arranged to have dinner provided at the villa on our first night. Because of traffic problems we arrived later than we expected but Tommaso assured us that it would not be a problem. Imagine arriving at this beautiful villa surrounded by grape vines on rolling hills. On the loggia the table was beautifully set for the eight of us. But the best was to come. Our dinner prepared and served by our gracious and charming hosts, Ela and Tommaso was outstanding. We will never forget this night and our stay at Villa Sogara! There is a special feeling of tranquility and peace here and we thank Ela and Tommaso for sharing this with us.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo R
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent one week at Villa Sogara. We were four couples travelling from Canada. Right from the time of our arrival we were impressed. We felt like we had stepped back to a time when living was elegant and the pace of life was much slower. The one event we had planned was to see Aida in the "Arena" in Verona - from there we were just going to tour around and see the sights. We were so relaxed there were days that we didn't leave the grounds. We lazed in the warmth, swam in the pool, and soaked in the views. The night of our arrival Ela and Tommaso prepared a meal for us that was beyond anything we could have imagined. We ate in the "loggia" at a white clothed table with candle light. What a perfect start to our Verona week!! This is a great location to use as a base for exploring the region. Both Tommaso and Ela have a wealth of information to share about the sights to see. They organized a wine and TASTING tour for us that was excellent. We cooked and enjoyed a meal together our last night - of course dining by candle light in the loggia ( our favourite place to congregate). To all of us this was quintessential Italy. Tommaso and Ela became like family - they truly are a delight to spend time with. Because Tommaso and Ela are right on the property, at no time is there a worry about what to do if you need information or help in any way. Everything about our time spent here was perfect - we can't wait to return!!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts Tommaso and Ela
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernice r
okatie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT IN EVERY WAY”
Reviewed April 13, 2012 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We were a family of 16..8 adults 8 children rangeing ifrom 5 to 75 years old. We found the Villa to be advertised exacually as we found it. The condition and furnishings were perfect, the owner Tommaso wonderful, Ela was absoultly charming and they were both very helpful. We spent two wonderful weeks at Villa Sogara. A vacation we will all fondly remember and met the most wonderful hosts anyone would be lucky to meet. We all recommend the Villa to our friends planning a trip to Italy and hope we can repay Tomasso and Ela for all their hospitality and friendship.

Date of stay: July 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the location.
Liked least: That we could not stay longer.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole J
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly and smiles all round!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I dont normally write reviews but felt I wanted to share my experience at Villa Sogara. I stayed there for a week with family and our two children (ages 2 and 10) and absolutely loved it! Ela and Tommaso make yourself feel at home and can't do enough to make your time there a happy one as well as help you to make the most of your trip. They are there at hand if you need anything without being intrusive. Ela's cooking in itself is worth staying at Villa Sogara for and she will cater for all ages and diets. Ela makes sure no-one goes without!! We found the location peaceful and very convenient, only a short drive and you are in the centre of Verona as well as an ideal position for days out to Lake Garda and Venice (and Gardaland/Sealife for the kids too!) I would absolutely recommend Villa Sogara to anyone-I felt like we arrived as strangers and left as friends. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and welcoming atmosphere
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing