We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat”
Review of Relais 900

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais 900
Ranked #52 of 433 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We only had one night in Verona and arrived at the train station mid afternoon after a very stressful journey having missed our lunch.It was a bit of a taxi ride to get to the hotel but despite initial reservations our hotel was very well situated .We found ourselves been driven up the side of the hill overlooking Verona to a stately mansion with beautiful grounds. The old part of Verona almost completely encircled by the river and so to get to the centre it is necessary to walk for 15 minutes or so across the bridge to the Duomo. Verona is stunning and so is this Relais.

The room had been recently renovated and the bathroom was very beautiful. We didn't have a balcony as described by other people but we looked out over the front of the house. We enjoyed walking over to Annex and swimming in the saltwater pool.The air conditioning was very good.

The only thing that we found a little challenging was the fact that when we arrived there was no sign of life and it would seem that on that particular afternoon the front desk was understaffed. When the charming gentleman was unearthed, he was extremely nice but he was overextended and repeatedly missing in action when we looked for him. We were more or less on our own in this Relais (especially on the day of arrival) and this made us feel a stressed For example I needed to call my own taxi and if I hadn't asked for the telephone number right a way when I checked in, I would've had no idea how to go about it.I had to deal with an Italian message which was a little scary and if I had lost my key I felt I would be completely out of luck. My husband couldn't get through to the room and was confused by an Italian message.Perhaps a manual in the room would help.

We arrived hungry and tired having missed our lunch, mid afternoon looking for pampering.The beautiful physical environment didn't compensate for the lack of support staff and access to some immediate nutrition.Hard liquor was available to be self-served but we needed a healthy snack.There was a fridge but it had the ubiquitous sugar loaded fruit yogurt which is not healthy for someone with blood sugar problems. If there had been some hard-boiled eggs in the fridge with some plain yogurt or ham, fresh brown bread fruit or perhaps some healthy granola we could have restored ourselves after the long journey without having to traipse out in the heat to find a restaurant right away

On balance I would recommend this Relais. Perhaps our expectaions were an issue as we were not clear on what a Relais involves in comparison to a regular hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently there are rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Back in Verona for the opera and staying in one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Only 9 rooms. Fantastic individual styles. This hotel is in a classic Veronese villa. The staff are fabulous, the location is ideal And the grounds are idyllic. Undoubtedly the best hotel in Verona.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorges V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a beautiful place in a beautiful city. The hotel is a former mansion house and our room was massive, with walls lines with bookshelves, with authentic antique furniture, a Juliet balcony and a lovely modern bathroom. Service was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast included in our room rate was substantial. With an easy walk to the city sites and easy to find our way to and out of Verona by car, we definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The car park is on the bottom side of the hill - park here rather than at the main gate when you arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my first visit to Verona and the Hotel Relais 900, definitely not the last one. When we arrived we were offered two room options, we chose the more traditional one with a wooden gallery. This hotel is a 3* hotel with, I think 9 absolutely different rooms but offers a perfect service like in a 5* hotel. The restaurant recommendations were great!! Tommy, the owner, gives personal recommendations which was really great. all the staff were very helpful, especially Silvia. We stayed there in the beginning of April for 4 nights, however if you are staying in summer time you can much more profit from the very nice garden! Only 10 mins walk away from the city center with plenty of shopping and dining possibilities. Shopping alone is worth travelling to Verona :-)

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground floor a more modern, the rooms on the 1st floor more traditional with more f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_on_2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A most enjoyable stay. Hotel Relais 900 offered all that we could want from a city holiday, indeed from any type of holiday for that matter. A great location within walking distance of the old part of Verona. Peace and tranquillity too. We stayed in the beautifully appointed annexe - many thanks to Eliane for looking after us at breakfast; to Barbara for the warm welcome on our arrival, and for assistance with itineraries, and to Tommy and his other staff for their help also. Nothing seemed too much trouble. For us the Relais was a 'home from home'. I would not wish to stay anywhere else if we return to Verona in the future. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Difficult to offer a tip on this one, as we stayed in the annexe. I was not aware of any problem wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a really fantastic place.

Firstly, its in a fantastic building in a fantastic spot. Literally 5/10 mins walk from the town centre through leafy streets full of amazing buildings. Its location on a hill (but not too far up) gives you great views of the town. Just ask to go up to the roof terrace. Amazing.

The standard of accommodation is great. We stayed in one of what I assume was one of the cheaper rooms, it was light, cool, had a stylish bathroom and nicely furnished (except for the flat pack wardrobe, which looked a bit naff next to the other pieces). In time honoured fashion, I'd explained it was my wife's birthday during our stay, hoping that I'd get one of the amazing looking rooms on website. It was not to be but then it was opera season and we were more than happy with what we had anyway.

Lastly, the place just has a nice vibe. There is no minibar in rooms but a well stocked fridge is available to raid on the ground floor, you just make a note of what you've had and settle up when you leave. Barbara runs the place and she is great. She made a fuss of my wife on her birthday and gave us plenty of recommendations for eating and shopping etc. We didn't have time to try all the recommendations but those that we did try were spot on. She happily answered all our questions from navigating the various cakes on offer at breakfast to explaining what that orange drink was that everyone seems to knock back.

As I say, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Apparently there is a pool at another premises only metres away. If we'd have known and brought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddyhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

As a complete package, this is one of the best we have stayed at. Indeed so friendly and relaxed is the service and the hotel as a whole, that it feels more like staying with generous friends.

The building itself is a beautiful 'Belle Epoque' villa on a hillside about 10 minutes from the centre of Verona. We had three rooms in the 'Foor Rooms' part of the house. They say it sleeps 5, but we were very comfortable with six of us. There is a separate large lounge area (which although available to all guests, we had almost entirely to ourselves), and an amazing roof terrace with stunning views over Verona. They even have fully stocked fridges with an 'honesty list' you simply fill in if you take anything (a prices which were very reasonable). It even has a pool and sun-loungers at their Annexe across the road.

Best of all is the service. This is probably the most friendly place we have ever stayed at. It is genuinely hospitality at its best. We will be back!!

Room Tip: If you are six people, go for the 'Four Rooms' complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 78 in Verona
1,881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 78 in Verona
2,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Piano Tre
Piano Tre
#32 of 433 in Verona
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Lucia
Villa Lucia
#234 of 433 in Verona
22 reviews
2 mi away
Agriturismo Corte San Felice
0.8 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 900

Address: Via San Leonardo 5, 37128, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range: $97 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais 900 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 900 is set in the heart of Verona, a 15-minute walk from Verona Cathedral. Built in 1904, it has an Art-Nouveau design and is surrounded by a large garden. Accommodation at Relais 900 is air conditioned and comes with free Wi-Fi. Parking is also free at the property's private car park.At reception you can purchase tickets for the opera and other events in Verona. Staff can also organize guided tours and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais 900 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing