We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB B & B IN VERONA”
Review of Relais 900

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais 900
Ranked #48 of 432 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent 2 nights in the main villa at relais 900 last week.we were met by tommy before 12 noon on our day of check-in and we were immediately shown to our room most unexpected and very welcoming.the room was extremely spacious and very well equipped especially the fab hairdryer and very powerful air-con unit.having spent the day sight seeing in verona we returned very weary to the villa where we were introduced to tommy's wife barbara who offered to take us to the annexe across the road to let us relax by the pool with a cold beer .the next morning we had a lovely breakfast in the garden with freshly brewed coffee on tap. all in all we had a fabulous stay at relais 900 and our only dilemma is whether to stay at the main villa or the annexe on our return visit.the hosts went out of their way to spend time chatting with us and giving excellent restaurant and sight seeing info. many thanks to you both

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricia7b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Like many reviewing Relais 900, I'm almost reluctant to let you all know about this place. We found it on Trip Advisor and it's not very high amongst all properties in Verona but don't let that fool you. This place is a fantastic find and like us, you'll want to return.

We needed a place with free parking, we preferred a place with free wi-fi and we always want somewhere quiet and comfortable; Relais 900 has all of these. But it's so much more; it's a beautiful villa, set on the hills looking over the city but not so far as to make walking impossible. It's been tastefully, almost invisibily converted from residence to guesthouse - calling this place a hotel seems like a misnomer. It's just a luxurious house you can stay in.

We arrived on a rainy Sunday afternoon and some young girls who had just made their first communion guided us to reception and Tomasso, the host you'll have read about in other reviews. Having handed my wife some roses, we were promptly checked-in and shown to our room. Our room (no. 2) was amazing; huge ceilings, a mezzanine, palatial bathroom and spacious living area. Tomasso also gave us a guide to local restaurants, the non-touristy ones that wouldn't be too obvious to a visitor. We tried one the first night and had a lovely meal.

The weather while we were in Verona was awful, so having a great hotel was a huge bonus. We stayed in the hotel a lot (didn't get to try the rooftop terrace, unfortunately) and having access to a Nespresso machine, pastries and juices was great (beer and wine were available in another room at an extra charge).

Breakfast is standard Italian fare; pastries, crossaints, polenta cake and coffee - plentiful and fresh. There's literally nothing else to say - our toilet gave a little bit of trouble but I was able to fix it and THERE'S NOTHING WRONG WITH THIS PLACE SO BOOK NOW!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Tomasso was an excellent host, very helpful and excellent English (initial contact when we arrived mid afternoon was a housekeeper who was also very helpful). The main building is beautiful; the Beat rooms in the annexe are new, clean, quite spacious, comfortable, big bed, and everything we needed - only one thing missing; a mirror in the bedroom, preferably a full length one. The only mirror was above the basin in the excellent bathroom. Breakfast was downstairs and relaxed and plenty, with home made extras such as courgette and bacon tart, polenta cake etc., and the lady who served us was very friendly and helpful. Free coffee from the machine whenever we wanted, 24 hrs. The swimming pool was a very welcome foot bath for our tired feet after walking for hours on the cobbled streets of Verona. Nice to stay the other side of the river and walk into the city each day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best (most expensive) rooms are in the main building, with probably a lovely view. They are just bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl0ra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have spent the last night of our trip in this B&B and we really enjoyed ourselves. The villa itself is huge and the rooms were big and comfortable. The upper floor had also lounge areas and access to the roof which offered some amazing evening views. The service was good and the breakfast was allright. Overalll a great experience, especially for travelers with cars. Downtown Verona is only a few minutes walk away. It is definitely a great spot for your stay in Verona!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is one of those rare places that you really wonder about keeping a secret rather than let everyone know and risk spoiling it for when you return. Ah well, I guess it would be selfish and unfair on Tommy & Barbara not to give them public credit for Relais 900.
We arrived by train and the station is the other side of the centre so we then took a taxi, a journey of 15-20 minutes and less than 10 euros. Note the path from the roadside gate is quite steep and longish if you are carrying heavy luggage. Once at the villa itself, you are treated to lovely gardens with sculptures and comfy outdoor furniture overlooking the rooftops of Verona.
We had booked a 'deluxe' room, (which turned out to be a 'Fluxus' room as described on the Relais 900 website) on the same level as reception, (the house has a full basement at garden level so the entrance & reception is one storey up). We got a good value rate through Booking.com, particularly as our room was enormous with an equally spacious ensuite, a huge four poster bed and lovely antique furniture.
Walking down into Verona's centre took around 25 minutes, following Tommy's directions, while walking back took a little longer due to the last section being a little steep. Verona is gorgeous, a real gem and my favourite Italian city. Tommy provided us with lots of information including his own list of recommended places to eat and drink. This proved very useful although it was hard to find some of his suggestions on the city map at first, it proved much easier to check them off as we wandered about and became more familiar with the names of the streets and squares.
Besides our lovely room, there is a delightful lounge and breakfast room in the villa, with self service drinks available 24 hrs. There is also an abundance of artwork and art / historical reference books around the villa. Breakfast was not a typical continental affair, Barbara providing homemade cakes & lots of fresh fruit alongside the more usual choices. Both Barbara and Tommy were very welcoming and we really appreciated them sharing their home with us. I offered a house swap but they didn't bite so they will still be there for a while. So, now I've shared this with you, promise you won't book it when we want to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this place in Verona. Barbara, who welcomed us, was a truly enthusiastic host. The love that she has of her city really shone through - she recommended various walks and places where tourists do not typically go. The breakfast was good and the coffee very good.It is outside the city walls, so a 10 minute walk into town, but worth it. White cotton sheets and blankets.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfaRomeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a great way to start our Italy honeymoon! We only stayed in Relais 900 for one night, but wished we could've stayed longer. This lovely B&B is located in an old refurbished villa just outside the old-city walls of Verona, about a leisurely 15-minutes walk to Piazza Bra. The walk is along the river and makes for some nice photo-ops.
Our room was on the ground floor and featured a large four-poster bed, a fireplace, a pinked-tiled bathroom and lots of room (a rarity in Italy!).
The breakfast was served in a gorgeous room with chandelier and ornate wallpaper, we felt transported back to the beginning of the century, except for the high-tech Nespresso coffee machine that was made available to the guests.
A big plus for us were the free wifi and free parking. Do check out their roof top for some gorgeous views of the city. Warning: there are a few steps from the gate to the house, so keep this in mind when booking. It didn't bother us, but might others.
The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful too! Overall a great place to stay when in Verona!
We would definitely recommend and come back to Relais 900.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolicious81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.8 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Il Sogno di Giulietta
Il Sogno di Giulietta
#8 of 432 in Verona
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
#27 of 432 in Verona
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Lucia
Villa Lucia
#232 of 432 in Verona
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 900

Address: Via San Leonardo 5, 37128, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais 900 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 900 is set in the heart of Verona, a 15-minute walk from Verona Cathedral. Built in 1904, it has an Art-Nouveau design and is surrounded by a large garden. Accommodation at Relais 900 is air conditioned and comes with free Wi-Fi. Parking is also free at the property's private car park.At reception you can purchase tickets for the opera and other events in Verona. Staff can also organize guided tours and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais 900 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing