We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Il Bertoldo

Osteria Il Bertoldo
Reserve with
Osteria Il Bertoldo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,158 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Italian and Mediterranean cuisine. Family and romantic ambience. Fish and meat dishes. Gluten free.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
“Cosy & lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is tiny, so do book ahead, and do persevere in finding it in tiny labyrinth of Verona streets. i had lovely entree of spaghettini gaetano which is a spicy version of pasta with mussels/clams chopped up with tomato, pepperoncino flakes and garlic. Al dente, tasty, with just enough heat kick, really really lovely dish. The fish was just ok, not very exciting but simple and tasty at least. I was not impressed that as a solo diner they put my table straight adjacent to the till and the bar even though the was at least a choice of another 6 tables in the restaurant at any point in the night. A german couple showed up later in the evening and they simply separated table for 4 into 2 of 2 and they could have done just that for me, instead of sitting me right next to the door with smoke wuffing in, facing all the diners and sitting like "poor relation" by the cashier till. One of the key reason for 4/5 rating coupled with the blandness of the fish dish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    319
    66
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Verona for the day and chose this restaurant based on TA advise. We were able to find this gem using our GPS. They open at seven, when we called for a reservation in 15 minutes and they were happy to take us. We were alone in the restaurant until about 8:00. Around 9:00 is we're it started to get busy. This is a family owned restaurant where the father cooks, the daughter is waiting tables and the mother is behind the bar and helping out. The food was amazing and the family was incredibly friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the pasta with clams and rocket pesto and the sea bass fish in broth was outstanding! Great find, good wines and highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A memorable birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were in Verona for my wife's significant birthday, and chose the Osteria Il Bertoldo as the place to celebrate. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is a little hard to find, but not too bad. Both the owner and the server were quite friendly, and spoke excellent English. My wife thought the risotto pie with zucchini and sausage was one of the ten best dishes she'd ever eaten, and I really liked the Spaghetti Gaetano's style, which was very spicy. Search it out: it's worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatbushfaithful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The menu here is varied and original and the food excellent. My steak one of the best in years, likewise my wife's sea bass in a potato crust, very well cooked and presented. The small, quiet and friendly atmosphere for us is much preferable to larger places.
Its location takes a bit of finding. Take the first right after the Garibaldi bridge and then a very small street (vicolo) on the left.
No outside area but good aircon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALGY96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Small restaurant with great food! It felt like someone's grandmother was in the kitchen cooking just for us!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftHandBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Bertoldo also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria Il Bertoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing