We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Burchio

Il Burchio
Ranked #225 of 1,158 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Waitstaff
Bucharest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Recommended by a friend I have decided to try it and I was not disappointed. All I have tryed so far was very tasty but I would highlight fish and sea food dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ottalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    66
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat, with good reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Like another reviewer, we were taken to this restaurant by a friend who has lived most of his life in or near Verona. It's specialty is fish and our friend claimed it was the best restaurant in Verona for seafood. After our meal I don't doubt him. It's on a side street away from the crowds and tourists with only about ten tables. We ordered a mixed seafood spaghetti dish for two. At 18 euros per person it was quite an extraordinary feast. See my photo of the giant bowl of seafood I got (for one person!), including scampi (crawfish), gamberi (giant prawns), clams, cozze (mussels), and a mild marinara sauce over a modest amount of noodles. It was definitely the best seafood pasta dish for the money that we ate in 6 weeks of traveling in Italy. I have to remember to thank my friend Stefano again for taking us there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wow look Veronese people!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Verona's centre heaves with tourists. Piazzas Bra and (to a lesser extent) Erbe contain the classic tourist restaurants with photos of their food, Pizza, Germans, Brits etc etc. So it was a pleasure to walk across the Ponte Nuovo to this restaurant for lunch and leave that all behind. Literally ten minutes walk from the tourist hordes we sat in a pleasant brick vaulted room surrounded by Veronese having a relaxed lunch during their working day. The value at lunch was terrific - Sflica of horse meat (dried and shredded, served with rucola and lemon); braesola; grilled prawns and langoustines; carpaccio of smoked tuna and swordfish. House wine, water came to about 40 Euros.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FerdyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM.... with great food and fair prices, off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were taken to Il Burchio by friends who live in Verona. It's not the kind of place we'd have ever found, and certainly not a tourist hangout. The fact that this is only the second review in English would confirm that this restaurant is mostly a local favorite.

Our host ordered our seccondi for us and we were served a seafood mixta of scallops, prawns, mussels, etc, that was attractively presented and very tasty. I suspect that this combination was a special order, but I got the impression that any customer would have gotten the same treatment.

The prices were reasonable and food was delicious. The service by the owner/chef''s wife was attentive and friendly and the setting was very attractive. The restaurant has a small outdoor patio with umbrellas and the inside space is roofed with brick arches. I suspect that reservations would be a good idea, but might not be required.

Try it, you'll like it. We did.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loring G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Verona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had Il Burchio recommended by a local citizen, it's very central bu off the beaten track so we wouldn't have found it on our own.

We are so happy that we did find it, it's our favourite reataurant in Verona and we never had a meal that wasn't delicious. The prices are very reasonable too.

A friendly atmosphere, a lovely, and really special restaurant room, and outdoor eating as well - we couldn't ask for more and returned several times.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wernerkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Burchio also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Il Burchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing