We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, Excellent service, a touch pricey”

La Locanda dei Capitani
Ranked #755 of 1,202 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, Excellent service, a touch pricey”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Given its location on the tourist trail I wasn't optimistic about the service. Pleasantly surprised. Excellent service from knowledgeable waiters. Food was delicious. Maybe I'm over picky but the food was a touch expensive (10-15 euro starter, 18-30 main), given the location and ambience. Total cost 94euro for 2 people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillinghambl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiara P, Responsabile Comunicazione at La Locanda dei Capitani, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello and thanks for your comment.
It is a great satisfaction for us to positively surprise our guests. Offering impeccable service and memorable cuisine is one of our prerogatives. Our menu is simple but offers high quality and generally fresh ingredients. Dishes are prepared to order to guarantee their goodness. Our location, in addition, is not only historic but also charming, all of which justifies our price list. Dishes are designed so that they can even be consumed as a single plate, accompanied only by an hors d’oeuvres and a dessert and this can lower the price a bit.
We hope we will see you again in the future and send our greetings.
Luca (Director of the La Locanda dei Capitani)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Wondered why we were the only people at the restaurant, but found out once the food arrived. Only things that made it edible were the wine and extra parmesan (we had the lamb ragu which was really just fried fatty minced lamb with pasta). Stay clear of this place and follow the locals next door.

Helpful?
1 Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiara P, Responsabile Comunicazione at La Locanda dei Capitani, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Google Translation
Ci spiace che l’esperienza da Noi non abbia incontrato il vostro gusto e il cibo non Vi abbia soddisfatti.
Speriamo sempre che se una pietanza non risponde alle aspettative i Nostri clienti ce lo facciano notare per poter provvedere a migliorare immediatamente se necessario.
Proveremo a stimolare di più il riscontro nella speranza di offrire la qualità che cercate e per la quale lavoriamo ogni giorno con passione.
Gli ingredienti che utilizziamo sono genuini, freschi e in alcuni casi certificati biologici. Nel caso la Locanda dei Capitani non offra ricette di Vostro gusto saremo felici di accoglierVi con un’offerta diversa sempre in Piazza dei Signori, alla Trattoria Pizzeria Impero.
Ringraziando per il feedback Vi salutiamo e speriamo di averVi ospiti nuovamente per provare a farVi cambiare idea.

Cordiali Saluti
Luca (Direttore La Locanda dei Capitani)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“limited menu and ambience”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

very short menu capably cooked but no imagination here - except for the home made desserts - the Orange Cheesecake was a triumph ! Good wines at reasonable prices, but over all we wouldn't return.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephenf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiara P, Responsabile Comunicazione at La Locanda dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and thanks for your feedback and for having come to visit us. We are happy that you appreciated some details, such as our desserts and wines, but at the same time we are unhappy we were not able to fully meet your expectations. The menu is short in order to offer the season’s dishes, prepared with fresh ingredients when they are ordered.
We hope you will give us another opportunity and come back in the future to improve your opinion of our restaurant.
Cordially,
Luca (Director of the La Locanda dei Capitani)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had lunch here on Christmas Day and thoroughly enjoyed it - a high benchmark when having Christmas away from family and friends. Lovely food and very attentive and personal service. We really took our time with the meal and stayed longer than others yet never felt rushed even though staff must have been keen to get home for Christmas. Very central location and would recommend a table in the lower room if available. Lovely experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraJane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hils
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPOINTING AND A VERY RUDE WAITER”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The ambiance is great but the food and attitude of the waiter was horriable…I have had better food at a bar!
The experience from A to Z was just not ok…
From the bitter so-called Amarone wine to the dried out porchetta…they even microwave the polenta!!
The young waiter was rude and defensive and the food was just bad!!!
It was our last night in Italy after traveling around for almost 3 months inspecting and choosing restaurants and hotels for our VIPs and celebrity vacation company…to bad for them it was the wrong night for the waiter to be a wise guy and the chef to not be on his game…Save your money and time …this place is just bad!!!…on a scale of 1-10… I give them a 2 …its really a shame because it looks great from the square and the location is good…but again I say just really disappointing in every way….I have never not left a tip before…and I am a great tipper…but sorry to say the wise guy waiter got the best of us and yea this is a first no tip!!!!!
If you want a really great food with a 5 star service go to the 12 apostles’…. its great and the service is excellent….

Luana a travel professional from Beverly hills CA

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiara P, Responsabile Comunicazione at La Locanda dei Capitani, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Google Translation
Mi permetta di esprimerLe tutto il mio dispiacere personale e professionale nel sentire quanto dice.
Lavoriamo per dare un’esperienza unica ai Nostri clienti, richiedo ai miei collaboratori professionalità e gentilezza, cortesia e disponibilità. Mi rammarica leggere che invece questo è venuto a mancare e mi chiedo, anche se purtroppo a distanza di tempo, come possa essere accaduto e mi farebbe piacere approfondire i dettagli.
Il Nostro ristorante trova spesso l’entusiasmo di chi ci conosce e di chi ci scopre e speriamo di poterLa riconquistare in futuro, se vorrà e potrà darcene la possibilità. La ringrazio e saluto.

Cordiali Saluti
Luca (Direttore La Locanda dei Capitani)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda dei Capitani also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to La Locanda dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing