We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch.”
Review of Osteria da Ugo

Osteria da Ugo
Ranked #67 of 1,176 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Typical restaurant serving local dishes in a graceful setting, located in the historical center 200 meters far from Juliet House. Traditional cuisine from the region of Veneto, using fresh local products. Tasting menu or traditional dishes menu are reccomanded choises. Wide range of local cheeses and cold cuts. Wine cellar with more than 170 labels of wines from the area. Amarone by the glass. Open from summer 2013 outside seating patio in quiet courtyard.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good lunch.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I liked the environment of Da Ugo - outside the tourist mainstream. Delicious lunch - even according to my diet for non-milk products.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripatti_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    558
    154
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, highly recommend it!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Referred by Emanuela at La Domora di Giulietta here for dinner, a five minute walk from her B&B. Made reservations for 7:30pm and my wife and I had one of the best dinners we had on our entire trip in Italy here. Our waiter spook English and very knowledgeable, took his recommendation and had the filet and my wife had the pasta, plus zuchinni flower appetizer that was outrageous. Service and food excellent and priced very reasonable. Check this restaurant out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigi2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food not expensive”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

That was our last restaurant of the last day in Italy. This restaurant was recommended to us by a local shop owner and appeared to be the best restaurant our of all in Italy in terms of quality of food, service and prices.

We ordered:

Pellizzoni (thick spaghetti) in a white mashroom souce - perfectly done, melted in my mouth! Obviously hand made fresh pasta - not a common thing even in Italy

Donkey dish (can't remember the exact name) with polenta on the side (my husbant's order). The souce, the meat and polenta (became my son's favorite) were great alone and in combination

Lentil Soup - It was just like I personally like a soup to be, thick and rich - very much like I make at home. I don't think I have ever saw a soup like that in a restaurant, what a pleasant surprise.

Tiramisu - Fresh, gentle, large piece:) - Heaven!

The stuff was very attentive, polite and helpful, the atmosphere calm even romantic (with food like that it must be) and the toilets were clean (yes! always counts).

And in the beginning of our meal, the restaurant treated us (for free) with 3 portions of a starter of meat carpachio (forgot what the real name od the dish), which was great as well

Prices are of an average restaurant... quite surprizing for a food like that...

A defenite gem! Highly recommended

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great food and wine list, polite and prepared waiters, nice athmosphere in a hidden corner of ancient Verona. Donkey ravioli and cheeses from the Veronese Mountains were adorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenki58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a very nice meal with well matched wines selected by the osteria to accompany each course. No complaints whatsoever - we enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Ugo also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria da Ugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing