We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What started out like a dream, ended up as a nightmare...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Sogno di Giulietta
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What started out like a dream, ended up as a nightmare...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived late at night, a courteous bell boy and receptionist greeted us with great news, they had upgraded our rooms free of charge... The rooms they had upgraded us to were quite nice, spacious etc... its what they called their VIP suites. I tipped them appropriately. The kids were quite excited about the upgrade and about the proximity to the house of Giulietta, so I called downstairs and asked them to renew our reservation for another night, which was charged at a much higher rate, but we were still given a small discount, so I was Ok with it. The disappointments started in the morning... we woke up to loud street noise... the noisy AC kept turning itself on and off creating an even more unpleasant soundtrack to wake up to... breakfast was terrible, I asked for scrambled egg whites,which they totally ignored... the bread was stale... and everything was charged "extra" including fresh fruits, fresh juice, eggs etc... a very cheap way to go about things, especially when you're in "VIP" suites... The included "juice" was the worst sugar filled liquid you can imagine. After waiting for the slowest elevator ever, we were surprised to how unpleasant it was to have to push through a noisy crowd to exit our hotel, which shares it's entrance with the public space. The imperfections were all still on the acceptable side - I travel a lot, and have seen my fair share of issues at hotels, but what came next totally tipped the scale the other way... It was check out time, and I had asked for an extension since I was with two teenagers who move slow, like a lot of teenagers do, I was given till noon. Our car was parked in their parking lot. My self and my wife left the room at the agreed time, but quickly found our selves being badgered by the staff to return the free museum entrance pass, which saves us a whopping 6 euros... the "amazing" perk of being a "VIP" guest... as well as load up our car and leave... with no where to go yet by car since we wanted to have lunch close by before driving off to our next destination... As we waited for the teenagers, there was no where for us to sit, since we discovered there was no lobby!! So we sat on the second floor on some chairs in front of someone's room... the only place we could access the Internet from. It all went terribly wrong from there.... A Godzila of a manager named Chiara, came storming down demanding that we vacate the hotel and the garage... really? is that how one bids your VIP guests goodbye??? She completely ruined our mood, and our memories of our trip to Verona, not the kind of attitude you find in a four or five star establishment, but more of what you expect from a one star hotel or a cheap BnB... this woman was much more suitable working as a head mistress for a delinquent school rather than work as a manager of a luxury hotel. She rudely explained that she had other customers coming in etc etc, but that was surely no excuse for her outright rudeness, un professionalism, and lack of will or prerogative to make their "VIP's" stay end in a positive way. She simply didn't care... I will honestly say that we walked away feeling that we had been had, by an uncaring manager who felt her duties ended the second the bill was paid. A true tourist trap attitude at best... save your money and go elsewhere as long as Godzila lurks in her second floor office!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nabil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SognodiGiulietta, Front Office Manager at Il Sogno di Giulietta, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mr Nabil
we have written carefully your review.
We would like only to point out that you asked for a second night stay (your reservation was for one night) considering the fact that you liked the structure that you have seen and where you slept (on the contrary you would not have done that).
Our rules implies that check out for the hotel services (rooms, parkings, extra services such as museum passes) is at 11:00 am and you were updated regarding that (you also signed the information leaflet where all that is stated).
You asked us for a late check out on the day of departure, we agreed at 12:00 without any charge. At 13:30 the rooms were still occupied and, under our request to leave the rooms to be cleaned for the following clients you said you did not want to do that because you wanted to stay till the afternoon to visit the city. We suggest you to park the car in other slots for the afternoon and we remind you that the rooms had to be cleaned for other guests (check in at 14:00). So you started to shout personal offences personally to me and to other people of the staff (the concierge and the valet) threatening bad reviews on the net.
We do not accept any threats in doing our jobs and we have just done our work according to the rules of it. These same rules that guarantee the service given to all our clients.
We remain at disposal to give you other explications.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    108
    36
    23
    14
See reviews for
59
490
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I loved the hotel, it was really like a dream come true.

The location is truly amazing, my room was really spacious and well decorated, loved the jacuzzi in the bathroom, it was so relaxing after walking all day around the city.

Good service

We stayed 2 nights and will raccomend it further to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret33330620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you want to experience a romantic night in the city of Romeo & Juliet this is the location for you, since the hotel is right in front of the famous balcony.
Moreover is at the centre of Verona so you can visit it by feet.
The standard room is nice, the bathroom is ok (be aware that there is no jacuzzi).
What I really disliked was the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBeatrice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our northern Italian adventure. It was an amazing experience and for us was a once in a lifetime luxury.
It is very easy to find as the Balcony is one of the main attractions in Verona. If arriving from the station a taxi is the best option. From Piazza Bra you can walk up through the shopping street from square which brings you to Piazza Erbe which is just up from the hotel. It is a stop on the hop on off bus also which can save taxi fair and bag handling exhaustion.
We stayed 2 nights in Verona and our 1st night we stayed near the Arena as we went to the opera. This hotel is very near the opera however we wanted to make the most of our time at this hotel!
We went the whole hog and stayed in "The Dream" (each room has a name, some with balcony, some with view of courtyard) When we arrived in the courtyard it was packed with sightseeing visitors. We passed by, through the rope and up the red carpeted steps. Very welcoming girl at the desk who brought us to our room. Our bags were brought up by the very friendly porter and later our welcome bottle of fizz with nibbles. When he brought up our drink he took photos and all for us to keep this wonderful memory alive for years to come. Lots of envious faces in the courtyard. We sat and sipped.
After going out to dinner we returned to an empty courtyard where we had private time in it, took pics with the Bronze Juliet statue and balcony. Main gates are closed from 19:30-08:30 as is the house.
On return our bed was ready for night with menu for breakfast...
Cornflakes. Fruit, yogurt, breads, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon etc. it is delivered to your room where they set the table for you.
The bathroom was big, lovely towels with hotel logo, toiletries. Jacuzi. However ours was cut short as it began to leak, it began again during shower the following morning!! The man in reception however came to our rescue, fixed up the wet bathroom and replaces our towels but it did kill the romance.....
It's a wonderful experience....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TipperaryGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a romantic "minimoon". This boutique hotel felt special from the moment with stepped over the gate, Our room was amazing, spacious, clean and beautiful. A super en-suite with jacuzzi bath and lovely breakfast served in our room each morning. Great location, right in the heart of all the bustle with many eateries around and lovely shops too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaP278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 2 blocks away from the bustling hotel in their apartment. It was elegant, spacious, with full living room and kitchen. We felt very pampered. They brought fresh croissants each morning and there was an espresso maker in the apartment. The porter/waiter was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieGMadison_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This out of the way hotel is in the bustling courtyard that houses Juliet's Baicony and cannot be seen from the street. It has a small entrance with very helpful staff. We were allowed to leave our cases as we arrived at 0930 and checked in at 1330. Our room was a lovely size and beautifully decorated.Bathroom had Jacuzzi bath with great shower. Bulgari toiletries were very welcome. Our room wasn't overlooking the court yard but it had good double glazing so we didn't hear the bustling street below. Breakfast is served in the room as they do not have a dining room. This wasn't a problem as the waiter lays out breakfast (pre ordered the night before) tastefully and quietly at what ever time you have ordered it for. The hotel is in the centre of Verona so easy to get to all the attractions. We had a great 2 nights there and saw everything we wanted to. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: we went for an elegant room which may have been a little larger than the Comfort rooms but you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaG1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#15 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Sogno di Giulietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sogno di Giulietta

Property: Il Sogno di Giulietta
Address: Via Cappello 23 | Cortile di Giulietta, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Sogno di Giulietta 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Sogno di Giulietta, Relais de Charme located in the heart of historical Verona, is the only accommodation inside Juliet’s Courtyard. An important renovation gave birth to this reality and its rooms that are decorated with antique furniture and adorned with antique rugs, curtains and fine art objects. The rooms are situated on two sides of the house; some have a direct view of Juliet's balcony, the other on Piazza Erbe and the elegant Via Cappello, a pedestrian street in the historical center of Verona. In the evening, the access gate to the Courtyard is closed and the guests can enjoy the incomparable atmosphere of the garden at night attended by Romeo and reach their rooms through a unique path. All rooms are characterized by wood parquet flooring, beamed ceilings , bathrooms with single or double Jacuzzi bath tub and features such as mini-bar, flat screen tv with satellite channels and free wi fi internet. The continental breakfast, which is served exclusively in the privacy of the room, includes a wide choice of local products. Il Sogno di Giulietta, elegant residence in a unique location in the world, offers more than a simple stay in town: it is an experience to live! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Sogno di Giulietta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sogno Di Giulietta Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing