We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret”

Ristorante Al Cristo
Ranked #320 of 1,169 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $32 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A well kept secret”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We saw this in Lonely Planet and it sounded great. We wouldn't have found it otherwise but we are so glad we did. We had a 6 course meal including wine and lobster for less than €65 inc tip. The food was fantastic, Italian cooking at its best. Lemoncello to finish and we were there all night. A must when staying in Verona, it's also a specialist wine restaurant

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiBee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    85
    35
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I came upon this Ristorante quite by accident when walking to the Hotel. We liked the look of the menu in the window and decided to "give it a go". What a very pleasant surprise. Excellent atmosphere, excellent and attentive staff and "out-of-this-world food" Probably one of the best meals we have had in Italy. And that just says it all!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windemere888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An experience, and not just a meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Attentive service, a small glass of prosecco to welcome, and a delicious palate cleanser of gazpacho with a slice of cucumber.

The red tuna with wild rice was delightfully cooked and presented and the sea bass perfect also.

The chocolate soufflé was delicious and preceded by a small cappucino chocolate mousse, and washed down with a white grappa.

A truly Italian experience, and of the best kind: great welcome, excellent food and not overpriced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round amazing experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is clearly incredibly passionate about the quality of produce and food and the couple who own it are a delight (no better exemplified than us receiving a free glass of Prosecco and a free 'pre-desert' of chocolate mousse!)

We had the tapas style pintxos (ordering all 6 dishes between 2) and each one was fantastic (in particular the squid). We also had the double chocolate soufflé washed down with a local Grappa.

The produce had arrived no more than 30 minutes before being served to us (particularly noticeable in the Salmon tartare).

Wash it all down with a choice of an incredible choice of wine and what a meal!

A real hidden gem just off the the main tourist traps (also its well worth taking a quick walk down to the nearest bridge for some stunning night time views)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wh1t3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in Verona”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

In the old town, a great seafood restaurant offers fresh fish superbly prepared. There is also sushi and sashimi available, delicious. A vast wine list, altough, oddly, dominated by reds. Excellent service.

After sashimi from the market (including, oddly enough, salmon...a definite minus in Italy, even if tasty) and tuna tartare, a local fish (dentice) alla griglia for two topped the meal. The fish was cooked to an absolute perfection. The head was offered for picking on a separate platter.

If in Verona and craving for fish, this is your place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank incidentaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Cristo also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Al Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing