We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning meal for our honeymoon ”
Review of Maffei Restaurant

Maffei Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 1,443 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With its four rooms and cellar, the restaurant is the ideal setting for business dinner, weddings, and those special occasions where the personal touch and meticulous elegance are essential. For that extra special moment in your life, the Romeo and Juliet table is delightfully ensconced amid the Roman remains. We are on the Michelin Guide since 1990.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful venue, attentive and welcoming staff, superb food. We sat in the courtyard which was a Romantic setting for our honeymoon. We both had the tasting menu which was delicious. We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank clairew401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Even before enjoying the menu, you start enjoying the place: an historic palace where you can eat outdoor in the courtyard in summer or inside with a romantic atmosphere. If you want to impress your partner you can book the “Giulietta e Romeo” table sourrended by historical Roman pieces.
We tasted a variety of dishes, either fish and meat. The staff is professional and kind. If you want to taste good food in an historical atmosphere in the heart of Verona, this is the place not to miss. Price, place, menu: all 5 stars.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank gdf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Maffei is really a top notch restaurant. Ambiance and service are excellent without being too stuffy. Everyone with whom we interacted was incredibly attentive. We ate in the courtyard which has a great ambiance - you are sheltered from the din of Piazza Erbe but have a nice view of the comings and goings in the piazza.

Most important, the food is excellent. The pastas that we tasted were all delicious (the pappardelle in particular were masterful) and my wife and I had both had the eggplant parmigiana which was flavorful but a bit too mushy for my liking. Finally, for dessert we shared the croccante (also pictured) which was also excellent.

Highly recommended - a Michelin star worthy experience for sure. Would also recommend making reservations in the peak season (summer, especially when the Opera has a performance).

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank UncleMex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Had dinner here on our last night in Verona. Sat in the courtyard area which was lovely. The food was truly excellent and the service friendly and efficient.

It's not cheap but well worth the money.

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

At the end of the piazza del Erbe hidden away is this gem of a restaurant. Staying at Sirmione but had to pop in again for lunch. Wonderful service and just excellent food. I had the pappardelle of rabbit and the ladies had swordfish and sea bass all of which were superb. Nice local wine and a chocolate soufflé to finish. Brilliant!

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank alank615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maffei Restaurant also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Maffei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing