We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed & Breakfast alle Erbe
Ranked #332 of 421 Verona B&B and Inns
Perugia, Umbria, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!!!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This bed and breakfast was extraordinarily overpriced for a mediocre room and a quite uncomfortable stay. When we first arrived, although they had been informed we would arrive at 6pm, no one was there and we had to wait 20 minutes. This is not uncommon in italian B&Bs, so I was not yet upset. Upon entering the B&B we were told that we absolutely MUST pay cash and could not get the key for the room until we did so even though they had advertised that they accepted credit cards, as I went to get cash, my boyfriend watched as the man took photos of the common area and the room we were to stay in, extremely odd. After entering our room it was clean, granted we had to ask for toilet paper and there was no hand towel. Overall I felt quite uncomfortable and was expecting a much nicer place with an actual breakfast (apposed to instant coffee and a strange stale pie). Upon check out there was no one around except a maid and we were unable to leave our bags after 10 am. The one advantage to the place was the great location in an adorable piazza right in the center of things.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    10
    12
    16
See reviews for
2
60
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We booked a room with a private bathroom, but didn't get it. There was no heating in the shared bathroom and no toilet paper. Breakfast remained at the table the whole time and we were not given any of the additional stuff the man who checked us in promised, so we had no marmelade or anything to go with the dried bread or anything.. Our room was small and very hot. It was a choice of hot or extremely cold. There is usually no one at the place. We came to check in at around 4pm and our room was still not ready and we were asked for an hour for them to clean the room. We came back after more than an hour and the room still wasn't cleaned. The garbage bin was full and there were empty bottles at the table. We asked if it was ok to leave our luggage for a couple of ours after we checked out and it was ok. I told the guy when we were coming to get them and called him when we came, but it took him over an hour to get there.. Thank God we didn't have to catch a plane or anything.
The only thing good was the location, but Verona is such a small city that it really doesn't matter where you sleep. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Verona hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The B&B is situated just off the main piazza, the rooms are comfortable and clean, sharing a bathroom with another two, no problems with cleanliness. The decor is outdated but it's fine, it feels a bit like you are in someone's 80's flat. The breakfast is average, but you are in Italy and it's sacrlige not to go out for a pastry and coffee in many cozy restaurants, outdoor seating cafes. I can not recommend this enough for location and the price, it is basic and you may have to wait a while for someone to let you in (have a beer in a close by cafe whilst you wait) but with beautiful Verona outside I don't think you'll notice it much.
A word of warning stay AWAY from San Matteo Church pizzeria, the neon lights should give away the terrible food in this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

It was in the centre of the old town, close to all the best resterants and sights on a lovely medieval street. The hotel next door charged a fortune and we were in the same location for a fraction of price. The apartment meant that we could be really independant, eat when we wanted and cook our own food in the shared kitchen, perfect if you want to take a break from sight seeing for a drink and not have to buy an expensive coffee at a cafe.
The breakfast was a not great, but it is typical of an italian breakfast, toast, biscuits and coffee, i think some people that stayed before had unrealistic expectations. The bedroom was clean sheets and towels changed everyday and we never really saw the other guests or friendly cleaner so we pretty much had the place to ourselves, like a home from home!
The people that wrote the bad reviews, really got me worried before i went and i would like to say to them, 'where were you staying? because it wasn't Alle Erbe! So the street outside was noisey, i doubt the people in the 5 star hotel next door complained, what do you expect in the centre of a vibrant Itailian city!

It was great, stay at this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogenemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Unfortunately this was the only cheap B&B i could find in central Verona. It was a good 20 euros cheaper than all the other places and in the best location..... so i booked it.

The location is fantastic. It's just off the main piazza and easy walking distance to all the sights. It was also very easy to get to/from the train station.

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for 50 euros. The room itself was really big and had a comfy bed and even a tv. Heating was really good too.The bathroom was shared between our room and one other so we didn't have to wait for a shower.

Unfortunately there are few downsides to staying here. The bathroom was dirty, breakfast was a joke (literally dry toast, cheap biscuits & instant coffee), and the person who runs the place seemed a little odd.

Until someone else opens up another budget B&B in this location I would still recommend Alle Erbe - just make sure your expectations aren't very high.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The room was dirty, the shower curtain in the damp smelling bathroom was stiff with dirt on the lower half metre of it. The hot water stopped in the middle of my shower, my daughter had to have a cold shower in the middle of winter. The breakfast was a joke, a table with a plastic cloth had two jars of ancient biscuits on it, the fridge had a plastic basket with 2 slices a long life bread, long life milk and little tub of jam per person, no butter. I made the coffee with the machine provided and it was undrinkable. We couldn't eat anything or drink anything; we went out for breakfast. Luckily the location was great, with suitable cafes nearby in which we had great breakfasts. Even if good food was available, I would have been compelled to wash all cups, plates etc. before I could use them. These people shoud not be allowed to be in business.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonnie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I was a little disappointed with this B&B, although the location was very very good and central, and the apartment itself clean and cosy, with a bathroom shared with only two other rooms and no big cleaning issues. First of all we were left to wait for 3 hours [that's right] even though we sent the sms required in advance confirming the hour of arrival. The sms was only delivered 3hours later, and we had already called and been told to be there 2h hours after the supposed one. The person in charge was late almost another hour, and even though he was very polite, we considered the whole situation a little unprofessional. Also negative was the supposed buffet, no one is there at any time so everything is packed [so obviously not tasty or fresh] and pretty much counted - i have a different notion of buffet, one where you eat all you want and repeat all you want and there is an acceprtable variety of food. The only positive thing in the so called buffet was the expresso machine, the bread was terrible [horrible terrible dreadful] and so was the little pack of juice.
So i would recomend the hostel but bare in mind that not everything is golden, perfect location, confortable house but needing many improvements.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#18 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ai Giardini B&B
Ai Giardini B&B
#9 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Verona Rooms
B&B Verona Rooms
#22 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Suite B&B
Anastasia Suite B&B
#138 of 421 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Castelvecchio
B&B Castelvecchio
#136 of 421 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residenza Madonna Verona
Residenza Madonna Verona
#141 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast alle Erbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast alle Erbe

Property: Bed & Breakfast alle Erbe
Address: Corte Sgarzarie, 5, 37121, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed & Breakfast alle Erbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing